We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
More For Less Offer
Ranked #66 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

it was my first stay at this wonderful hotel and it was absolutely great!
Nice lobby with cool furniture. We had a Grand Deluxe Room facing Park Ave and it was large with super comfortable beds. Loved the decor in the room. Heard no noise in our room - slept like babies. Great bathroom with tub. The staff were super friendly and service minded. Asellina is a really good and trendy restaurant. Free WiFi all over.

Location is great. You can walk down to Union Square in 10 minutes or uptown. Nice store across the the street with food, drinks, coffe etc.

Loved the hotel and looking forward to my next visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Chicas1977,

We always love to hear that our guest has had a great night’s rest here and so it is especially exhilarating for us to read a review as supportive as yours. We put a great deal of care and attention into all of the aspects of our hotel that you mentioned, including our beds, decor and bathrooms. Thank you for taking the time to write this. Hope to see you back soon.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    273
    91
    51
    31
See reviews for
152
424
79
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great hotel. Stayed there while on business. Clean very large rooms for NYC standards. Great restraurant at the bottom called Asellina. Would recommend to anyone as long as location works for you. The hotel has a great restaurtant, a swanky lounge, a subtle piano bar, a spa, a gym. Its really full service and you can just stay right there without going anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear ToddNewYork_NY,

We always like to think of ourselves in exactly the way you described. You can, indeed, just stay right here without going anywhere. Thus, we would like to thank you for the glowing review. Now we just need to have you stay with us again for pleasure.

In the meantime, thank you for taking the time to write about your time with us.

Keep in touch,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Gansevoorts are always a perfect destination for people gawking. Been to the Gansevoort Park bar - and really enjoyed it. Lovely cocktails, a nice crowd to look at and vibrant tunes. Overall a good hang-out in midtown after work and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Zorro7770,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are thrilled that you continue to enjoy our spaces. Please let us know the next time you will be visiting us and we'll do our best to join you for a drink on the roof. Please don't hesitate to contact our community manager at digital@gansevoorthotel.com before your next stay.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here recently for three nights. Two of the nights were a Friday and Saturday - forget about trying to sleep. We were woken up several times the first night with yelling, music and banging coming from the room next door. Security needed to come (which they did promptly). The second night, we were woken up in the wee hours of the morning with people yelling and carrying on exiting the hotel from the "side entrance" from the cub. The amount of noise was loud enough to carry up to above the 6th floor. You would think one of the employees down below would have made sure it was "toned down". The room itself was comfortable and clean but extremely dim even with all the lights turned up. We will be visiting the city again in a few months - not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Patookpines,

Thank you for your review. It is disconcerting for us to read this review as we try to cater to the needs of each and every guest. We understand that rest is a primary concern for any traveler and offer our deepest apologies regarding the excess noise you experienced. We have discussed your notes with our team. Despite the particularly vibrant nature of some evenings at Gansevoort Park, we're sure that we could set you up in a quieter, brighter room for your next stay. Please don't hesitate to contact our community manager at digital@gansevoorthotel.com in regards to your next stay with us.

We hope to see you soon,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 for business.

The check-in staff were very friendly and told me all about the hotels amenities, including a "bar anywhere you look"...which definitely turned out to be the case...there are 6 maybe?

The room was massive by any standard, not just for NYC...I don't think I was upgraded but it was definitely large enough to have a party in...maybe that's why they have a "no more than 4 people per room" rule. The bathroom was large enough to have a massive yet chic sink...with his and her ends, and a large shower and separate bath tub. The view looked onto another building but I'm not complaining. The only thing I could complain about was a slight stale smell in the room, but not enough to bother me. No noise in my room either...so got some good sleep.

The rooftop bar was very fun, and we spent a fun evening up there talking to the friendly (and very attractive) staff members. The place is absolutely bumping on the weekends, which is a positive. We didn't get to try the restaurants or room service, but the resto looked especially nice.

The location is near the Flatiron building, and in a trendy part of town with lots of bars and restaurants around. Its close to several subway lines, so it makes it easy to get around town.

The staff are very friendly and helpful...big pls there.

This is my new go-to place in NYC...no more tiny dark rooms for me. More like 4.5 stars...given that most NYC hotels are so bad...and a treat at a great price point. Also, I got free wi-fi, which should be a standard in all hotels now...not an add-on charge.

I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear TooshMan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and wonderful review about our hotel. We are so happy thatyou found your New York City home, although you also mentioned you never got to try our food – you'll have to drop by Asellina next time. We can’t wait to have you back.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at the Gansevoort Park Avenue and i loved every minute of it! Especially the clean, stylish and colorful chic of the Hotel. The rooms are beautiful and big and the location Flatiron is superb. The staff was was exceptionally friendly and caring to the guests, they made me feel like a princess. I especially want to thank Sanam, Cheyenne & Melissa the ladies from the frontdesk for being there for me ;-) and also Haley and Joya the Roof Top Pool Ladies. You do a fantastic job in making a guest feel truly a part of the family and being spoiled ;-)!!

I will be back soon, that is for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Natalie A,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our staff. The people you mentioned are also all excited that you called them out them directly, especially in such a pleasant manner. We can’t wait to have you back for some more royal experiences.

With love,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

New location for us, nice renovation modern but not over the top. Rooftop bar if a real treat with great views of the skyline! Spacious rooms comfortable beds and helpful staff. We would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear fjmccarl,

Thank you for writing about your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our living quarters as well as our communal areas. Our beds remain a fan favorite – the next best thing to sleeping in your own. We can’t wait to have you back for round two.

Warm regards,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#22 Business Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.