We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it Suited the purpose” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mayor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mayor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayor Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Division Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn) (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #385 of 449 hotels in New York City
Dublin
1 review
“it Suited the purpose”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Train is a problem very Noisy. Staff were pleasant and helpful The water problems seem to be sorted as everything was in order in Sept. Location is a subway ride away from Time Square.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    26
    32
    13
    24
See reviews for
14
38
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

okay, you have already read the stuff about the very lousy location. So, here's the deal. It took 45 minutes to check in, because they couldn't figure out how to deal with our credit card and how to deal with their third party booker (we did book on the website). They told us there was no continental breakfast, only coffee and tea. The rooms are still gasing off from new furniture. But here's the worst part. They don't actually have mattresses. They have boxes with a half inch of quilting on top. Also, they have a water problem that they already know about. No water. We had to switch rooms to a lower room in order to get some water pressure. Then, leaving they tried to charge us twice. 45 minutes to check out. And they were so condescending, saying that I didn't understand how credit cards worked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I'm frequently in New York City so I've spent many nights in different hotels all around Manhattan. I am use to staying at hotels that run from $350-$600 a night. Due to a recent budget cut, my company booked me for a week stay at the Mayor Hotel. The rates at this hotel are the lowest I've seen in NYC and there are a few other hotels nearby (much older looking) that charge more. The hotel is fairly new; I was told it opened two months ago. And based on the appearance, design of the hotel, and the cleanliness of the lobby, rooms, hallways, and elevator, it's most likely true. The Front Desk staff members are knowledgeable of the area and answered all my questions in good manners. The rooms are a bit small but not much smaller than Four Points Sheraton in Chelsea which charge 2-3x as much. The B/DF subway stations are walking distance so it's very convenient for me to go to my meetings. The biggest con is that the Hotel is directly across the Manhattan Bridge where trains run by constantly. During the morning and afternoon, it does get pretty loud. At night, the trains run less frequently and it becomes more forgiving; at least to me. My room was cleaned everyday and although I did make two complaints to the general manager regarding certain things I disliked, she handled those issues very well and I didn't have a problem for the remaining of my stay. I did not run into any water issues during my entire stay (1wk) like others have. So I cannot comment on that. Overall, I think for the price, cleanliness, and convenience factor, I would give it 3 stars at least. I think since the hotel is still fairly new, some adjustments will have to be made; but it does seem to have a potential to be a 4 star Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

A SHAME. OUTRAGEOUS. Staff was arrogant, unhelpful and unprofessional, except for the hotel manager. I have NEVER been treated like that in a hotel. The room did not have hot water, they totally ignored my complain and made me wait for hours until they gave us a new room.
The following day they gave that same room to a guest who complained about the same problem, obviously they never tried to fix it.
AC could not be turned off, but if we opened the window we could not get any sleep because of the noise.
Room was so small we could not walk around the bed without stumbling with our bags.
I WILL NEVER USE THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

When we arrived everything looked good and comfortable. But after having spend 1 night we had some noticable disappointments:

- The subway passes by in the nights which can be disturbing ( we stayed more than a week so we got used to it)
- The shower tub is indeed very very poor, theres almost no water coming out of it. Taking a nice hot shower after a warm day is out of the mind. The staff crew cannot fix it either after informing them.
- The prices were pretty expensive: We could have booked more comfortable hotels for the same price.

Plusses are:
-Mostly friendly crew
-Hotel seems clean
-Good airconditioning
- Good location in southern manhattan (Soho, Chinatown, little italy etc.)

So if ur here for a short visit it might be worth a while cause of its good location but for a longer visit it might be better to book another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

It is located in an a busy area of China town with a subway right above. When we heard the train go by every few min and walking into our room that had not been cleaned, we advised them we were not staying.!
There are so many other options of hotels in NY and this is not one of them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hondagm29
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel is very noisy..The train pass by every seconds..Plus there no way we could take hot shower because there no water coming up from the sink or bath tub..It was a night mare staying at this hotel...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Hotel

Address: 79 Division Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayor Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPENED IN JULY 2009. In the heart of Manhattan, just minutes from the Statue of Liberty and Ground Zero, the Mayor Hotel, offers sensible guestrooms in a stylish atmosphere. Guests at the America's Best Value Inn will enjoy the spectacular view of New York City from comfortable guestrooms with complimentary high-speed internet and flat-screen TVs. After a restful night of sleep, guests can wake up with a workout in the 24-hour fitness center. Just steps from a variety of restaurants and shopping, the America's Best Value Inn Mayor Hotel features a prime location. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's easy access to the financial district, with Wall Street just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 30. Hotel Chain: America's Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Mayor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.