We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know you are in a quality French restaurant when the patrons speak French...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yo In Yo Out - CLOSED

Yo In Yo Out
1569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10029 (Harlem)
(212) 987-5350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Harlem
Cross street: Between 100 & 101 Street
Transit: 6 train to 96 street stop.
Description: Tiny gem Yo In Yo Out is totally worth a couple of extra subway stops. Nestled in a blossoming strip of restaurants on Lexington Avenue in East Harlem, the bistro—named after chef, owner and French native Yoanne Magris—serves up delicious, fresh French food with a New American twist.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“You know you are in a quality French restaurant when the patrons speak French...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

You know you are eating quality French food when the other patrons are speaking French... The food here is quite scrumptious--very fresh and very French. If you are deciding between the crepes, the wraps, and the sandwiches, go with crepes. They are delicious!!! My wife ordered the crepe version of the goat cheese/mushroom sandwich, and I ordered the sandwich version of the La Provencal. I definitely enjoyed the sandwich, but I regretted not ordering the crepes as soon as the plates were set down in front of us.

The layout of the restaurant is small and intimate. I wouldn't sit at the table nearest the restroom; the constant opening and closing of the door makes for an uncomfortable experience.

The service was wonderful until the end when no one would bring us our check. We guessed that maybe we were supposed to pay up front, but when we walked up to the register, the manager appeared confused about why we were there instead of at our table. In the end we paid our bill and felt satisfied, but the awkwardness was a sour point.

If you are looking for something other than a fast food joint or a Hispanic restaurant in the neighborhood around El Museo, this is your place! Go in to Yo In!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tres bon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Chef Joanna is a talented cook able to bring her creative talents to this great little unpretentious restaurant. New twists to some classical dishes like beef bourguignon and chicken marsala make this place an exciting find. Deserts are a treat, chocolate mousse fabulous. The prix-fixe dinner is a deal. A great place to go after visiting the nearby Museum of the City of NY or the Conservatory Garden.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went here because it was close to our accommodation but it proved to be an excellent choice. Cosy, welcoming, good menu choice and very good staff. Good value for NYC.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent little treasure of a hole-in-the-wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food was very affordable, you get a lot of it, and the flavors were to absolutely top notch. I went with two friends for brunch, and the place was packed. Luckily we had called ahead for a reservation, so we had a table waiting for us. The waiters and what seemed to be the owner were very attentive to us, and always addressed me by name (which they had gotten from the reservation), which was nice and personalized. My two friends both got the special, which comes with tea or coffee, a mimosa, a croissant with raspberry or apricot preserves, and their choice of some sort of specialty egg dish (eggs Florentine, eggs Benedict, eggs Norwegian, etc.). They couldn't finish all of the food, and the croissants were so delicious that they needed no topping. I ordered one of the restaurant's specials, which was a crepe with melted goat cheese, mushrooms, and truffle sauce, all topped with an arugula and tomato balsamic salad, which really complimented the flavors well. My friends both tried my order and they said that the next time they are ordering it. So needless to say, this dish was wonderful.

This place is a gem, all the mroe so because it is not in any sort of restaurant or foody district. Highly recommend. And! They deliver!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My appetizer was salad, which was very fresh and tasty. And the portion was really big.
Main dish was risotto, which was the best I've ever eaten.
The service was friendly and happy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo In Yo Out also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yo In Yo Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.