We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant exhibition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
12th Avenue & 46th Street, Pier 86, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
+1 212-245-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$85*
and up
The New York Pass
Ranked #37 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is a nonprofit, educational institution featuring the legendary aircraft carrier Intrepid, the space shuttle Enterprise, the world's fastest jets and a guided missile submarine. Through exhibitions, educational programming and the foremost collection of technologically groundbreaking aircraft and vessels, visitors of all ages and abilities are taken on an interactive journey through history to learn about American innovation and bravery. Welcoming over one million visitors annually, the Museum includes the Space Shuttle Pavilion, home to Enterprise, the world's first space shuttle that paved the way for America's successful Space Shuttle Program. On display are more than two dozen authentically restored aircraft, including the Lockheed A-12 Blackbird, the world's fastest military jet and spy plane, and the British Airways Concorde, the fastest commercial aircraft to ever cross the Atlantic Ocean. The Museum also includes the submarine Growler, the only American diesel-powered strategic missile submarine open to the public; the Exploreum Interactive Hall, a fully interactive exhibit space; an 18,000 sq. ft. education center; and Pier 86, a publicly accessible pier that is part of the Hudson River Park Trust. The mission of the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is to promote the awareness and understanding of history, science and service through its collections, exhibitions and programming in order to honor our heroes, educate the public and inspire our youth.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This visit was well worth the hours we spent there, and I could have spent more had my daughter's fatigue not kicked in (more a guy thing!) We did the Concorde tour, which was well-presented, but not the Enterprise. The presentation of the ship's history and action was well put together, especially the noise-and-smoke exhibition of the kamikaze attacks. There was a bit of a queue for the Growler sub, but also an interesting visit if one hasn't been in a sub before (if one has been in one of a similar era, it's much the same - for a landlubber). My highlights were a real Blackbird (prototype) and WWII and Cold War planes up close, plus the Concorde.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    753
    174
    34
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Take the Concorde your”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The whole Intrepid visit is really worthwhile but make sure to pay the extra $20 and do a guided Concorde tour. Our man John was the BEST - very knowledgeable, very passionate and very entertaining.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“"Fascinating"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This WW11 era carrier has a fascinating collection of aircraft including an ex British Airways Concorde, both on the deck and in the hanger.
Moored along side is the USS Growler submarine, the only one of its type to survive. The space shuttle 'Enterprise' is also displayed on the deck in its own hanger.
All in all this is a fascinating museum with plenty to see for old and young alike.
Entrance fees for what is displayed are reasonable and whether you be an aviation or space enthusiast or ex navy this is a worthwhile museum to visit, with lots of information to read.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great displays and fantastic guides and volunteers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Took a small school party here from London during our stay in New York and although it's a bit of a hike from the nearest subway it was well worth the effort.
The ship itself is massive and the range of displays, planes, and interactive activities are brilliant (11-13 year olds we had). The boys loved the submarine and the chance to get up close with a space shuttle.
A huge bonus is the ex-servicemen who act as guides and volunteers. One of them, Bob, went out of his way to give the boys a very personal experience and tour of the ship - thank you!
Highly recommend this!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just a perfect day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Our almost 6 year old and I took Dad for Father's Day. We had a great day. The submarine was fascinating. Such small living space, even the little guy said he barely fits! It was great history lesson for us all, we especially enjoyed teaching little man a part of our history. My grandfather served on an aircraft carrier, and great grandfather on a submarine, so it was very special to me to be there. We saw the spacecraft, Enterprise. :) We were hoping to go in, but it was still amazing from the outside. The space section of the museum was really really interesting. We had fun with the planes, and the interactive displays kept us all busy having a great time! Suddenly the museum was closing and we had to go back to real life. It was a really special day that I'd recommend. Especially as adults, or with children 5+ who can really appreciate what they are seeing to some extent. Wish we'd have gotten there earlier!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intrepidmuseum, at Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Intrepid Museum! We're glad you and your family had a nice trip. It's great to hear how children learn from and appreciate the Museum, so thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.