We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The French Quarters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Kolkata
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The French Quarters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are a tourist and wish to avail the pleasures Times Square has to offer, look no further. The location of the hotel is simply superb ( within walking distance, but not so close as to be disturbed by the noise). We were in a two bedroom suite (Rm.501) which is arguably the best room in the Hotel. We had no problems what so ever in the five days we were there. The receptionist (particularly John and Kevin) were very helpful. Would love to come back if visiting New York( Manhattan) again. The only thing missing was a gym(or access to one)

Room Tip: If you do not want noise, take a higher room. For a family of 4, Rm 501 will satisfy all requirement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    107
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
161
269
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittston, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My business partners and I have been enjoying the French Quarters for our semi annual business trips for the last 4 years. The hotel is perfectly located in midtown, close to everything. The spacious suite was always well maintained and the staff was always helpful,friendly and cheerful.The street is quiet and quaint even though you are only a couple of blocks from Times Square. There is a wonderful choice of great restaurants just steps from your door. We can't say enough about this gem of a hotel and we would never consider staying anywhere else when we visit the Big Apple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It's in a great location on 'restaurant row'. It's walking distance to times square and broadway. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are very comfortable, especially the beds. The only thing is, it gets very noisy at night, but it's new York so that's to be expected. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

what a cool place, I stayed here for a few days, and I really liked it, staff helped me find peace, priced ok, good location, close to everything, nice area in the hotel is clean and tidy, my room was small but well maintained and cleaned, I like it here, I'll be back someday

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What they do not tell you, is that it is very, very noisy.

This place is smack in the middle of the so-called 'restaurant row' on 46th. The windows are of good 'ole American stock: aluminum and single glass, with plenty of air and sound getting through. The hotel is over a HUGE ' New Orleans' style sportsbar/ restaurant, ( same owner) with a huge mezzanine terrace/ bar in the back.

This terrace has a huge sliding roof, which opens as soon as weather permits. As soon as that roof opens, the entire rear of the building is hammered by loud music and the noises that people make when in bars. But that is only in the rear. If you are in front, especially over the front entrance, you can enjoy the sounds of the front terrace, as well as cigarette smoke from people huddling (-and: smoking) in the entrance.
-
The walls between the rooms are too thin,You can hear your neighbour snore.
-
Sound and temperature insulation are substandard. Don't stay here in high summer or deep winter- because of the din - and because of the cold.
-
Excellent place to stay- IF it is quiet. Good breakfast. Price/ quality: hm.

Room Tip: Flee to the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights during a three week holiday in the states. The hotel is in a great location and we never had a problem with noise. Couple of blocks away from Times Square so you are close enough to everything without being caught up in the madness as soon as you step out the door! Great facilities in the room, clean and comfy and you get a free newspaper and information sheet which tells you what's happening in New York that day, very handy. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely, really set you up for the day. I would stay here again if I was to come back to New York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After two days we got over the fact we paid heaps of dollars to stay here. If only the owner would show some respect and present the apartment with some pride I would rate the stay better. The bed fell apart day one but to his credit within 2 hours had some come and fix it. The main positive is the location and nebour hood is ok and we have felt very safe staying here. Hell's Kitchen and broadway is at your door step.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#15 Family Hotel in New York City
#20 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.