We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Spot at the pool !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
More For Less Offer
Ranked #65 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Spot at the pool !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the gansevoort during the heat wave in July. Hoping to chill by the pool and cool off it was quite impossible since so many people from out of the hotel come to this pool and take up al the space! I personally find that they should reserve chairs for hotel guests because that's what they look forward too specially in the summer!
The rooftop bar at night was nice but i expected alot more from it , i found it quite annoying again how many people come from outside and our hanging in the lobby on Friday and Saturday's its not really a nice feeling when you come back from dinner no sense of privacy!
Our room (grand deluxe) was nice but the bathroom was not great.
Overall it was an average hotel !

Room Tip: Grand deluxe on a lower floor ,far away from elavator ..Specially if you are there in the weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Bell11B,

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the incurred circumstances on our rooftop and in our lobby. Guests have exclusive access to our pool, however during warmer days the rooftop is still a sought-after location to enjoy the cityscape. Guests are always our top priority and we will look into your concerns immediately to ensure seamless service. During events, it can get quite busy, so we apologize that this brought a sense of unease. We would love the opportunity to create the most ideal environment for you to relax and indulge in. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

@GansevoorPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    268
    90
    51
    30
See reviews for
149
417
78
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed there this July during a trip to visit the east coast of USA. This hotel is great, very well located not far from 5th avenue. The concierge is just amazing. She helped us (me and my 2 girls) to book the perfect entertainment right on spot.

The negative part of this hotel is the access to the swimming pool that is done via the roof top bar and the problem is that this bar is very popular. One evening, around 6:30 pm we tried to reach the pool and when the door of the lift openned we faced dozen of party guys, loud music and totally packed place. We had no other choice than going back to our room. Luckily we were in a room in the middle floor (not too much noise from street, but more important not too much noise from the bar because they party till very late !!!)

Room Tip: Ask a room in the middle floor to avoid the noise of the bar Go to the pool in the morning or early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Frederic V,

Thank you for your detailed review. We value seamless service and will pass along your sentiments to our team. We apologize for the issue you ran into on our rooftop pool. It’s a popular spot during the summer season and we often have special events, which draw a lively crowd. We’re glad you found seclusion in your room and if you choose to stay with us again our concierge will point you towards more opportunities in the city. Perhaps your daughters are interested in seeing a Broadway classic like Cinderella or The Lion King, followed by a tasty meal at the trendy Tao. This restaurant’s iconic Buddha statue creates a fun atmosphere, while you indulge in delicious Asian cuisine. The Chicken with Peanut Sauce is mouth-wateringly good. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

this hotel is well suited for bratty, immature and self-centered twenty-somethings who dont seem to care about disturbing anyone around them. Most of the hotel guests appear to be trust fund babies who know nothing about an honest days work. My wife and two kids stayed here in early August and were absolutely repulsed at the staff's inability to maintain any decorum in this $400 a night hotel. Loud music and partying occurs 3 nights a week UNTIL 4am so you can forget about getting any sleep in this hotel. stay away

the hotel has fotten so bad that the news is reporting on it: http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2013/08/08/neighbors-want-last-call-for-parties-at-upscale-park-ave-hotel/

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Bob D,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sincerely disappointed with your dissatisfaction and apologize for any disturbances you experienced. We serve a wide-range of guests and many enjoy our rooftop for an energetic nightlife. However, we also cater to a large majority that prefers peace and tranquility enhanced by the tranquil environment of our suites. Should you choose to give us a second chance, our reservations team will be happy to accommodate a room that ensures your needs are met if not exceeded. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further questions or concerns. Thank you.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, md
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights over July 4th weekend, and after a speedy and welcoming checkin by Catherine, we were taken to our room, no view but nice and cozy, bathroom was awesome, after a whole day wondering around NY went back to our room for a shower and a glass of wine with my wife, but after arriving back at the hotel, we realized there is a nightclub on the top floor, and we had to listen to music all night, and we were on the 4th floor, but it was NY so what did i expect. the hotel is in an excellent location if you feel like walking, you are close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear 6stringer00,

Thank you for the review. We’re pleased you enjoy the furnishings and amenities our hotel rooms have to offer. Our rooftop is a popular destination during the summer season, which can add to the city's nightlife. If you let our reservations team know of your night time preferences, we will be happy to provide a room that better fits your needs. Also, next time be sure to indulge in some wonderful Italian cuisine and cocktails at Asellina, located in our hotel. How about their Margherita Pizza and Red Sangria? It’s convenient and absolutely delicious. Our concierge team is also happy to point you towards other evening options in the restaurant-rich area. We hope to see you again!

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Greatly enjoyed the pool to relax by for a few hours. Perfect location for getting uptown or downtown. The rooms are beautiful. The bed is comfortable and the bathrooms are extremely nice. The people that work here are upbeat and kind. Great place and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Harold G,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted you’re pleased with your stay and will pass along your compliments to our team. We’re glad you relaxed by the pool and took in the captivating view from our rooftop. If you stay with us again, try out one of the restaurants located inside our walls. The Windsor has fine British-American pub food perfect for lunch, dinner and even happy hour. You won’t be able to pass on the Pretzel Poppers or juicy sliders. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A business trip to the heart of one of the greatest cities on earth was made comfortable and convenient by the Gansevoort. One of the only hotels in the city with a roof top pool and very classy all around.
Check in was efficient and friendly and they stored my bags while my room was being prepped. A quick stop to the top floor and pool lounge resulted in a couple of drinks on the house, thank you!
The room itself was very spacious by city standards and all of the furnishings appeared new and all fixtures were sparkling. Very clean indeed, and I stay in a lot of hotels!
The room contains a lot of risqué objects, which I will not mention here, but suffice to say that the moms and dads may want to put a few things away before the kids run wild in the room.
The stand up balcony was a treat, and gave a great view. The roof top patio also provides a nice view.
The door and bell service are absolutely top notch and I was always greeted with an open door and a smile, which by all accounts was sincere.
I did not order and room service or use their restaurant, so no comment on these amenities.
I will make sure I stay here again when I return to the City, perhaps at their other hotel in the Meatpacking District. Not for the budget minded, at $500+ per night for the standard room on Park Avenue, but worth every penny in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Brian H,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re happy to add comfort and fun to your business trip. Next time you head to the city, check out some of the renowned restaurants located nearby our hotel. If you want to try some local cuisine head to the popular Eataly in the nearby Flatiron District, for a plethora of seafood and meat options in addition to their famous Expresso bar. Of course our concierge team will be happy to point you towards even more options to check out during your free time! We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a very good stay here at the end of June. Since many of the reviews regarding staying at the Gansevoort Park with children are framed as cautionary tales, I wanted to share our very positive experience.

We spent five nights here with our two elementary school age boys. We chose the hotel specifically for its outdoor pool and its location. After reading many of the reviews on this site, I contacted the hotel and asked that they give us a quiet room and to please ensure that the room was made "kid appropriate" for our arrival. Not only did the staff honor both of these requests but they also had beautiful HUGE cupcakes waiting for my boys when we arrived in the room.

The room - on the 14th floor, was well away from the elevator and we could not hear anything from the upstairs club. We did hear some street noise but that is nearly impossible to avoid in NYC. The furnishings quite frankly were one of the few disappointments of our whole stay. While aiming for an edgy look, the quality felt cheep (in fact one of our drawers was difficult to close once it was open) and the shower curtain detracted from what was otherwise a very nice bathroom. The beds were the smallest queens I've seen, but having said all of this, the room was just fine for our needs and certainly would not deter us from booking the hotel again.

I wanted to also write something about our experience with the pool as several contributors on this site complained that their family did not feel welcome. Our experience was quite different. Although there were not many kids staying at the hotel, our kids were never made to feel uncomfortable. We swam during both the quiet morning hours and the more boisterous afternoons and there was always at least one or two other children in the pool area. In the afternoons, the lifeguard handed out frozen Otter Pops which was a nice touch. Best of all, when my kids were flagging as we walked through the city in the afternoon heat, it was wonderful to have a nice pool to retreat to for an hour or two.

And finally, the location is great - especially if you are amenable to taking public transportation. There's a subway station and several bus stops just a block away, and we found many good restaurants in the neighborhood. Please note that if you do have kids, they ride free on the subway and busses (the rule of thumb seems to be if they are up to about four foot tall - give or take an inch - they are free).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear 49MileDriver,

Thank you for the detailed review. We are pleased to hear about your positive stay. Cupcakes are always a perk - and a wonderful start to a fantastic vacation! We’re glad your family made the most of the city as well as our rooftop pool. As you said, our location is ideal for visitors. Next time check out one of the Broadway shows followed by a stroll through the brilliant Times Square and a meal at one of Midtown’s renowned restaurants. We love John’s Pizza in the Theater District – it’s in an old church and serves mouth-watering slices. We hope you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#20 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.