We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is very good but service is cold and impersonal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marea

Marea
240 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212.582.5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: Marea is located near Columbus Circle, a hub for the A, B, C, D and 1 subways lines. One block east and one block south at 57th St. and 7th Ave guests may utilize either the N, Q, R, W subway lines.
Description: Marea Ristorante, located in one of Manhattans most storied addresses, features Chef Michael White's ode to Italian seafood. From his trademark handmade pastas to his fresh crudo and whole fish, Chef White is committed to reinventing the notion of seafood in New York.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Food is very good but service is cold and impersonal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We started with the Panzerotti. Then, one of us had the Polipo as appetizer. For entrée we ordered the Seafood risotti and the Gnochetti. Those were all very good. For dessert, we ordered the Semifreddo di Nociolla which was disappointing. We would return but we would appreciate some more courtesy and a few smiles from the staff next time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    177
    82
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super meal; lost credit card”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Superb food. One waitress who was not our server just appeared from nowhere to get our check, and came back saying there was no credit card inside the fold-out. But I couldn't find my Amex in my wallet, which I know I had slipped into the bill. Was sure she must have lost it, but no effort from staff to look for it. Two hours later they called and found the card....An inconvenience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Don't laugh--but this place is a steal by NYC standards. There is a fixed price three course dinner @ $99--cheap by NYC standards. The sommelier picked out an amazing 100 bottle of white wine for us (again, cheap by NYC standards). And we had a multi-starred Michelin dinner with service that was perfect for the price of what a mediocre meal would be in many cities. WOW!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Marea: Beautiful Food, Service, Location and People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I LOVE Marea! This was the 5th time I have eaten at the restaurant and each time, the quality of the food and service has remained consistently wonderful. Located on swanky Central Park South in the heart of Manhattan, Marea caters to locals and tourists alike. There is adequate space between tables, which is a luxury in NYC. However, I always find that the people sitting near me are interesting to talk to and I'm always surprised at how many local regulars this place has. The ambience is sophisticated but friendly and relaxed and it's always fun to talk with fellow foodies. The specialty, of course, is seafood and they do it exceedingly well. They are wonderfully accommodating to special needs. As an example, I really need to eat a green salad at dinner and there wasn't one on the menu-- but it was absolutely no problem for them to make me one upon request--and it was delicious with a beautiful dressing. They are great about providing half portions so that you can try more menu items, particularly when it comes to their pasta dishes and risotti. The pasta is fresh, house made and delectable and the fresh fish is always an excellent choice. Desserts are also terrific. If you are looking for a high quality experience in the middle of New York City, you will not be disappointed with Marea.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Tidal wave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It is the attention to detail which must be the key to the production of these exquisite courses. After a fino sherry and a cocktail, the starters of raw and exotic white fish for my wife and Nova Scotia lobster for me were a delicious start. We chose as main courses plump and fabulous scallops with almonds, peeled grapes and sauce combined perfectly for my wife while I ate Turbot which was cooked to perfection. Everything was expertly assembled, delivered and collected. We chose an American Chardonnay with a beautiful buttery nose, Les Noisetiers from Kistler to support the seafood. The Afogato which finished was again up to the standard which characterised the entire meal experience. It well justifies its 2 Michelin stars and would probably score a third on food quality alone. Patrons are packed in a bit with successive sittings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marea also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.