We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back! From Australia to New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get It All Package Deal
Ranked #70 of 446 hotels in New York City
Melbourne
1 review
“We'll Be Back! From Australia to New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Gansevoort Park Ave for nine nights to celebrate my 40th birthday and after doing a lot of research, we're so pleased that we chose this hotel. Its location is brilliant - there is a subway station located right next door and you're only two stops from Grand Central Station, and a ten minute walk from pretty much everywhere (Times Square, Fifth Ave etc.). The rooms are beautifully presented, incredibly spacious and clean, the service is first class and I have never slept in a more comfortable hotel bed!

The hotel restaurant Asellina has a great atmosphere - the food is fabulous and reasonably priced. Furthermore, it seems to attract quite a lot of locals in the evening which is always a good sign. The rooftop bar is 'the place to be' (for locals and guests alike) and despite its party atmosphere, we didn't hear any noise at all from our room. Clearly, the hotel has gone to great lengths to ensure guests are not disturbed by the activity.

Thanks for a great experience, Gansevoort Park Avenue. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you can stretch the budget a little, aim to book the Grand Deluxe Room. You won't be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sophie L,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re thrilled with your kind sentiments and overall happiness with your stay. Next time you visit, perhaps you will be interested in checking out the other restaurant in our hotel – The Windsor. It combines upscale American bar classics with Europe’s spirited social sensibility. The Truffle Grilled Cheese on brioche will leave you wanting more! Our concierge team can also point you towards other top restaurants as well as places to visit in the city that never sleeps. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    605
    213
    73
    43
    24
See reviews for
117
319
66
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had the good luck of having my flight delayed and having my credit card travel insurance pay for my hotel stay - so I googled penthouse pool + hotel + manhatten and this hotel popped up! Otherwise, this hotel is out of my price range.

Overall, it was an amazing experience. The hotel itself is in a great location - Park Avenue. The building is gorgeous and everything from the lobby to the rooms is beatifully decorated. The room was stunning.
The pool is on the penthouse terrace with a view of the Empire state building - enough said! It was pretty awesome (except that by the time I arrived the thunder storm that delayed my flight also closed the pool - but they let me jump in! ). The rooftop is also a bar so it was filled with all kinds of wealthy Manhattonites in club wear lounging around the pool. The whole thing was an interesting experience.
The service was really good. The concierge was able to direct me to a great Thai restaurant that was open late at night and in my price range (Jai Ya Thai - it was really good).

So overall, for 350 a night and to have such a beautiful pool on a rooftop overlooking Mahnattan - I think this was really good value, especially when you consider how much you have to pay for a 3 star blah hotel, probably 200 or 250. So if it's in my pricerange, I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear 8Chapel,

Thank you for the review. We’re delighted you landed on our doorstep and enjoyed every minute of your unexpected stay. Sometimes the best times aren’t planned. Rather than Googling dining spots in NYC, follow us on Citymaps for exclusive hotspots to try during your next visit. We’re minutes from the Flatiron District, which is full of renowned cuisines. If you want to splurge a little for a distinguished, farm-to-table dining option head to ABC Kitchen. Or, try its sister restaurant ABC Cocina for a similar experience with a Latin twist. We hope you stay with us again.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for a night. The lobby is nice and has a nice chic ambiance. The room and the bathroom were pretty spacious shockingly. The service was exceptional from the moment we checked in. Jane was wonderful and super helpful with all the questions we had. When I encountered housekeeping in the hallway, they asked if I was ok and if I needed anything. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Babya1218,

Thank you for the review. We’re glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and our quality service. Hopefully you made it up to our rooftop for a dip in the pool and a specialty cocktail. You can also have great food by the pool – the Proscuitto Melon Salad paired with a cold Bellini is a fresh summer treat. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It's like a small apartment! 11M even had a fireplace. It was nice but expensive (400$/night). At night, it was pretty loud outside. Someone was yelling. It's better to get a room without a view that's quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Arthur T,

Thank you for the review. We’re glad the room size enhanced the enjoyment of your stay. We strive for the highest satisfaction in comfort for the ultimate home away from home experience. We hope you had a chance to visit our rooftop pool and bar – a popular summer spot to cool off and enjoy a spectacular view. It is unfortunate that an individual was yelling in the hallways disrupting your night. We do not condone such behavior in the hallways and have taken the appropriate measures to ensure it does not happen in the future. Should you choose to visit again, we are confident that your privacy and utmost needs are satisfied to your content. We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a "Superior Room" on the 17th floor, a few floors below the rooftop pool and lounges. We could hear some noise in the hallway, but not in the room. The pool was small but with a drop-dead view of the Empire State Building! Some seating under cover, some in the sun. Very crowded and noisy in the afternoon, to be expected. We went the following morning at 8:15 and it was very peaceful... Reverse your day and start at the pool, begin touring later in the AM!

Subway at end of the block - very convenient.

Check in by Michael was very friendly and efficient. Had breakfast twice in the hotel dining room. Expensive, again as expected, but very good, especially the pancake stack with orange sauce, creme fraiche, and fresh fruit.

Only complaint - no coffee in the room, no coffee in the lobby... Starbucks was across the street, but why should you have to go out for your first coffee?...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear oldmayor,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted you’re pleased with your stay and will pass along your compliments to Michael and our team. Our rooftop is a hot spot during the summer season so we’re glad you found a serene time to enjoy the captivating view. If you stay with us again, try out The Windsor located in our hotel for fine British-American pub food. You won’t be able to pass on the Pretzel Poppers or juicy sliders. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms are nice with decent size and comfy beds. The rooftop pool was great fun for kids. The location is good as there is Starbucks and Bread & Butter around the corner of the hotel where one can easily buy snacks and breakfast. There are also lots of good restaurants and shops nearby. The staff are friendly and the lobby is chic. The room service food is great though a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear y h,

Thank you for the review. We are happy you’re satisfied with your stay. As you mentioned, our location is great for shopping and dining. We’re walking distance from the famous Fifth Avenue boutiques as well as the largest Macy’s in the world. Pamper the shopaholic in you by perusing all 11 floors. If you want to try some local, organic cuisine head to the renowned ABC Kitchen, in the nearby Flatiron District, for unique American food with a French twist. You won’t be disappointed. Of course our concierge team will be happy to point you towards even more options for round two of NYC. We hope to see you again!

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gansevoort Park in New York City. The Hotel is well located in mid town with impeccable and very comfortable elegantly decorated rooms. I especially loved the feather top mattress and crisp white linen. The staff were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. Although the hotel had a young feel it was not loud or over the top. The Grand deluxe room and bath room were immaculately clean . We sampled the food including breakfast and dinner as well as cocktails at the roof top bar and found all to be delicious. Sam who helped out at the front desk was very concerned with our every need. Abraham, the concierge, gave us very helpful recommendations that allowed us to see 4 very good shows.
We were most fortunate to talk to Alison in Corporate sales, who was extremely helpful. Her recommendations to the various restaurants, the local attractions and her initial description of the hotel is what clinched our decision to stay at the Gansevoort in the first place. We were not disappointed. We felt like royalty and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
July, 16-20, 2013

Room Tip: 10th floor was perfect little street noise and little noise from roof top bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear msaif,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are thrilled you're thoroughly satisfied with your stay. Sam, Abraham and Alison will be delighted with your compliments! We strive to give guests the royal treatment and are glad you felt pampered and comfortable. Next time you should head to Asellina, located in our hotel, for some decadent Italian cuisine. The flatbreads are delicious – try the new Summer Peaches or stay classic with the Margherita. We hope you come back soon!

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.