We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy upscale hotel in NY on Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Trendy upscale hotel in NY on Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Very trendy hotel that many in NY come to just to see the lobby and have a drink at the attached restaurant. Rooms are very upscale and bed is super comfy. The windows actually OPEN in NY at this hotel! Something I was in LOVE with. I've stayed several times and once with a balcony room which was quite nice. The service is top notch and you'll feel like a VIP the minute you walk in. Great place to stay if you're looking for an upscale, trendy feel and are there for work or pleasure. The rooftop deck for a drink at night is great as well but it may be crowded.

Room Tip: With a balcony if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    296
    100
    52
    36
See reviews for
177
462
88
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I live in NYC, and I needed a place for 1 night, so I made arrangements to go to the Gansevoort Park Avenue, since they have a pool and its somewhat close to my house. As everyone knows, there are many many choices for hotels in NYC. One word summarized my experience...Wow! I was so excited about the Park Avenue Suite I rented, it was PERFECT in every way. The master bathroom was beautiful and functional, the powder room useful, the wrap around terrace a perfect surprise and the comfort beyond! I would suggest this hotel any day to anyone. There is a large "scene" at night at the hotel club, however, the room remained pin drop quiet, and, the security at the hotel made sure I had no issues coming and going whenever I wished. I sat by the pool for a little and looked at the empire state building; that's unique in NYC. Lots of pretty people too. I will stay here again soon, it was a truly memorable and perfect experience.

Room Tip: The web site is acccurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed on a Saturday evening in July. We chose this hotel because we have a child and there was an outdoor pool. What a scene - very crowded and the pool is really small. I can only imaging what the pool area is like in the evening. The staff was very helpful and did a good job of dealing with all of the people. One negative for us was my son dropped his french fries and we were charged for a second order. Rooms were large and well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed for five nights and had no complaints at all. The rooms were quite large by NY standards and very well equipped - flat screen TV, IPOD docking station, free WiFi etc.

The gym is small but very well equipped.

The location is perfect with most central places convenient for walking but also close to the subway and many cabs in the area.

The pool and bar on the rooftop are very trendy with fabulous waitresses. It is a bit pricy but I think it's worth it.

Last but not least, the staff were super friendly and very helpful and I felt they played a big part in making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

For a weekend getaway, paid a little extra (395) for "Get It All" package -- includes bottle of wine, continental breakfast, a couple of drink coupons and late checkout. I was really only interested in the late check out, but this hotel really phoned it in on the package. They slipped me an envelope with two drink tickets in it at check in, and that was it. No wine. Charged me $59 for the continental breakfast (said it wasn't part of package, then said it was, then said i should have been given coupons, etc). Personally, i hate having to beg for things when i'm trying to relax. If you want to hang with Snookie in a 3-ft deep pool in a grim neighborhood, this is your spot. To me, Bowery Hotel blows this away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We began staying at this hotel over a year ago when we came into town for business. I haven't stayed anywhere else since. Great staff that actually remembers us upon our return. We got upgraded to a suite on our last stay...absolutely fabulous. Love the roof top pool. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at The Gansevoort Park Avenue over New Years 2010-11. I was attending some concerts at MSG so i wanted to get something within walking distance that was Really nice. The rooms are beautiful. I had a 15th floor room with a balcony and was really impressed with it. The bathrooms are well designed and there was a nice ambiance about the room and hotel.
I do not like the fact that they use an off site service for Valet but i expect its kind of typical for new york city. My room seemed to be near the hospitality closet because on my second day there i was woken at 8 am by the slamming of a door every 45 seconds. Since the walls were thin it was sort of hard to sleep. I complained a few times very politely and the problem was not as bad the next day, but still an issue. not something i want to experience when paying over 1000 dollars for a room. But they had just opened, and i hope they have fixed the issue. I am sure not all rooms have this problem. I asked for a slight discount in my rate since i stayed there for four days, and did not receive it, so i will most likely not stay there again.
Other than the slamming door. My experience was exactly what i wanted out of a New York room. Although the pictures on the website for the room i reserved were actually pictures of the penthouse. i was happy with the room i got but still disappointed that they were not the pictures they had provided. i felt a little mislead but I had a fantastic experience. The room service was incredible, the food was really delicious. The rooftop was awesome, check it out.
Overall i would like to stay here again. the view up and down Park avenue was incredible and i really liked the staff and room service. Its just that slamming door. i sure hope they fixed it.

Room Tip: Ask for the Park Avenue View rooms. the higher you go the Better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.