We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel , First Class Concierge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
More For Less Offer
Ranked #64 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Kingston,Ontario.Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Hotel , First Class Concierge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Make no mistake ,this is a 5 star hotel from the doorman ,front desk staff,concierge( Sanam) servers and bartenders . Asellina was perfect for breakfast ,lunch and dinner. At night it even had a club feel to it and a good drink selection. Anna Lee was our server and she was so hospitable. We enjoyed the other bars on site and the bar pool area. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the subway. The guest rooms are well appointed and large.The bathroom was beautiful .Our room had large ceiling to floor windows and a balcony. Quite spectacular. Sanam answered all of our questions and gave us great maps and suggestions . The hotel location is perfect. Close to TImes Square and the theatre district but just removed enough to be away from the madding crowds. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Calahoochie,

Thank you for the detailed review. We are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! We will be sure to let Anna Lee and Sanam know that they contributed to your positive experience, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    273
    92
    51
    31
See reviews for
152
425
79
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHARLESTON
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Came to the Hotel not having spent much time in this area, and none at the hotel. Had a great time. The hotel was great, staff was pleasant and helpful. The bars were great, with a very gracious staff. The AC was a little slow to keep rooms cold, but definitely comfortable. Will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear peeshCharleston_SC,

Thank you for sharing your great experience. If you're not sure what to do in the city, our concierge team is happy to provide recommendations that are sure to be positively memorable. The city is your playground. We're thrilled that you plan on staying with us again. Next time, we will be sure to modify your AC preferences in addition to ensuring all your needs are exceeded. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Air conditioning was not working properly during our stay. Cell phone reception was slow, if any from our room. My sons had an altercation with one of the security guards by the elevator. They had been cleared twice by the front desk and was not communicated to the bouncer. He was physically pulled out of the elevator. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Bad, bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Arkaricans,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any technical issues that arose during your stay. If we had been notified of such concerns, it would have helped us remedy the situation better. For security reasons, privacy on guest floors require validation before the guest can proceed to hotel room floors. We were under the impression that the altercation with our security guards was addressed appropriately and was resolved to your satisfaction. For any questions or further concerns, please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Gansevoort Park Avenue as I was attending a meeting nearby. The rooms were modern, well appointed and comfortable. The reception was very friendly and staff overall very welcoming and helpful. The room was also quiet which was much appreciated. We also ate at the restaurant on site, Asellina, which was excellent (I enjoyed one of the best snapper dishes that I've ever had) and dining included a glass of bubbly compliments of the hotel because we were registered guests. I received a special rate because of the meeting but it was still pricey. I probably will stay somewhere else the next time because there is so much choice in NYC, but this was certainly a very enjoyable and trouble-free experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear travtrini,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that your business trip went smoothly and you enjoyed our complimentary bubbly upon arrival. Chef Marco from Asellina will be pleased to know that you loved the snapper dish! We would love to see you again and provide you the best possible rate for your next stay. For any questions please contact Digital@TheGHG.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at the Gansevoort Park Hotel in mid-May, on a business trip. I frequent mid-town hotels and the rates here, at least while I was looking, were substantially lower than equal-quality competitors. Location was excellent. Reception was efficient and friendly. Upstairs bar/pool area was comfortable, fun and vibrant. Unfortunately the other hotel bar (pictures look great on the internet) was temporarily closed (I think they were doing a photo shoot of some sort). The room and bathroom were reasonably spacious and well furnished. Bed was comfortable. My only complaint is that my room service breakfast was noticeably poor - stale toast and very bad-tasting sausage. But I'll definitely stay here again provided rates remain reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Charles S,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled you were able to experience our rooftop bar and pool. Did you take a dip? It was a pleasure having you and we are excited to hear that you'll be staying with us again.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was surprised at a couple things upon check-in: (1) the "grand deluxe" room I had booked and shown on the website to have a couch with seating area and table was not what I was actually given. It looked strikingly similar to a less expensive "deluxe king room." When I called the front desk and inquired I was told some rooms don't look like the website. No offer was made to give me a room with the setup as advertised on the website. (2) Given that I was in town for business I went to set up my laptop and phone charger only to find there are 0 outlets at the desk. I literally had to decide between unplugging the desk lamp or the in room phone to get power at the desk. Silly set up.

There is a lot of noise from the hallway when other guests open/close their door but the rooms are otherwise quiet.

Positives:
(1) Housekeeping gets an A+. They did a great job of being unobtrusive and servicing the room twice a day (nightly turndown service).
(2) Very close to the 28th street subway entrance.
(3) 24 hour market across the street.

Gripes about the hotel:
(1) Hotel website advertises under AMENITIES: "BICYCLE We offer a healthier, green alternative for getting around NYC, with complimentary ultra-modern bicycles + helmets to keep you safe. Subject to availability only." (http://www.gansevoorthotelgroup.com/hotels/gansevoort-park-avenue-nyc/features/amenities) 5/29/13. When I called to request a bike the girl at the front desk laughed and asked if they actually still had that on the website...
(2) In room docking station didn't work properly

Room Tip: Stay away from the upper floors. There is a nightclub on the roof which goes late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Gansevoort Park for the first time. We were greeted with a warm and genuine welcome. The rooms are amazing and spacious. The rooftop pool is great, although busy during sunny days, as you would expect. The staff were sympathetic that there was no room at the pool and we were advised that there was a sun deck one storey higher.

This was great, we had a sun booth with shade and canopy. We had a great time up there.

We dined at the Four Seasons, which I cant recommend enough.

I want to extend our praise once again to the Gansevoort, and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Request a room on a lower floor to be sure the noise from the bar does not keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Stuart,

Thank you for sharing your great experience. We are glad you enjoyed our sun deck. Did you get to play a round of pingpong up there? Hopefully next time, you'll be able to enjoy our rooftop pool and enjoy the NYC skyline from a different perspective. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#22 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.