We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful space on 6th Ave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Double Offer
Ranked #30 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melb Aust
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful space on 6th Ave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel has got it all , location, luxury, free wine afternoons and great staff
I stayed here in June 2011 for 7 nights and felt like one of the family. Rooms were spacious for new york standards with great sized bathrooms. The location on cnr 6th and 30th was close enough to walk to times square and Maceys. They also have an outdoor terrace where on one afternoon the hotel served sangrias to all guests.

I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,306
    526
    109
    26
    13
See reviews for
335
785
126
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Eventi with family and friends in a suite during the best time of year in NYC -- Christmastime. The hotel was beautifully decorated, and the staff was very helpful. The room was a perfect size for three people. I would wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Eventi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventiNewYork, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Teresa C,

Thank you for your amazing recommendation!
I'm glad to hear you liked our Christmas Decoration and the size of your room.

I hope to see you again at Eventi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotels.com, who misrepresented our room as a "room with a view", which was in fact not the case. Hotels.com was incompetent, and rude. They had poor customer service, and offered no way to correct their mistake other than to give ask me for more money to upgrade the room. I worked with Doris, a staff member the Eventi Hotel, who went above and beyond to give my family the room we exepected, provided amazing customer service, and was extremely professional! Hats off to her!

The room was spacious for NYC, close to many attractions and shopping, and just a very pleasurable stay. I will stay here again, and recomend this hotel to my firends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventiNewYork, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear lolyons,

Thank you so much for the awesome comment about Doris, she is thrilled about it!
Also, thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and family.

Hope to see you again soon at Eventi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morbio Inferiore, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Let's start with the defects: the room was way too small to accomodate 4 people, but we stayed out the entire day so it didn t matter that much; the wifi wasn t worth the 10$ per day because of the speed and ee got trapped in the elevator, but we promptly got special assistance from a technician and the security supervisor. All the rest was perfect: it's located in an area full of shops and places to eat and a 10 minutes walk from times square, room were functional with a great view and staff vere highly skilled and very curteous.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for a Xmas vacation at the Eventi.
The staff making the extra mile to greet and smile at you that you feel like returning somewhere familiar, unlike big hotels that lost the touch with the guests.
the room was very comfortable, what was lacking in the room were: bathroom amenities were mediocre. my spouse doesn't have a sensitive skin, but ended up with extremely dry scalp after shampooing with their shampoo. luckily i always bring mine. second is that the closet is uncomfortable- access is not easy if you want to hang your clothes.
but the worse is definitely the bed. because of that bed, we overslept and missed a Broadway show. the bed was heavenly.

overall speaking - the design, the ambiance, the service, the location, the hot coffee/tea with honey and lemon/chocolate in the mornings made our stay extremely joyful and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventiNewYork, Manager at Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear seawave1970,

Thank you for sharing such a good review. We are very glad to hear that your experience was joyful and memorable.
I appreciate your feedback about the closet and the amenities. We'll make sure to give you a wakeup call next time; we often hear that the beds are too comfortable.

Hope to see you and your spouse again at Eventi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I liked this hotel, but it isn't quite the nirvana that some people describe. It's great, but they could use a bit more attention to detail.

The rooms are nice and the staff are friendly and helpful. Despite a few hiccups, I would stay here again.

Our bathroom was pretty dirty when we arrived, which is never a good thing. Tub and shower both had hair and dirt basically everywhere. We left for the day and asked them to clean it, but when we returned at night all we had was turn down service and a still dirty bathroom. It wasn't a big deal to clean it ourselves, but for the price they charge, the room should be clean when you arrive and should certainly be clean after you point out that it wasn't up to par.

My only other advice is to avoid room service. I tried twice and had two absolutely awful experiences, including waiting 2 hours for breakfast that was supposed to arrive in 30 minutes. I understand things get backed up, but we were repeatedly told that our food was on the way when it clearly wasn't. Worse, when the food arrived, it was missing part of the order as well as things like milk for coffee. We ordered breakfast at 10:15 and had to get an extended checkout because our food still hadn't arrived until well after the noon checkout time. They comped the meal, but it doesn't really excuse the repeated lies about the status of our order. Bottom line - great hotel, lousy room service, questionable housekeeping (at least in our instance). Nothing is perfect, so I'd definitely stay here again and just avoid room service (which is what you SHOULD do in NYC anyhow, but sometimes it's nice for breakfast).

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the quieter it will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have stayed in many cities around the world during Christmas time and have to say service is typically lacking, no matter how fabulous the hotel. This past Christmas, my husband, twin 11 month old babies AND our dog, stayed at the Eventi in New York City and were beyond impressed by the service. It was absolutely impeccable, from our late night check in to our frenzied check out. I can go on, but there is no need. I just have to say that the service was so stellar that we were able to overlook cramming two cribs, a dog (who staff treated like Brad Pitt and even took out for a walk when we were gone for a while), and enough baggage for a round the world trip into a smallish room. We'd do it again. Eventi is very high on our list, if not highest at this point. Stay here. Seriously.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eventi – a Kimpton Hotel redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. The Eventi Hotel's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues.Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Amex, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.