We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
More For Less Offer
Ranked #64 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Saint James, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and well kept. The bed was very comfortable and the black out curtains were great. It was great to go upstairs to the lounge and have a few drinks with friends and just take the elevator back to your room. Loved the location and I look forward to staying here in a few weeks for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jks39,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was truly a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return in a couple weeks. Let the good times roll!

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    273
    92
    51
    31
See reviews for
152
425
79
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided to stay at the Gansevoort Park Avenue for our Anniversary on the recommendation I received from my Magellan Vacations rep. He set everything up and when we checked in, the Gansevoort staff took over. The one specific thing that we wanted when we booked at the Gansevoort was a soaking tub in our bathroom. When I reminded the girl who was checking us in, she said that the room they were planning on giving us didn't have one. She went in the back to fix it immediately and actually took us upstairs and gave us a choice of two beautiful rooms with soaking bathtubs!!! All clean, neat, gorgeous and very SEXY!! They were so accommodating! Every single staff person that we encountered was smiling and nice.
You do have to call downstairs to get ice but every time we did it only took 5 minutes for it to arrive. Same when we asked for extra towels. Thank you for that!

***Notes about the pool - The pool is indoor/outdoor and very cute! Its not full size... but its fine. You can cool yourself off in it! It's a roof top pool in NY!

Julia helped out out when we left!! Everything was wonderful! Thank you, thank you! Find out who the nice girl was who checked us in and thank her too!! Even all the bell guys were great...smiling, happy and always something nice to say! Great job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear ceomeginc,

First off, happy anniversary! We're glad to have been a part of your wonderful milestone and our staff will be happy to hear that they could help make your stay positively memorable. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see your smiling face again. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

ideal location - plenty of restaurants attractions within walking distance. Staff helpful, hotel had everything we wanted, mini bar pricey, be warned! would definitely stay again. Room fine, double deluxe. Staying with daughter.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 11th floor this was far enough away from the rooftop bar, beds comfy slept fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sally,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Even though your trip was short, we are happy to know that you enjoyed you stay with your daughter. Did you know we are walking distance from Madison Square Park? Spring is a beautiful time to visit. We're delighted that you will be coming back. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tai di Cadore, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beautiful Hotel with great services and fantastic rooms. All the staff is incredible and the
speed and the care and the attention thei put into their job is amazing !!
Special congratulations to desk and concierge teams, absolutely fantastic and very very professional.

Room and room service in general absolutely at top level.

The Asellina Restausant is excellent and the food ( both Dinners and Breakfast ) were perfect !

Spa: Amazing !! Have to try !
Gym: Very well equipped, a little small but nice !

Room Tip: Ask for 29th street view, from there you can easily see the Empire State !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Fiore,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to let our deserving staff know that they helped make your trip even more splendid. We're glad you were able to take advantage of Exhale Spa and our gym. Maybe next time you can try our heated rooftop pool overlooking the NYC skyline. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose this Hotel because of having a pool in NYC. We were disappointed with the Hotel overall. The first room they gave us was very small with no shower. We asked to change and were given a much better room. Breakfast was not included and was expensive. You had to have it in the Hotel's Italian restaurant and it was of poor standard for the price. Would not return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a shower!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear MelanieA153,

We appreciate your feedback. There seems to be a misunderstanding since we have showers in every room, however we are glad you were able to receive a room that better fits your needs. Should you decide to visit us again, we would like the opportunity to surpass your expectations. For questions, please contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice staff, but I you are a more mature traveler and don't feel like staying in college dorm then look elsewhere . Broken furniture, no drawer space...twenty something's roaming the halls at midnight...Nuff said.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear hockeyeh,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your concerns to provide the best possible service for our guests. Should you choose to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to go above and beyond your needs. For questions, please feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Cool even by New York standards. Friendly and professional staff. The room was exceptional. Room service prompt and courteous. Housekeeping courteous with turn down service discreetly when you are out of the room not as you are taking a shower to go out as many hotels do. Beautiful roof top bar and pool. Upgrade to a room with a terrace. A terrace in New York City is almost impossible to find. I am in NYC about every 6 weeks so I plan on making the Gansevoort my home away from home!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear cinder-03,

We're very pleased that your enjoyed your stay and flattered that we can be your home away from home. Maybe on your next visit, you can check out Exhale Spa and indulge in a relaxing massage or facial. We can't wait to see you again. Thank you for your review.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#22 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.