We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flawless stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get It All On Park Avenue
Ranked #78 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“flawless stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a great stay at Gansevoort - was recommended by a colleague as I travel to NYC every month for a week on business, and it's near my office there.

I've been to over 10 different NYC hotels in the past year, and now I won't be staying anywhere else.

The front desk (Juan) was super tolerant of my late check in and the room was immaculate, comfortable and quiet which is very important given I usually have a pretty intense week of meetings when I'm over and need to get as much sleep as possible! It also had a deep tub and an excellent separate shower which is rare for NYC hotels.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear csfulham,

Thank you for the rave review. We're elated you chose to give us a try and we're thrilled to be your new go-to NYC hotel. We understand the importance of a good night's rest and we're glad you found your room to be quiet as well as comfortable. We're happy you enjoyed our ample-sized bath tubs and we hope it was relaxing after a long day. Whether it be for business or pleasure, we're looking forward to having you again. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    292
    95
    52
    35
See reviews for
166
443
86
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place to stay in NYC. The room was clean and the position was great. The issue we found was that the service in the restaurant and bar was awful. We had a drink at the bar one afternoon and it was not busy at all, lots of staff wondering around but paying absolutely no attention to the patrons, waited at least 20 minutes for a bowl of nuts - had to ask 3 times. We had breakfast in the morning and found the same thing. Indifferent waiter and had to wait a long time for him to provide service. Bottom line... if you don't eat or drink there, it's great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear nmre,

Thank you for the detailed review. We deeply regret your experience at Asellina was not up to par and we appreciate your feedback. We'll be sure to inform our restaurant management of your comments to ensure all future visits are nothing short of amazing. On another note, we're glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and our wonderful location. Our dedicated team would love another chance to prove our commitment and provide an outstanding stay. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns. We hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Gansevoort Park Avenue lived up to and surpassed our expectations. Our room was spacious with a small balcony from which we could see the Empire State Building - cool! It was not noisy (we were on floor 12), except for the occasion traffic noise - but you are in NYC for goodness sake! The hotel staff were courteous and recognized my birthday, which was the reason we had come to NYC. Yes, the nightclub was busy on weekends, but we were given immediate access whenever we desired, and also could not hear it from our room at all. We also really enjoy our experience at the hotel restaurant, Asellina. Thanks for a great trip! ** Oh, and excellent, FREE, wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear murphy713,

Thank you for the splendid review and happy birthday! We're honored you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and we're pleased you had an impeccable experience. Waking up to a view of the Empire State building is a wonderful way to start the day and we're glad you loved the view. Additionally, we understand the importance of staying connected and we're happy you enjoyed our free high-speed Internet. We're elated you had a great time and we hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've stayed at the Gansevoort Park Ave before for both business and pleasure. My experiences have always been terrific and our experience this past weekend was no exception. My wife and I came in from the burbs for a long overdue weekend away and to catch a Broadway show. When you enter the lobby you just feel transported. The hotel is sleek and modern but not overwhelming in size. We were greeted at the front desk by Alexander who was friendly, attentive and according to my wife, quite attractive! Our room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. The king bed was way more comfortable then ours at home! The free Wi-Fi is a great bonus as well. We requested a microwave for special dietary needs and it arrived within minutes.The rooftop pool is super cool! Not too many of those in Manhattan! The neighborhood has plenty of restaurants, takeout places and shops, and is a nice walk or short cab ride to the theater district. I am booked again for an upcoming business trip and look forward to my stay. You just can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear dannyg31,

Thank you for the brilliant review and we wish you a warm welcome back! A getaway weekend in New York City should be memorable and we're happy you were satisfied from the moment you walked through our doors. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to relay them to Alexander and the rest of our devoted team. We're thrilled you enjoyed our divinely cozy beds and our free high-speed Internet. On another note, we're always happy to accommodate special requests and we're glad we could quickly provide a microwave. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your upcoming business trip.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this fantastic hotel. Kinda hip, but not in A Vegas kinda way. Great night club, rooftop pool, and nice rooms. The staff could not have been any better. The location for us was perfect, and we can't wait to go back next May.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear No2taxx,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're thrilled you had a wonderful experience and we're excited you've already planned your next visit. Our area is conveniently located near some of New York's best attractions and we're glad it perfectly suited your needs. We're also happy you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and our refreshing rooftop pool. See you next May!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We use this hotel as our "get away" stay-cation. We love everything about it, the amenities, the gym, the rooms, and the patios (yes, the patios, not simply balconies, where you can lay out in the sun, or even have a group dinner. Yes, there is furniture.). The staff is friendly and accommodating.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, with great bedding. We love the room service. I love the pool, it's a bit of a party at the pool (if that's your thing). There's a rooftop bar as well.

Needless to say, they have the basics covered: cleanliness, prompt service, great water pressure in the showers, great mini bar, free wifi!

Stay here. We cannot recommend it enough, just stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear j s,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We loved having you and we're pleased you had an extraordinary experience. We offer a plethora of features and we're elated you could take advantage of so many of them. Whether you spend the day lounging or entertaining, it's always great to look out to the NYC skyline from one of our private terraces. We understand the importance of comfort and we're glad you're fond of our plush beds as well as our ample-sized rooms. We appreciate your compliments and we look forward to having you for many more getaways to come.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

crossing the bridge for a staycation in the city is something i've been wanting to do for years, so when the opportunity finally presented itself, i wanted it to be perfect. after extensive research, i chose the gansevoort on park ave, primarily because of the quiet neighborhood (unlike the meatpacking location) and the rooftop pool.

everyone that i interacted with at the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful, from julie in the reservations department to alexander at the front desk. i'd requested a slightly earlier check-in, and alexander was very helpful not only in securing the room for me, but also for making sure the bucket of ice and champagne flutes were delivered to the room before my companion arrived 30 min later! he was there when we were checking out, and completely remembered me and was again just so genuinely personable and friendly.

there are a couple reasons i couldn't give this hotel 5/5: the brunch menu on the rooftop was unfortunately not anything i would order again, and we stopped at the rooftop bar late friday night before going back to our room and were given shots in an extremely warm plastic cup.

overall, i would 100% stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone. our room was on the 4th floor, so i was concerned about street noise being too loud, but it wasn't even a concern. the location is great. the deluxe king room we had was definitely a good size. the staff is wonderful.

as i said before, i've always wanted to have a staycation in nyc, and this was just so much better than i even imagined.

Room Tip: i heard some guests saying they could hear the bass from the rooftop bar from their room, so i would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear bktrish,

Thank you for the spectacular review. We're honored you chose to spend your NYC getaway with us and we're elated it surpassed your expectations. We strive to provide high quality service and we're glad you felt cared for by Julie and the rest of our team. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and we're happy you enjoyed your quiet room. On another note, we apologize you weren't fond of our rooftop's brunch menu. Next time, our concierge will be happy to book a reservation at Asellina or provide alternative dining recommendations in the area. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next staycation with us.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.