We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Husband and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary, we live in NYC, so just wanted a special, short, sweet stay-cation somewhere nice, so stayed at the Gansevoort Park, which has become our annual tradition. Lovely room, really lovely pool, lovely room service. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room with a very large terrace, and a complimentary bottle of chilled wine was waiting in our room when we arrived. Front desk and room service and engineering staff were great, and it made for a really nice, and romantic visit. We had one issue, HBO wasn't coming in, so called the front desk and they had someone helpful up to assist immediately. (Yes, I know, who is worried about TV on a special (romantic) occasion when you have all of NYC available to you, but it was the True Blood season premiere!!!). They were not able to fix it, but they really, really tried, and comped us movies to cover. You can tell good service by how a place responds to issues, and they responded quickly, and made it up to us. Kudos!
The only thing I would like changed about this property is that I wish the pool was open late (closes at 7) so we could see the Empire State Building lit up while swimming, but it turns into a club at night.
I have stayed at their sister property downtown, but really prefer this location, IMO it's classier and I have been treated better at the Park (although I prefer the downtown location). Downtown seems like they are trying to be a scene, and there is more 'attitude'. In my early 20s, my opinion may have been different. Uptown is also newer, so furniture and fixtures are in better shape.
We will definitely be back next year, and hopefully sooner, just as soon as I can come up with an excuse!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear xxxxxooooo,

Thank you for the wonderful review and happy anniversary! It's always a pleasure having you and we're honored you chose to spend such a special occasion with us. A significant celebration
deserves nothing but the best and we're thrilled you were happy with your room upgrade. On another note, we apologize we weren't able to fix the HBO channel, but we're glad you were satisfied with the complimentary movies. We strive to provide the highest caliber of service and we're pleased you felt well-taken care of by our engineering department as well as the rest of our team. Additionally, we appreciate your feedback regarding our sister property, Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC. We are grateful for your invaluable loyalty and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    339
    108
    59
    39
See reviews for
205
519
95
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

A hotel that in parts is trendy, and stylish, but at times crosses the divide into tacky. Like hosting the "naked dating"launch party in the bar....or the bar staffs dressed in those just a bit too tight /too short dresses.....it's good, but sometimes tacky.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Waldea,

Thank you for the review. We value all of our guests' opinions and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband made a one night reservation because he had an early business meeting the following morning near the hotel. The room we were given was very nice and clean but we wanted to see if we could purchase the next category because I wanted a verandah. We went to the front desk and spoke to Michael S. & Christina. They were very nice and searched their system and found a room that accommodated our requests. During our stay, we loved the rooftop pool and enjoyed our poolside service drinks. After that, we took a long walk around the city and came back to eat at the restaurant at the hotel, which we also enjoyed. My husband also used the gym the next morning and said it was good. The hotel’s checkout policy is 12:00pm. Although my husband was on his way back to the hotel to get me, I was concerned that I would get stuck waiting in the lobby for him if he was delayed. I went to the front desk again and asked if I could stay longer due to the situation and they extended me the extra minutes at no charge. At that point I asked the very nice guy who was helping me, Alexandel , to write down his name, Christina’s and Michael S.’s names so I can make this review. I know my husband and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear April B,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We loved having you and we're pleased your experience was nothing short of amazing. We are always happy to accommodate special requests and we're elated we could upgrade your room. We don't blame you, being able to see the beautiful cityscape from your bedroom can make any moment memorable. We understand how busy New York City can be and we're thrilled we were able to extend your check-out time. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to relay them to our dedicated team. We are looking forward to your return. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a great stay at Gansevoort - was recommended by a colleague as I travel to NYC every month for a week on business, and it's near my office there.

I've been to over 10 different NYC hotels in the past year, and now I won't be staying anywhere else.

The front desk (Juan) was super tolerant of my late check in and the room was immaculate, comfortable and quiet which is very important given I usually have a pretty intense week of meetings when I'm over and need to get as much sleep as possible! It also had a deep tub and an excellent separate shower which is rare for NYC hotels.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear csfulham,

Thank you for the rave review. We're elated you chose to give us a try and we're thrilled to be your new go-to NYC hotel. We understand the importance of a good night's rest and we're glad you found your room to be quiet as well as comfortable. We're happy you enjoyed our ample-sized bath tubs and we hope it was relaxing after a long day. Whether it be for business or pleasure, we're looking forward to having you again. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place to stay in NYC. The room was clean and the position was great. The issue we found was that the service in the restaurant and bar was awful. We had a drink at the bar one afternoon and it was not busy at all, lots of staff wondering around but paying absolutely no attention to the patrons, waited at least 20 minutes for a bowl of nuts - had to ask 3 times. We had breakfast in the morning and found the same thing. Indifferent waiter and had to wait a long time for him to provide service. Bottom line... if you don't eat or drink there, it's great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear nmre,

Thank you for the detailed review. We deeply regret your experience at Asellina was not up to par and we appreciate your feedback. We'll be sure to inform our restaurant management of your comments to ensure all future visits are nothing short of amazing. On another note, we're glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and our wonderful location. Our dedicated team would love another chance to prove our commitment and provide an outstanding stay. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns. We hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Gansevoort Park Avenue lived up to and surpassed our expectations. Our room was spacious with a small balcony from which we could see the Empire State Building - cool! It was not noisy (we were on floor 12), except for the occasion traffic noise - but you are in NYC for goodness sake! The hotel staff were courteous and recognized my birthday, which was the reason we had come to NYC. Yes, the nightclub was busy on weekends, but we were given immediate access whenever we desired, and also could not hear it from our room at all. We also really enjoy our experience at the hotel restaurant, Asellina. Thanks for a great trip! ** Oh, and excellent, FREE, wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear murphy713,

Thank you for the splendid review and happy birthday! We're honored you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and we're pleased you had an impeccable experience. Waking up to a view of the Empire State building is a wonderful way to start the day and we're glad you loved the view. Additionally, we understand the importance of staying connected and we're happy you enjoyed our free high-speed Internet. We're elated you had a great time and we hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've stayed at the Gansevoort Park Ave before for both business and pleasure. My experiences have always been terrific and our experience this past weekend was no exception. My wife and I came in from the burbs for a long overdue weekend away and to catch a Broadway show. When you enter the lobby you just feel transported. The hotel is sleek and modern but not overwhelming in size. We were greeted at the front desk by Alexander who was friendly, attentive and according to my wife, quite attractive! Our room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. The king bed was way more comfortable then ours at home! The free Wi-Fi is a great bonus as well. We requested a microwave for special dietary needs and it arrived within minutes.The rooftop pool is super cool! Not too many of those in Manhattan! The neighborhood has plenty of restaurants, takeout places and shops, and is a nice walk or short cab ride to the theater district. I am booked again for an upcoming business trip and look forward to my stay. You just can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear dannyg31,

Thank you for the brilliant review and we wish you a warm welcome back! A getaway weekend in New York City should be memorable and we're happy you were satisfied from the moment you walked through our doors. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to relay them to Alexander and the rest of our devoted team. We're thrilled you enjoyed our divinely cozy beds and our free high-speed Internet. On another note, we're always happy to accommodate special requests and we're glad we could quickly provide a microwave. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your upcoming business trip.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#191 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#51 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
Trump SoHo New York
#87 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#145 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#35 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,500 reviews
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#178 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.