We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in midtown Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #28 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gem in midtown Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Took a chance on hotel we'd not heard of, and what a pleasant suprise! Reviews we read were all accurate - very friendly staff, very helpful. Rooms were very nice, clean, modern - bathrooms were large with big, beautiful shower - beds were very comfortable with several pillows. Nice flat-screen TV with lots of channels. I felt it was also a large room compared to some of the little rooms you get in NYC hotels. Free coffee/tea in the morning and wine reception at night. Good location too - easy stroll up to 42nd street and Times Square, and hit all major subways at 34th street just a couple blocks away. Excellent coffee close by too at Stumptown on 29th.
Great hotel at great price - highly recommend!

Room Tip: ask for high room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,271
    517
    105
    25
    12
See reviews for
321
754
119
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is my 3rd trip to the Eventi. As a (somewhat disgruntled ) Starwood Platinum member, I have been giving Kimpton a serious try. Most of their hotels are wonderful. Eventi just does not make the grade. The staff for the most part are very gracious. But something is always just not quite right here. My first visit they had some sort of water pipe break which flooded some guest rooms. They gallantly and apologetically put me on a steeper sofa for the night. OK, stuff happens--I understand. The next trip here they somehow cancelled my room--yes I was late, but I had told them I would be late, but they did get me a room and sent a very nice amenity to the room. I kind of decided this one would be chalked up to my fault: I was late arriving. The third visit started out great. An upgrade to a suite by a wonderfully gracious friendly welcome staff. I get to my floor and there are dirty room service trays everywhere. This is at 4:15 PM. One has to order ice here from room service. 25 minutes later and 3 calls it finally arrives. When I complained there was an excuse about the ice has to come from the resturant. I asked if the NYC garbage collection department was responsible for collecting half day old room service litter in the hallways, and asked for the general manager to call me. Yes- I admit my happiness with the suite upgrade had faded now in the face of inattentive service.

So my advice: great location, very friendly staff, nice rooms, but the attention to detail leaves a bit to be desired. My experience here makes me re-think my plan to leave Starwood for Kimpton, but I have to admit other Kimpton properties have been quite wonderful. If the kind of issues I've described don't bother you much, then you will probably like Eventi quite a lot.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Rich L,
We want you to stay with us. I am sorry to read that during your most recent visit your guest floor had a number of room service trays and that the request for ice wasn't easily filled. I have sent you a personal email, so hopefully we can discuss more. Thanks and have a great rest of 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Everything was perfect. Elegant, great service, fascinating artwork throughout the hotel, and outdoor dining on the 6th floor terrace, facing Ground Zero. Only afterwards did I realize that the large outdoor screen adjacent to the hotel was part of the hotel. Extremely memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good: High quality room (tub, shower, amenities, all top-notch). Usual super-friendly Kimpton staff.
Neutral: Slow and distracted service from bellhop... Not up to Kimpton standards.
Negative: None.

Note: Some people have complained about the location. I thought it was just fine. 5-10 minute cab to Penn Station and Central Park. "Gritty" and non-touristy aspects of the neighborhood is what gives Hell's Kitchen it's character.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Eventi before and this visit did not disappoint. Kimpton Hotels really get it right. They treat you like a visiting friend and know how do make it all perfect.

The mid town location is so close to everything and being lucky enough to be facing the Empire State Building is the cake topper. Every room is spacious, clean and has a great view of everything you want to see while in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spacious, nicely decorated rooms with lovely views. On a somewhat odd stretch of 6th Ave in sort of a tweener neighborhood - not really Chelsea, sorta Herald Square, surrounded by lots of odd wholesale shops - wigs, sunglasses, barrettes, cheap jewelry - and close to the Ace Hotel with its excellent branch of Stumptown Coffee. While still a bit pricey, given the size, views and quality of the rooms, this is really an excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was attending a business conference in New York City near Penn Station and selected the Eventi because of its proximity to the event and based on my prior good experience with Kimpton hotels in other cities. I was not disappointed in my choice of the Eventi. Its style is modern both in the rooms and the lobby. My room was above average size for New York City and the bathroom was particularly so. The service was very professional without being cloying. The price was high but on par with other midtown hotels. I will definitely consider staying at the Eventi again both for business and for pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.