We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We visit New York City a couple of times a year, but had never stayed in the Times Square area. We made our decision to stay at the French Quarters hotel based on reviews from this site and other sites. We were not disappointed. Collin (actually, everyone) was extremely helpful and paid a lot of attention to details. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, the daily paper and daily list of happenings. The location was ideal, given the fact that many theaters are within two blocks of the hotel and others, including Radio City Music Hall, are just a short walk away. Being located on Restaurant Row is a definite plus. Our room faced 46th street and even though it was cold, we enjoyed stepping out onto the balcony to watch the snow and passerbys. As others have reported, the rooms are quite nicely appointed with a kitchenette, tv/with dvd player, and clock radio (for ipod). You will have a very restful sleep in the bed. From our room, you could hear street activities, but that is part of being in the city and did not bother us. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    113
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
165
275
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Floridatam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just visited NYC for the New Years Holiday (Dec. 28th thru Jan. 1st). We stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bath suite on the forth floor (#401). We had a 20+ foot balcony overlooking restaurant row, and within sightview of Times Square. The staff was excellant and the location was great. Times Square was 1 1/2 blocks away and subway system 2 blocks. Lots of great restaurants within minute or two walk. The bar located downstair (Bourban Street) was just like prior visits to New Orleans. Great food and drinks, just an elevator away (room key needed to access hotel from bar). Anyway, we plan on visiting again this summer and French Quarters will be our first option.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

The French Quarters Guest Apartments is perfectly located just a couple blocks from Times Square on Restaurant Row. Our suite was beautifully decorated and furnished, the beds and linens were luxurious, and the balcony was lovely. We were warmly welcomed and felt at home from the moment we walked in the door. The service was outstanding and the complimentary breakfast on the mezzanine overlooking the bar and main floor of the restaurant was a delightful and unexpected treat. We discovered and enjoyed tremendously our new favorite restaurant just across the street - Becco. The French Quarters Guest Apartments is our new New York home!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

My kids and I spent 4 nights at the French Quarters Dec. 21st to the 25th. I chose this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor. We were not let down! We were on the third floor facing the street and had a beautiful room. Everything was quiet and we had very peaceful nights. The hotel was brand new from head to toe and immaculately clean. The bathroom and shower was very spacious. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the daily breakfast served downstairs and the daily newspaper and notice of each days interesting facts and interesting things to do. Who can argue with free Internet? It was a huge convenience. The location was perfect for taking off in different directions each day. I also felt very safe. We also enjoyed the fact of so many restaurants within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The manager, Colin, was top notch! Unfortunately I did not try the restaurant or room service to report on that. Really, I can not wait to return!!!:)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston, fl
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

After arriving in NYC with my two older daughters (first time visit for one), we were greeted warmly by Colin at the front desk. Not only was he super accommodating, but the room, hotel and staff not only met our expectations from other reviews and photos of the hotel, but far exceeded them. Cannot wait to get back again. This will definitely be our hotel of choice for every visit!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

I recently stayed here for a quick business trip (two nights) with one other colleague. The place feels like an oasis. While there is no formal lobby, and the entrance is a bit cramped, the rooms more than make up for it. I stayed in a King room overlooking the street. The room was beautiful -- great linens, an amazing shower, a nice plasma television, all well-proportioned. For New York, the space was incredibly generous and the free wireless an extra boost.

I was most impressed by the above-and-beyond attitude of staff. Colin and his team (who are all dreamy it should be noted) made sure we were looked after, including running after my cab to return my cell phone charger.

Despite being on the street, the hotel was quiet and luxurious.

In short, it was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed in December and had an amazing time. The hotel is very clean and the rooms were immaculate. 2 mins walk to Times Square and right on restaurant row. The Manager - Colin and John were fab and very helpful with anything you required. The bar attached to the boutique hotel really gave you a feel of what an american bar was like. We had some great nights in there and the bar staff were very friendly. Couldn't fault anything at all with this hotel. Just perfect and we are very fussy travellers. Thanks to the French Quarters for making our stay memorable. We have already recommended your hotel to several friends. We look forward to staying with you again. P.s Colin - Terry and I enjoyed the restaurant you recommended for us with our friends and thank you very much for offering to buy us a drink as our friends had just got engaged.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#20 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.