We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in an amazing city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump SoHo New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Trump SoHo New York to your Saves list
Trump SoHo New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   246 Spring Street, New York City, NY 10013   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Hotel Credit
Ranked #77 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in an amazing city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Booked on the internet and no problems at all during our recent visit to NYC. Perfect location, friendly staff, excellent amenities, nice workout room, good breakfast and definately a place to consider when going to the "Big Apple".

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpS0H0NYC, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear PederOsloNorway,

Thank you. We can’t wait to see you next time you are in the Big Apple!

Best regards,
David Chase, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,490
    448
    119
    52
    31
See reviews for
377
942
114
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

For anyone who has the Trump Soho on their shortlist of hotels to stay at, I would say move this one to the top of your list! It is the best hotel I have stayed in whilst in New York. The room was comfortable, stylish, spacious and modern. We stayed in room 2912, which is a Deluxe Room and it was worth paying the extra for the stunning view we had of Midtown Manhattan. The bed was one of the best I have slept in, the bathroom with twin sinks and separate bath/ shower was amazing. The bathroom robes were wonderful (only a pity they were asking $250 dollars if you wanted to buy one!) The room came equipped with a large HD TV and another television in the bathroom, a docking station for my iPod and telephones by the bed and in the toilet! In-room internet access would have been nice (if you’ve brought your own laptop it’s no problem) but there was free internet access in the Business Centre downstairs. The Taschen library on the Mezzanine was also a nice place to relax with a coffee and a good book. The in-house “Quattro” restaurant provided one of the best meals (I had the Sea bass) we had on the trip. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.

Downsides? The cost of wine in the restaurant ($60 for a bottle of Pinot Grigio?!!) and the exorbitant mini bar which you are best to keep well away from, as we did. Of course, its downtown SoHo location may not be ideal if this is your first visit and you want to be near the main centres of attraction but as multiple visitors we loved its location, giving us as it did the change to explore previously unseen neighbour hoods like SoHo and close by Greenwich Village, East Village and Tribeca.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpS0H0NYC, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear Dave_Blants,

Thank you very much. It sounds like you had a great time in NY. I am so glad you enjoyed the hotel and Quattro. Our minibar and restaurant prices are on par with other hotels in the neighborhood. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next trip!

Kind regards,
David Chase, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Great spot! Just a block away from Soho and perhaps on the periphery, but a short walk from all the shops, restaurants, etc. It was handy to have a Starbucks right across the street. The staff at the hotel was always friendly and helpful. We were there from Dec 23 to 28 and the concierege was very helpful in booking a lovely Christmas dinner at a restaurant in Soho for us. We loved all the new technology in the rooms (smart remote) and being that the hotel was only 8 months old, it was nice that the rooms still looked fashionable and new. My only negative comment is that fact that internet is not free. Considering it's NYC and a 5-star hotel with the latest technology, it would have been nice to have internet service built into the price of the room. Aside from this, I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpS0H0NYC, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear GeeGirl,

Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts. I am delighted that you enjoyed our neighborhood and found the team friendly and helpful. Internet is complimentary in all of our public spaces and we also offer a full 24-hour business center to all of our guests. We look forward to your next trip to NYC!

Best regards,
David Chase, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We visit NYC several times a year. This hotel was by far our new favorite, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpS0H0NYC, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear lizlessner,

Thank you. We are delighted to be your new favorite hotel in NYC and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
David Chase, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutim
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

we arrived at 0400 as our flight was one of the first accepted back into JFK after the blizzard but as a consequence we were 4 hrs on the tarmac waiting to disembark (nightmare)

we were exhausted but the hotel staff upgraded us, offered us room service food, they were so sympathetic. everyone was courteous, from housekeeping to doormen, concierge. really couldn't fault service. hotel was spotless and everything worked well.

not really my taste in interiors but I'm sure most people will love it as it was contemporary and neutral.

got a great rate with expedia, would recommend highly

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpS0H0NYC, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Rutim,

Thank you for your recommendation. Things were certainly crazy in New York with the blizzard and I am pleased that we were able to relieve some of the stress! We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
David Chase, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This review needs a special mention before I begin. My stay would not have been even close to as special, amazing, rewarding, incredible, unforgettable, and unique if it werent for the most caring and professional attention by Ashley Fishman in the attache department. I was searching for a place to take my fiance just after I proposed to her, and it didn't take long for Ashley to make me realize that Trump Soho was the perfect choice. She made sure there were chocolate covered strawberries in the room, orchids on the table and champagne chilled and waiting. The bed was covered in white rose petals in the shape of a heart. I was also upgraded to a corner room with ceiling to floor panoramic views from the East river, past The Empire State Building to the Hudson. My fiance felt so special and it would have never been like that if it weren't for Ashley. We both thank you very much.

The nuts and bolts: Large 1 bedroom with killer views on the 32nd floor, ceiling to floor views, drapes and lights controlled by the tv remote, Nespresso machine in the room. Pillow service was there for us to choose any pillow we liked to sleep with. Technology and perks around to make the stay easy and comfortable from dusk to dawn. If it weren't for the fact that we were right at the entrance to the busy streets of Soho, we would never leave the room. Soho is right there and just a great place to walk around. Subway stops were very close which made going to Broadway and back one night so easy and quick. Cant rate the food or the spa since I didn't try either. Spa was sold out, so book early. It was XMAS holiday, but still a good idea to book early, I think.

