We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect NYC hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Perfect NYC hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I've stayed at the Gansevoort Park many times and I'm shocked that again, they surpassed my expectations. The staff was very helpful and made everything super convenient for me. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Janelson,

Thank you for the fantastic review. It’s always a pleasure having you and we’re thrilled we continuously exceed your expectations. It’s always sad to see you go, but we look forward to your return. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    296
    100
    52
    36
See reviews for
177
462
88
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the superior room , loft suite and gansevoort suite so it was a good opportunity to compare . The gansevoort suite is of course gorgeous , there are two bathrooms , large living room / dining room with seating for 6. Ensuite has a deep bathtub . The loft suite was the worst,the bed was a double and the TV in the bedroom mounted on the side wall so it was not easy to watch, there was only one bathroom in the main bedroom so although it is marketed as being suitable for 3 adults be aware it only has a bAthroom inside the main bedroom, there is also no bathtub as advertised , the loft had about 5 closets which was strange as the bedroom and living room were really small . If some of the closet space was used for the room it would have been more comfortable . The superior room was beautiful much better than the loft suite , big king size bed and big beautiful bathroom . The location of the hotel is good for someone who liked a quiet neighbourhood . But there's nothing around the area . Next time I would stay around soho which has all the shopping and restaurants .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear yebziSydney,

Thank you for the thorough review. We’re glad you enjoyed staying in our Gansevoort suite but deeply regret your experience in our other rooms was not up to par. We have various different room styles to accommodate all of our guests’ preferences and we apologize they didn't all suit your needs. Our reservations team will happily work with each guest to provide them with the amenities and features that work best for them. Also, our concierge is always available to provide extensive restaurant, shopping and entertainment suggestions in the area. Additionally, we do have a sister location in the Meatpacking District that is near the art galleries of Chelsea, boutique shopping in Soho and boundless nightlife right outside our door. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com with any further questions or concerns. We hope to have you again soon at any of our locations.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Everything is great. Good service, nice people, great location, high level guests, wonderful bed. The best option that we did. We loved to stay there. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Celi B,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We’re elated you a wonderful experience and delighted that your decision lead you to us. We’re thrilled you found our service to be superb and we’ll be sure to relay your kind remarks to the rest of our team. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to take care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had a wedding in the City,decided to make it a one night getaway. Checked in went to Asellina for lunch,we enjoyed very much. When the room was ready we were ecstatic how big and beautiful it was. We had stayed at their other property in Turks and once again Gansevoort did not disappoint! Front desk,concierge,staff were awesome! Hotel is Gorgeous! After the wedding we headed up to the roof top bar for a night cap. All in all we had a Great time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Craig S,

Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure having you and we’re glad your trip was flawless from check-in to check-out. Sometimes all you need is a one night getaway to relax and we’re thrilled you chose to spend yours with us. We’re happy you were pleased with our ample-sized rooms and beautiful décor. Although our New York location provides a different vibe than our Turks + Caicos property, both offer gorgeous, comfortable rooms, but the same quality service. Our rooftop bar is the perfect place to end the evening after a great day of festivities and we’re elated you enjoyed your time spent above the skyline. We’d love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had another excellent stay at the Another great stay at the Gansevoort Park. As per usual the staff are very good and attentive. The bar staff at the pool bar need to be called out specifically this time. They clearly put up with a lit to say the least. Can't wait to stay there the next time, hopefully this time with the family.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear BlackBell2014,

Thank you for the delightful review and welcome back! It's always a pleasure having you and we're thrilled you enjoyed your experience. We're glad our dedicated team continues to surpass your expectations and we'll be sure to inform them of your compliments. Thank you for noticing the hard work our bar and lounge crew puts into making each guest's rooftop experience remarkable. In addition to our pool and lounge we have a variety of amenities and attractions that are perfect for family vacations. If you choose to bring everyone along next time, feel free to stop by our concierge for suggestions and recommendations in the area. Whether you come alone or with company, we look forward to you next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have stayed here multiple times. time and time again, the service just gets better and better. From the time you check in, the front desk staff makes sure that your every need is taken care of. Always a delight when Alexander is there. Always attentive and asks if there is anything he can do to make your stay that much better. As for the amenities they are very good. A roof top bar, to the restaurant Asellina...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Swetal71,

Thank you for the exceptional review and we wish you a warm welcome back. We appreciate your invaluable loyalty and hope to continually exceed your expectations. We will be sure to relay your kind remarks to Alexander and the rest of our dedicated team, as we know they look forward to having you again soon. Our rooftop bar is the perfect place to enjoy a drink and take in the stunning, expansive views of the cityscape. Additionally, we're glad you enjoyed Asellina’s modern take on traditional Italian cuisine. It's quite convenient to be able to take a quick elevator ride downstairs and immediately be at your dining destination. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night break at the Gansevoort and have nothing but praise for this hotel. From the moment we checked in until departure the staff really looked after us and the level of customer service is far superior to anything we get in the UK. Our hotel room on the 12th floor was of a good size by NYC standards with a spacious bathroom and everything we needed. As the weather was great we managed to spend time by the pool which is a small but added bonus and we made good use of the gym. The rooftop bar was a lovely place for a few drinks although it did look pretty rowdy at the weekend. The real plus of this hotel is the location as you are within walking (or running) distance of Central Park and the great bars and restaurants around Greenwich Village and Chelsea. Do check out Bread and Butter across the road for fresh juices and breakfast options.

Room Tip: My sister and her husband stayed on floor 17 and were disappointed with the size, maybe a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Pigeony,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It's always nice to take a rest from a busy schedule and we're thrilled we were able to help make that happen. Our attentive team strives to provide our guests with impeccable service and we're glad you felt well taken care of. We'd have to agree, our pool is an ideal urban oasis where you can lounge and relax while taking in the stunning expansive views of the cityscape. We're happy you had the opportunity to experience our rooftop as well as many of the other attractions in our area. It was a pleasure having you and we'd love for you to visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.