We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where I will always stay in NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Save Saved
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 452 hotels in New York City
Central PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is where I will always stay in NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Wonderful, quaint hotel on a quiet street right next to Times Square and Theatre District. My family, husband and our four teenagers had two rooms across the hall from each other - one king and the other had two doubles. Beautifully decorated rooms and beds were very comfy. No complaints at all. Colin the manager offered to switch our room to a two bedroom suite because he thought the restaraunt/bar may have been too noisy our first night there - it wasn't so we didn't switch but it was nice to know that the staff was very aware of making the guest comfortable! The breakfast was very nice and the woman who served us each morning - unfortunately I did not get her name - was a very friendly french woman and chatted with all of us as did Colin to find out what our plans were etc. Colin managed to get us reservations for dinner at Becco across the street at the last minute and it was so much fun on our last night. I highly reccommend this place!! Note : there isn't parking on site - you have to park at a garage about 2 blocks away - kind of a hassle.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    95
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
154
238
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

With rain in Cape Cod we decided to go down to New York for a couple of days sight seeing. At late notice we booked at the French Quarters and was truly delighted. Fantastic location just a couple of blocks from Times Square, close to the Empire State building and Central Park - and loads of great restaurants on 46th street making for a great atmosphere. The staff we very helpful, arranging lots of trips for us, and all were very warm and friendly. It was also great to see a General Manager who took the time to come to our table at breakfast and ask if we were enjoying our stay - what a great touch. Having stayed at so many impersonal hotels on business it was wonderful to find such a gem of a hotel right in the heart of the city. I will no doubt use this hotel again on my business travels. Thanks to the "French Quarters" for a wonderful short break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

My husband and I and our two kids (ages 13 and 9) stayed here for two nights. I booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed in Room 203 which had two queen beds and faced 46th street. The location was perfect. Time Square was one block away. Even though we faced the street, the noise was minimal. Ask for a room on the higher floors for less noise. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the shower. Breakfast was included and consisted of hard boiled eggs, pasteries, cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, croissants, apples, bananas, oranges, coffee, teas etc. Our room did not have a balcony so we ate on the common back balcony which was very nice. There was a nice note from the manager greeting us in the room and every morning we were delivered the NY Post and a printout of the weather that day and events taking place in the City.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

The staff was very helpful. The room was not too spacious but comfortable and cute.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the French Quarters August 6 and August 7 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite which was lovely, clean, and spacious (room 502). The balcony was a great treat with gorgeous views. The bed was so comfortable! There were flat screen tvs in the sitting area and in both bedrooms which was nice. The bar next door to the hotel, Bourbon Street, is a lot of fun and the bartenders there are very friendly and good. There is an elevator in the bar that you can take to get to your room which was cool. Bourbon Street does the hotel's room service, which we ordered for lunch. Our burgers and fries were tasty and it was nice eating on our balcony!
As other reviewers have noted, the only thing I would suggest to make this hotel even better is stocking the rooms with some dishes and silverware. There is a kichenette area with a large microwave, 2 burners, a fridge, a sink, a coffee maker, cabinets and drawers. But the only dishes are 2 coffee mugs. It was nice having a fridge to store leftovers, but we ended up tossing them because we didn't have plates and silverware. If we were staying longer, we probably would've purchased paper plates and plastic silverware so that we could've made use of these amenities.
Hotel is in a great location. It is located on restaurant row and is surrounded by bars and restaurants. Great pizza right down the block at Two Boots on 9th Avenue, between 44th and 45th Streets.
We would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

It was the location that attracted us to this hotel and we were blown away with the customer service that we received. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our experience a good one. The location as I said was perfect as it was just a quick walk to Time Square. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My wife and I spent a week's vacation at The French Quarters in June this year , and would highly recommend this little hotel. Friendly , helpful people , excellent location in a leafy block , amazingly just five minutes away from Times Square. Very nice continental breakfast which we had most days on the open-air verandah ( one little niggle : breakfast was exactly the same every day ! ). We appreciated the little kitchenette in our room, where we could make ourselves a cup of tea or coffee whenever we wanted, or have a cold glass of wine before going out in the evening ( and so many good restaurants nearby ) . Great hotel , memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New York City
#23 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#26 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.