We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't do it all in 3.5 hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
12th Avenue & 46th Street, Pier 86, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
+1 212-245-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$76*
and up
New York City Explorer Pass
Ranked #37 of 1,635 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is a nonprofit, educational institution featuring the legendary aircraft carrier Intrepid, the space shuttle Enterprise, the world's fastest jets and a guided missile submarine. Through exhibitions, educational programming and the foremost collection of technologically groundbreaking aircraft and vessels, visitors of all ages and abilities are taken on an interactive journey through history to learn about American innovation and bravery. Welcoming over one million visitors annually, the Museum includes the Space Shuttle Pavilion, home to Enterprise, the world's first space shuttle that paved the way for America's successful Space Shuttle Program. On display are more than two dozen authentically restored aircraft, including the Lockheed A-12 Blackbird, the world's fastest military jet and spy plane, and the British Airways Concorde, the fastest commercial aircraft to ever cross the Atlantic Ocean. The Museum also includes the submarine Growler, the only American diesel-powered strategic missile submarine open to the public; the Exploreum Interactive Hall, a fully interactive exhibit space; an 18,000 sq. ft. education center; and Pier 86, a publicly accessible pier that is part of the Hudson River Park Trust. Download our free iPhone app, Mission Intrepid: Explore Enterprise, from the App Store today, and enhance your experience in the Space Shuttle Pavilion! The mission of the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is to promote the awareness and understanding of history, science and service through its collections, exhibitions and programming in order to honor our heroes, educate the public and inspire our youth.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Didn't do it all in 3.5 hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Decided to go here on recommendation of my sister who had visited previously. Located a relaxing (well for NYC anyway?!) 20 min walk from our hotel (New Yorker) in midtown to the ship.

Was a sunny day and chilling out on the main deck looking and reading about the planes was cool, along with bonus great views down the Hudson and back into Manhatten. Then took a walk around the bridge and chatted to some veterans, all quite fascinating.

Following that we toured the midship and took it the size of the ship along with its amazing and often terrifying history from some great historic archive footage. We spent so long in the ship that we managed to miss the tour of the submarine and had to leave as it was closing!

All in all a gem of thing to go and see and very glad we took half a day to do it - probably should've arrived earller than 1.30, but I blame the night before, where we saw some different sights of NYC, through Fireball tinted spectacles (it was my birthday though so am allowed!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,563
    868
    200
    40
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Interesting collection of planes on board”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Sea, Air and Space Museum is on the USS Intrepid, an aircraft carrier docked at Pier 86 on the Hudson River. The ship saw action during WWII and was also a recovery vessel for the space program. It can be accessed by bus, or by taking the subway to 42nd St/Port Authority and then walking a few blocks west to 12th Ave/46th St. General admission for adults (April 2013) was $24.

The decks are accessible by lift. The flight deck houses many types of aircraft from MiG jets and Tomcats to helicopters and stealth fighters. From the flight deck you can climb stairs to the bridge and see how operations were conducted. There is also a lift here. On the lower deck, inside the carrier, are other displays including replicas of some of the spacecraft that were recovered during the Mercury and Gemini missions of the sixties. There are also many rides and activities here which will entertain the kids. Outside you can find the Concorde as well as the space shuttle Enterprise and the Russian submarine Growler. A cafeteria is also available with a small selection of items.

Pros

- good display of planes on deck
- accessible by lift
- food available for purchase
- submarine tour included in the general admission price
- Concorde is on display
- interesting exhibits to see inside
- kids will find rides fun

Cons

- a little pricy for kids: $19 for youth and $12 for children. Makes it costly for a family. There is no family ticket option.
- the space shuttle pavilion is an extra cost
- rides inside are extra ($9)

Still, it was interesting to visit and I enjoyed it. A couple of hours should suffice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A great eperience to this mammoth ship. We used our NY pass so we walked right in. To see all the fighter planes and helicopters on the top deck was amazing. The size of this ship is something to behold. Then to be able to walk inside and through the ship, and to see how narrow the passageways are, and how steep the stair ways are was really cool. Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great experience even in the rain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was pouring rain that day so there was an inch of water on deck but you only spend about 15 minutes outside. The tour of the museum and aircraft carrier were interesting but I found the tour of the submarine even better. Because of hurricane Sandy, we had no access to the Space Shuttle and the restaurant was not open, which was disappointing. However well worth the price but you have to spend 4 to 6 hours there if you expect to read everything and see everything. Asian people who did not understand English in the submarine pushed me around to move forward. In their culture, there do not seem to be laws against touching others or pushing others. I was shocked by their caveman style behaviour. They need to learn some manners.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Boys and toys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My hubby dragged me to see this, I wasn't keen but I still enjoyed myself. The submarine tour was quite cool. The biggest disappointment was that the space shuttle was closed. Kids and boys will love this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.