We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent & lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Lovely stylish rooms, a very substantial continental breakfast & very helpful staff. Lovely New York town house converted into hotel, small & personal. No need to stay in a large over priced chain hotel when you could stay here. Only 2 blocks from time square and 4 blocks from subway to JFK. We stayed in a king room & found it very spacious, included a fridge & coffee/tea/hot choc maker. Also lots of restaurants to choose from on this street. Or if you fancy a sandwich pop to 'Carve Unique Sandwiches' on corner of 47th and 8th Avenue, absoultely delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    107
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
161
269
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am an avid Trip Advisor user and was immediately drawn to this hotel when looking for somewhere to stay in NYC for our 15th anniversary. The reviews were exceptional and the location of the hotel appeared to be perfect. We were not disappointed.
Likes: 1) Location. Perfect! Steps from Times Square and right on Restaurant Row. We had considered staying a little outside of the action and dealing with the "commute". I'm so glad we didn't! Beautiful street, lovely view and unbeatable location!
2) Our room, a King Room, room number 207. Beautiful decor, lots of room, beautiful bathroom. No elevator on our "side" of the hotel which is actually two converted brownstones, one with elevator and one without. This meant we had to go outside and right back into the other brownstone to visit the front desk and elevator to the restaurant mezzanine where breakfast is served daily. No problem in September but in the winter months, it could be more of a nuisance.
3) Extras. Free FAST wifi. Continental breakfast included (rare in NYC) including cereal, bagels, muffins, pastries, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit, delicious coffee and juices.
Room for improvement: we were very happy overall but I am a picky person when it comes to room cleanliness and there were a few small issues. We noticed a clothing tag on the bathroom floor and some grout issues in the shower. Nothing major but for $300+ per night I expected perfection in this department. Daily cleaning was great although I would have loved to see the free Evian replaced each day in the refrigerator.
Noise: a lot of reviews speak to the street noise and being on the second floor, we noticed it. Single pane windows don't keep much out! Luckily we usually sleep with white noise on and were perfectly fine and slept all night without interruption.
Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful but not exceptional. Bourbon Street great! Free newspaper and feature sheet under the door each day was great!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The French Quarters is a lovely small hotel. It is located just near the bustling Times Square on a quiet street. Near the hotel, on the same street, there are several charming small restaurants.

We (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (no. 501) which is located on the 5th floor. The apartment includes a master bedroom with a small walk-in closet, one bedroom with a double bed and a living room. Our two small kids slept in the bedroom and our older kid slept in the living room on a pull out sofa, which was very easy to handle. The room was clean and nicely furnished.

In addition, the apartment included a small kitchen with a microwave, a stove and a coffee maker. The leaving room opens up to a lovely specious balcony with a typical New York view.

The hotel serves continental breakfast with a wide variety of pastry, juices and yogurts in a lovely dining room.

The hotel and booking department staff were kind and accommodating. We even were able to do an early check in without paying an extra charge.

Room Tip: book a 2 bedroom apartment (no. 501)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was our first trip to New York as nearly 50 yr olds and we're SO glad we stayed here!! It was within walking distance of Times Square and too many bars and restaurants to count! Right next door to one of the most popular bars in town! Our room was lovely, the bed so comfortable and clean! We travelled north for a while and came back for our final two nights before flying back to Australia. Lucky to be upgraded to room 401 which was a 2 bed suite with 2 bathrooms complete with private terrace!! The continental breakfast was sufficient and despite the slow lift (there are stairs) I would highly recommend this hotel...a hidden gem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good stay in New York City in this nice little hotel.
Nead and tidy, good service, friendly stuff! We have had a large room with a big (2x2m) bed.
Located 500m from Times Square in a pretty (for New York level), "smalltown"-street. It was interesting to look from a balcony here to the skyscrapers there.

Room Tip: It is realy possible to get a relativly large-sized room with a realy large-sized bed. Rooms, are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed over Easter 2013.
The hotel is fantastically well run and managed. Cleanliness is brilliant. The breakfast is a great way to fill the belies for the day. Staff were always helpful and attentive.
I stayed in a King Room for four nights and couldnt have been happier with it. The bed was one of the most comfortable in a hotel i've ever experienced, and the room was more than big enough.

I would also highly recommend the restaurant Bourbon, either for something to eat, or just somewhere to have some drinks at the end of a days sight seeing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Az
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with family for one week at the end of September. We had three queen rooms. All rooms were New York small but had everything we needed including adequate bathroom and closet space. Beds were super comfortable and all rooms were clean and quiet. The hotel is in a perfect location close to subways, Broadway theaters, Times Square, and a multitude of good and reasonably priced (for NYC) restaurants. Breakfast although simple, was all we needed to start our day. The staff was superb at handling all our needs and concerns. Colin, the manager, is frequently on site, very friendly and runs a smooth ship. If we return to NYC we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#20 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.