We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to visit New York with a small budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mayor Hotel to your Saves list
Mayor Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Division Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn) (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #399 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to visit New York with a small budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Cheap place in Chinatown but perfect to sleep after an exhausting day. The room was small and the mattress quite hard but we slept like babies. It was cleaned, and the towels in the ensuite bathroom changed everyday. Staff couldn't be more helpful and nice. For the excellent price we also got breakfast consisting of coffee/tea and a lovely croissant/omelette, ham and cheese sandwich. Subway is a 3min walk and you get to almost every place in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaSpain8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Maybe the cheapest place in Manhattan today, for the same price than a YMCA, you have your private room with private bath (not just a shared shower).
The staff is friendly and try to help you if you need assistance.
For sure the bed is hard, very hard you feel sleeping on a wood board, but you sleep well if you love it, the temperature is good sometimes too hot, but don't open the double window you will hear the train and the cars in front of the hotel, so don't forget your ear plug if you are used to sleep in the absolute silence.
If you are looking for a place to sleep in a large bed, for a very low price, just chose this hotel 5 minute walk from the subway station East Broadway (line F).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We found this hotel friendly and welcoming and the rates were really well priced. The room was tiny, could only just get my case around the bed but the bathroom was a good size. The bed was awful!!! I also found breakfast (which was included) very disappointing, there were only choices of a ham and egg roll or a sweet bun. I would stay here again as long as beds were upgrades.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel located on china town, not far from everything else in the city, small room barely got the queen bed with a little walking room around it. Had a nice flat screen Tv though. Had a decent selection of channels. Bed was hard as a rock! Bed consisted of a bed board and a 1 to 2 in pad. And small skinny pillows. My back was killing me all night and still is today.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morales0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have read the reviews here.....Yes, it is in chinatown (although I felt safer there than in many NYC areas), we had no problem finding snacks/drinks and most of the 'locals' there were very nice. The staff at mayor hotel were very friendly and stored our luggage for us until we could check in (and after we checked out). They also have a driver service that was cheaper than cabs and called him for us! We had two pretty small twin beds that weren't super comfy, but did the job. The breakfast was also decent and included in the price. Wifi worked great.....the bridge traffic was noisy, but after a day of sight-seeing and taking a tylenol pm, i didn't even notice (and I'm a pretty light sleeper). This was our first trip to NYC so we were VERY nervous about where we stayed, and also on a budget. I did NOT notice any mold or anything gross in the hotel. Our room was clean, I didnt notice any rips/tears in curtains or sheets or anything. ....The rooms were small, I could not imagine spending the day there.....so, if you are planning on just hanging out at the hotel, this probably isn't the place for you. But if you leave early and return to hotel to shower/sleep, this is a good deal. Took us 3-5 minute walk to get to subway from front door of hotel. Over-all, for the price and location coupled with the fact that we really didn't spend much time there, we would stay again and feel this was a good value and experience for the money.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in a room with one bed, maybe the twin rooms are nicer? Also, ask clerk about lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Moldy shower, hair everywhere in bathroom, they photo copy your credit card and ID and keep the info for 5 years (is that legal?), hard, uncomfortable beds, dirty under desk and nightstand, very basic cable- maybe 10 channels and you don't control your own heat/cooling. Lastly, don't plan on sleeping.... Train overhead runs all night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostonfoodist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#407 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Chinatown
The Hotel 91
The Hotel 91
#362 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Sunset Park / Park S...
#351 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#373 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Hotel

Address: 79 Division Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPENED IN JULY 2009. In the heart of Manhattan, just minutes from the Statue of Liberty and Ground Zero, the Mayor Hotel, offers sensible guestrooms in a stylish atmosphere. Guests at the America's Best Value Inn will enjoy the spectacular view of New York City from comfortable guestrooms with complimentary high-speed internet and flat-screen TVs. After a restful night of sleep, guests can wake up with a workout in the 24-hour fitness center. Just steps from a variety of restaurants and shopping, the America's Best Value Inn Mayor Hotel features a prime location. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's easy access to the financial district, with Wall Street just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 30. Hotel Chain: America's Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mayor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing