We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porgy & Bess - Best Music Revival Winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway

Broadway
New York City, NY (Midtown)
Improve this listing
Visit Broadway like an insider
Special Offer
$127*
and up
Chicago On Broadway
Ranked #10 of 1,635 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most famous theater district in the world.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Porgy & Bess - Best Music Revival Winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Short walk from the hotel, through Hell's Kitchen (saw Tyne Daly as I was crossing the street!) The show is WONDERFUL!! My first Broadway show; I cried through the entire thing. Afterward, I went to the stage door to get autographs from Norm Lewis and Audra McDonald. Best experience of my entire time in NYC

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,764
    1,947
    391
    65
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Broadway is the street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

So there are a maze of different streets but Broadway gives you the major productions, off broadway less than that but its an interesting street because it goes almost the length of manhattan. Broadway around times square is where the action is. Go over a bit to 9th Avenue and you hit some of the restaurants and bars.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice Work If You Can Get It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Managed to pick up reduced tickets at one of the outlets in Times Square, brilliant show, absolutely hilarious laugh a minute and soooo well done, a must see!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spiderman the musical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My friends and I had a free evening in New York and on a whim decided to go and see Spiderman the musical. It was a fantastic show where the characters swing out into the crowd. If it ever comes to the UK, I can fully recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Although we didn't see any shows this year, the atmosphere on Broadway and all of the little souvenir shops were great - and very distracting!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway also viewed

 

Been to Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.