We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really uncomfortable.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 10% Off at Gansevoort
Ranked #58 of 451 hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Really uncomfortable.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The beds are really uncomfortable and squeaky. Instead of just having a good mattress they put a feather bed on top with feathers that poke you. Also, really loud. I've stayed here two nights in row and was woken up both nights by loud music/hotel party at 4:30am. Hence, why I'm up writing this review so early. Lastly, there is a mildew smell that is way to noticeable for a hotel of this standard. Can't wait to get home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear ak122012,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We are looking into your concerns so that future guests are provided with the best services possible. Should you decide to give us a second chance, we would love the opportunity to go above and beyond your needs. For any questions, please feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    239
    83
    46
    25
See reviews for
132
371
72
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Gansevoort Park Avenue has become one of my favourite hotels in the world. The service is outstanding - they can't seem to do enough for you on your visit and the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The location is great for business travellers who still want to be close to midtown but also not too far away from the more fun night time activites located downtown. in terms of value it's one of the best value hotel experiences I have had in a very long time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Gabriella,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience. We will be sure to let our deserving staff know that they helped make your stay positively memorable. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just back from a weekend in NYC visiting our daughter. We stayed at the Gansevoort Park Avenue on her recommendation as it is close to her apartment and we enjoyed our stay. For us the location was perfect and also very convenient -- Starbucks across the street, nice little market and deli across Park Ave and close to the subway. We had a Grand Deluxe room which was spacious by Manhattan standards with a small couch and chair as well as a desk, and a nice bathroom. My only quibble with the bathroom was that the lighting was dim. Nice makeup mirror but not enough light! The gym is small but adequate for a hotel gym. The rooftop bar and club were hopping at night and attract a young and very loud crowd. We went up with our daughter and her friend and enjoyed it for a while -- but eventually the noise was too much for my 50-something ears and so I retreated early. My husband did enjoy the pool deck as a spot to read and smoke a cigar in the afternoon. The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel has a young "feel" to it -- similar to a W or the Soho Grand I'd say. I'd definitely recommend requesting a room on a floor well below the club to avoid late night noise. We were on the 5th floor so had some street noise but were on 29th street rather than Park Avenue which helped and the noise wasn't bad at night. And NO club noise which was good. We will definitely stay again when visiting our daughter as long as she is in her current apartment.

Room Tip: Stay well below the rooftop club to avoid late night noise. A room on 29th street is probably quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear pcs1,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad that we are conveniently located for your needs. The rooftop is a great place to take in the NYC skyline. Hopefully you were able to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

A new breed of hotel with lots of "sensual" elements in the room and bar. Quite fun actually but be aware this is not your grandmas place. Windows everywhere in the room. You feel like a fist in a fish bowl or an exhibitionist! Service is young and casual. The bar attracts an in crowd. I prefer the one at the Meat packing district, but this is a good option for NYC.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear zpd2012,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are always striving to improve upon the experience of every guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves in our floor to ceiling windows that highlight the NYC landscape. We also have blackout curtains so you can get some shut-eye and private time. We'd love to see you again.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and well kept. The bed was very comfortable and the black out curtains were great. It was great to go upstairs to the lounge and have a few drinks with friends and just take the elevator back to your room. Loved the location and I look forward to staying here in a few weeks for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jks39,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was truly a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return in a couple weeks. Let the good times roll!

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided to stay at the Gansevoort Park Avenue for our Anniversary on the recommendation I received from my Magellan Vacations rep. He set everything up and when we checked in, the Gansevoort staff took over. The one specific thing that we wanted when we booked at the Gansevoort was a soaking tub in our bathroom. When I reminded the girl who was checking us in, she said that the room they were planning on giving us didn't have one. She went in the back to fix it immediately and actually took us upstairs and gave us a choice of two beautiful rooms with soaking bathtubs!!! All clean, neat, gorgeous and very SEXY!! They were so accommodating! Every single staff person that we encountered was smiling and nice.
You do have to call downstairs to get ice but every time we did it only took 5 minutes for it to arrive. Same when we asked for extra towels. Thank you for that!

***Notes about the pool - The pool is indoor/outdoor and very cute! Its not full size... but its fine. You can cool yourself off in it! It's a roof top pool in NY!

Julia helped out out when we left!! Everything was wonderful! Thank you, thank you! Find out who the nice girl was who checked us in and thank her too!! Even all the bell guys were great...smiling, happy and always something nice to say! Great job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear ceomeginc,

First off, happy anniversary! We're glad to have been a part of your wonderful milestone and our staff will be happy to hear that they could help make your stay positively memorable. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see your smiling face again. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

ideal location - plenty of restaurants attractions within walking distance. Staff helpful, hotel had everything we wanted, mini bar pricey, be warned! would definitely stay again. Room fine, double deluxe. Staying with daughter.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 11th floor this was far enough away from the rooftop bar, beds comfy slept fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sally,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Even though your trip was short, we are happy to know that you enjoyed you stay with your daughter. Did you know we are walking distance from Madison Square Park? Spring is a beautiful time to visit. We're delighted that you will be coming back. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;