Thank you Ashley and Trump Soho for helping the first steps of my new life with my "bride to be" become magical memories we will cherish forever. We can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpS0H0NYC, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear fishlegs69,

Congratulations on your engagement! I am delighted that Ashley and the Attache Team made your time here so memorable. I have already shared a copy of your review with them. We hope to celebrate many more happy occasions with you.

Best regards,
David Chase, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Our stay was 12/28 to 1/1/2011 with my wife and family and my business partner and his girlfriend. This is a 5 star hotel, no doubt about it. I went during one of the busiest times of the year, if not the busiest, so there are minor things and annoyances that can be present. Mainly the commotion is at a high level and the prices are at pretty much the top of the scale ( I think my avg nightly was around $1,600), but it is what it is, and the commotion/price was just part of the experience of the week we stayed.

The hotel is new (about 8 months old) and very "chic". The rooms are outfitted with integrated (smart) control features for lighting, phones, media, curtains...etc. I notice that some folks in past reviews complained about these things being confusing but I had no issues and found the controls to be pretty intuitive - even my teen aged kids had no problems picking right up on it. The beds are very comfortable.

We stayed on the 37th floor so the views where absolutely stunning, as far as NYC views go. You can get a view of midtown (time square area/empire st. bldg.) or downtown (and the hudson). We had the hudson/downtown view even after I had requested the midtown, but again, the place was packed, they did the best they could and either view is breathtaking - don't get hung up on which side or area has a better view - just try to get a room high up in the hotel (above 25 or so I would guess) and a suite if you can swing it (has a bit of a wrap around type view - very nice).

The food, in the rest., the bar, the library, and room service was all very very good. It all comes/originates from the same kitchen I believe, but there are slightly different selections in the different menus. We ate several times from all the menus. If you want to enjoy the hotel to the fullest make sure you plan on or budget a two to three hundred (avg) a day extra for just hotel food, tips, drinks...etc. You won't be disappointed. you should try the Quattro at least once during your stay!

Service is top notch. A couple of times I had to ask for something twice or something was delivered a bit late - but it was super busy as I have said and even the couple times things were not 110% I have never had service anywhere close to that at the Trump. ... and my wife and I could be described as hotel snobs . With all that was going on and as busy as it was, they still managed to make us feel like we were special.

The concierge desk is exceptional. We had them get show tickets (Spider man) offer suggestions for restaurants, print out menus, make reservations, nice maps and directions to places and get tickets and suggestions for other shows/events...etc. We even did a sight seeing night with the hotel's contracted limo service. I would highly recommend that to a first timer to NYC or someone that has not done it before. We did about 3 hours or so and really enjoyed it.

Neighborhood is right at the edge of SOHO and seems perfectly safe and tons of shopping and restaurants within a few blocks. There is a subway station basically right on the corner of the hotel.

Some of the places I liked right around the hotel are: Starbucks (of course - directly across from entrance). For a straight forward, inexpensive and traditional breakfast I liked Amilias(sp?), Ellen's Deli (also a little convenience store). The hotel rest. is nice of course - I did not eat there for breakfast though. The SOHO Room, a little tavern/bar a couple blocks from the hotel was nice, intimate/cozy, and friendly. Good room service alternate or for a change, and good all round american/mixed cuisine/selection, I liked Cody's Bar and Grill (they deliver). I liked Empire Schezuan for good, quick, cheap, Chinese AND Japanese cuisine/selections 9lots of selections - the egg roll is the best I have had) I would highly recommend Katz deli just for the experience, but the Reuben is fantastic - and I don't even like Reubens. The one other time we ate out at a nice rest. (other than the on site Quattro ) was at Wolfgang's Steak. It was about 7 blocks away and really, really good food and service and interesting atmosphere. I kinda felt like I was in a "Sopranos" episode though - but still all good and quintessential NYC experience. We went to some other bakeries and coffee bars and such but I am not going to go on any longer than I have. Of course there are a zillion places to eat and probably more are good than bad - I just wanted to give you my thumbs up from our 5-day trip.

In as succinct as possible summation to an overly long review -- We really looked forward going back to the hotel each and every time we went out exploring as a place of solace and comfort for recharging, renewing, and pampering in a crazy, busy, wild and fun city. If there is a complaint it is that we enjoyed the hotel so much that we probably did not go out exploring as much as we planned at the outset of the trip. :) If you can afford this hotel then you need to stay here at least once - judge for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpS0H0NYC, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear pmaddox,

Thank you very much! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the level of service was so exceptional. I will share your comments with the entire team, especially Food & Beverage and Concierge. We hope you will stay with us again soon to explore all those places you missed!

Best regards,
David Chase, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump SoHo New York

Address: 246 Spring Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump SoHo New York 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adding distinction to the skyline, Trump SoHo® New York brings a new perspective of Manhattan from its 391 guest rooms, providing unparalleled views of the city from floor-to-ceiling windows in the deluxe and premiere rooms and suites. The Spa at Trump® features New York's only luxury hammam experience, relaxation rooms and fitness center. Trump SoHo is pleased to welcome the new signature restaurant Koi SoHo, featuring an imaginative menu of contemporary Japanese cuisine. Plan your business or social gathering in one of the hotel's exclusive meeting and event spaces. Unwind over cocktails in The Library or retreat to the seasonal Bar d'Eau with its outdoor pool deck. Possessing one of the city’s most coveted locations where SoHo meets Tribeca and the West Village with celebrated art galleries, restaurants, shopping and nightlife, Trump SoHo New York is downtown like you’ve never experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Soho New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump SoHo New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.