We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
12th Avenue & 46th Street, Pier 86, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
+1 212-245-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$85*
and up
The New York Pass
Ranked #37 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is a nonprofit, educational institution featuring the legendary aircraft carrier Intrepid, the space shuttle Enterprise, the world's fastest jets and a guided missile submarine. Through exhibitions, educational programming and the foremost collection of technologically groundbreaking aircraft and vessels, visitors of all ages and abilities are taken on an interactive journey through history to learn about American innovation and bravery. Welcoming over one million visitors annually, the Museum includes the Space Shuttle Pavilion, home to Enterprise, the world's first space shuttle that paved the way for America's successful Space Shuttle Program. On display are more than two dozen authentically restored aircraft, including the Lockheed A-12 Blackbird, the world's fastest military jet and spy plane, and the British Airways Concorde, the fastest commercial aircraft to ever cross the Atlantic Ocean. The Museum also includes the submarine Growler, the only American diesel-powered strategic missile submarine open to the public; the Exploreum Interactive Hall, a fully interactive exhibit space; an 18,000 sq. ft. education center; and Pier 86, a publicly accessible pier that is part of the Hudson River Park Trust. The mission of the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is to promote the awareness and understanding of history, science and service through its collections, exhibitions and programming in order to honor our heroes, educate the public and inspire our youth.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
england
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable morning at this museum.
The first thing is the size, it is hudge!
We visited the growler (submarine) first as it was quite , had a very imformative introduction from an ex navy sailor. Highly impressed at the restoration work conducted.
Then went aborad the Intrepd.
Lots to see/read etc.
One word of warning - wrap up , the flight deck is very cold on a feb morning!
Again was lucky enough to meet the same tour guide from teh growler and recieved a very good tour of the officers quarters and foc'sle area.
Very impressive static displays, and huge lego model which has to be seen.
Highly recommend visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,353
    757
    175
    34
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great overnight experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

So we had an opportunity to spend the night, "Operation Sleepover" if you will, with our Cub Scouts. First of all, my son said it was the best thing he's ever done. He's 7, so I would expect him to feel that way, and am glad he loved it. I could not rate the experience as "excellent" for a few reasons, that you may or may not care about if you decide to visit. First, the Space Shuttle is off limits due to damage suffered from Hurricane Sandy. Not the museum's fault, but I'd even look at a broken shuttle. They did however give us tickets to come back to see the shuttle anytime we'd like. So that's a giant plus. As for the tour of the flight deck and other areas of the ship, I wish our guide had some more knowledge of the ship including some of the battles, and perhaps even some discussion of where some of the kamikaze crashes occurred, etc. The movie with the history of the ship was great, but as an adult, and one who wishes he paid more attention in History class, I would have loved lots more information. Great for the kids though. Lastly, there is no gift shop! This too was damaged by Sandy, but the museum is losing tons of money by not setting something up to sell Intrepid swag. I saved a few bucks, but would have bought some stuff for sure. Overall, don't miss this one, it's worth seeing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have been to Nyc many times and had never seen the Intrepid museum but im glad i did.
Staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. place was clean and safe for everyone.
Its not just the ship its self there also is a space shuttle, submarine and one of the old British airways concord!-
The space shuttle Enterprise was not currently on display due to damage from Hurricane Sandy :(
Had a excellent time and recommend it as a place to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Big Toys for Boys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to see this whilst in NYC. I wanted to get to see the sheer size of an aircraft carrier, view the wide range of planes and helicopters and also see a space shuttle - unfortunately the shuttle wasn't available during our visit which was a little disappointing but it's still definately worth a visit. I loved standing on the flight deck taking pictures with the NYC skyline in the background - just brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

How often do you get the chance to go on the deck of an aircraft carrier, descend into a submarine, and see the space shuttle and other unique aircraft? This museum is completely worth the price of admission. Unfortunately, the space shuttle exhibit was closed when I went in February (due to damage from Hurricane Sandy), but it only gives me reason to return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.