We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Birthday get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was a great place to stay, great location, very comfortable and amazingly friendly staff.
highly recommend and the bar will stay open as long as you wish to keep drinking, thank you Billy :)

One recommendation we would give is the rooms need kettles not just a coffee machine. But we have a pan :)

thank you all for make this a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: forth floor 2 bedroom with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    130
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
186
321
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Price was a little above my range but I figure I save taxi rides if the hotel is closer to the theater. So we spent a little more and it was worth it. We loved everything about it. The room was very nice and clean, modern and had a working bathroom. The bed comfortable. Note the room is not to common American proportions so set expectations. It was actually larger than a lot of NY hotels but not the typical Holiday Inn configuration. The location is perfect for walking to theaters, restaurants and times square. We walked everywhere. The breakfast is really continental (no eggs or meat) which is ok as I would rather have decent breads and yogurts than bad eggs like most hotels. The coffee was actually good. There are plenty of restaurants in the area so your entire stay can happen within walking distance. The staff was very nice. I don't think there is a fitness center. I did not use the internet but it is free. Note the person checking in also escorts guests to the room so check in can be a wait. We were ok with this but if you demand instant everything it will annoy. We will return.

Room Tip: I overheard another customer talking about being on the first floor. We were up high so it was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenduine, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

* very clean
* very friendly and professional staff
* Very nice rooms and excellent bath rooms
* bar below is great to relax after a day in the city
* 5 minute walk from Times Square
* Would recommend to family & friends

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just stayed here for a work trip and our whole team was pleased. It's the perfect location for business or pleasure. It's right in the middle of everything but on a quiet street with plenty of restaurants to choose from. The rooms were very comfortable with quaint decor, and felt like a home away from home. The moment I arrived Colin (the general manager) was in the process of writing me a welcome note and knew my name immediately when I checked in. I travel a lot and stay in nice properties for work, and can absolutely recommend this as a perfect stay for NYC!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

There's only one in New York and it's this one. Less than a minute away from all Broadway shows, Times Square and Transportation. Bounded by Eight Ave which shoots up north towards Central Park, Columbus Circle and the upper west side. Also bounded by Ninth Ave which will send you south to Chelsea Meatpackers, West Village and Tribeca. Just awesome! Our second time to this home away from home in Hells Kitchen which has all the restaurants you could dream of. The French Quarters has the best staff and I am going to give away a secret. If you tell them that you are friend on Facebook they will give you a discount. Don't bother with the large hotels and their bed bugs, book here and you'll never forget it. And please don't complain about noise, YOU ARE IN THE BIGGEST CITY IN THE WORLD!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is my go-to when staying in New York for business or pleasure...solo or with family. As other guests have mentioned, the location, cleanliness, decor, breakfast, in-room fridge, coffee and microwave all contribute to a very comfortable visit, and honestly is expected. But from my first visit to my tenth, the staff has gone BEYOND the expected to make my stay truly outstanding. I will always choose The French Quarters.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you are having any doubts, don't. This a great manhattan hotel and this is coming from someone who travels to NYC regularly and has stayed at several different hotels. The location is great. A block and a half from Times Square. That being said, you are not in the middle of the chaos of Time Square which was mandatory for me. We booked one of the two bedroom suites which is perfect for a family. Two rooms, one shared living room with a sofa bed and one bathroom. Here are the pros/cons:

Pros: Location is amazing. A couple of blocks to almost any subway line in the city. Any foodies out there? You will love this place. On restaurant row in Hell's Kitchen. The rooms were very clean which is always the most important thing to me. I mean really, really clean. Very large balcony with a great view of the city. The beds were comfy and the free continental breakfast was good. The room was spacious as far as Manhattan goes. The staff overall was extremely attentive. See more in cons regarding a few issues we had.


Cons: Saturday night we could hear a bit of the noise from the bars. Not the hotel's fault, but something to consider. The rest of the nights we didn't hear much. We had a few other odd issues here and there 1) none of the remote controls worked initially in our room, but as soon as we told the front desk they come up with new ones 2) only one t.v. out of the three had all the cable channels advertised in the list of channels provided by the hotel. We reported this issue, but it was never resolved. 3) we had a strange noise coming from the pipes behind our restroom. This issue was resolved by the front desk and the staff was very apologetic and accommodating. John at the front desk is great!


Overall, our stay was great and we will definitely be back!!! I agonized over the right hotel to book since i was traveling with family and a 5 year old, I made the right choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,080 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#21 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,962 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#18 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.