We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 10% Off Your Stay
Ranked #67 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Rayleigh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose this Hotel because of having a pool in NYC. We were disappointed with the Hotel overall. The first room they gave us was very small with no shower. We asked to change and were given a much better room. Breakfast was not included and was expensive. You had to have it in the Hotel's Italian restaurant and it was of poor standard for the price. Would not return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a shower!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear MelanieA153,

We appreciate your feedback. There seems to be a misunderstanding since we have showers in every room, however we are glad you were able to receive a room that better fits your needs. Should you decide to visit us again, we would like the opportunity to surpass your expectations. For questions, please contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    268
    90
    51
    30
See reviews for
149
417
78
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice staff, but I you are a more mature traveler and don't feel like staying in college dorm then look elsewhere . Broken furniture, no drawer space...twenty something's roaming the halls at midnight...Nuff said.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear hockeyeh,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your concerns to provide the best possible service for our guests. Should you choose to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to go above and beyond your needs. For questions, please feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Cool even by New York standards. Friendly and professional staff. The room was exceptional. Room service prompt and courteous. Housekeeping courteous with turn down service discreetly when you are out of the room not as you are taking a shower to go out as many hotels do. Beautiful roof top bar and pool. Upgrade to a room with a terrace. A terrace in New York City is almost impossible to find. I am in NYC about every 6 weeks so I plan on making the Gansevoort my home away from home!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear cinder-03,

We're very pleased that your enjoyed your stay and flattered that we can be your home away from home. Maybe on your next visit, you can check out Exhale Spa and indulge in a relaxing massage or facial. We can't wait to see you again. Thank you for your review.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The last minute I booked a 50th Birthday Vacation at the Gansevoort Park Avenue, Talia in reservations was amazing, described the hotel perfectly. Staff very friendly and accommadating . Hotel restaurant was great for lunch. Roof top club and bar a lot of fun, beautiful atmosphere!!!
rooms very clean

Room Tip: all rooms beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear XX,

First off, Happy Birthday! We will be sure to let Talia know how she made your vacation the perfect getaway. Thank you for your amazing review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was honestly a little surprised by some of the negative reviews on here. Granted, I stayed on a Tuesday night, so the bar was quieter than I imagine it would be on a weekend. However, I didn't hear a peep from my room, neither bar nor street noise. I stayed in a Grand Deluxe, which I would highly recommend. In New York, a room that big is worth a few extra dollars!

I was only there for one night, sadly, but the staff I encountered were fabulous. The girl who checked me in was bubbly and sweet, the doormen/bell boys were polite and friendly-- I only have positive things to say about them.

I did go for dinner at Asellina and really enjoyed the branzino ravioli (a special that evening, so I don't believe they have it all the time). Very fresh, great meal, and a nice, somewhat buzzy atmosphere in the restaurant.

The bathroom in our room was huge, with separate tub and shower and plenty of counter space (which, for two girls getting ready together, is terribly important!).

Really, I couldn't find anything I didn't like about this hotel. I would love to come back in the warmer months when the outdoor portion of the pool is open, because it looks like a great way to spend the day.

Room Tip: Go for the Grand Deluxe; it's almost 200 square feet larger than the Deluxe, and not that much p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear RunCatchKiss,

Thank you for your sharing your amazing experience. Even though our encounter was only for one night, it was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again. Maybe on your next trip, you'll have time to indulge at Exhale Spa or go swimming in our heated rooftop pool. Thanks again for your review.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel showed its brilliance- their people and service. For me, it is all about these two. Once you ensure you are in a good location and have a nice room (we were fortunate to have the opportunity to upgrade to the Park Avenue Suite), it is the people that make the real difference. While I cannot speak of the restaurant, lounge or bar venues from first hand customer experience, I can share that I observed all three bustling with customers, and all were smiling.

What we did experience as customers, was a consistent high level of "professional friendliness" and high regard to ensuring we were receiving our best possible experience while visiting NYC.
Notably, the front staff. The concierge Jane, is truly a talent. Juggling twelve balls (at least!) at any given time, always delivering the best results. The bell staff, Clancy and the others, are wonderful, It is like they are there to make everything seamless and easy. Love them!
I also was fortunate to experience the spa...again, all staff were great, really working together and supporting each other. The icing on the cake was my best massage ever. Ask for Fernando. A gift.

Many thanks to this hotel...to its people. An extra thanks to Temara (also extremely approachable and customer focussed), the manager of these talents.
Well done!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a corner suite...well worth the extra cost. I repeat, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear JoyfulTravellerCPH,

Thank you for your lovely review. We will be sure to let Jane, Clancy and all of our deserving staff know of the positive impact they made during your stay. It was a pleasure having you and we hope it won't be the last. We're delighted you were able to squeeze in a massage at Exhale Spa. Maybe next time you can try one of their well-renown Core Fusion classes. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The new gansevoort hotel on park and 29 has a purple chandelier lobby and hip heated pool area. Fun and different. State of the art large rooms with a large bathroom and nice size closet.
The problem is the party from the rooftop pool and bars carries into the hotel. Not only noisy all night long but as important strange people on your floor! It was quite frankly scary and way too much for security to handle. We saw them confronting strange drunks on our floor . Right by our room.
We complained but it did nothing. They frankly don't care.
This hotel is Only for wild party people who still want to spend a lot on a room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear notula,

Thank you for providing a review. We sincerely apologize for any noise disturbances during your stay. We have special elevators that separate rooftop club goers and guests to ensure an efficient entering and exiting process. Should you give us a second chance, we will make sure to accomodate for a more private and quieter room that fits your preferences. For any questions, feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#22 Business Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.