We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, close to times square, broadway, 5th avenue. The downside of being so central s it is noisy, but I think you'd find this in any central hotel. It was made worse for us as our room was facing the street and right by the front door. You could hear a lot of traffic noise and revellers, especially on Friday night. People would sit on the steps outside smoking, so sometimes you could smell smoke in the room. And inconsiderate guests would talk loudly in the corridor outside our room and slam the front door!

The room itself is nicely decorated and has everything you need. Hairdryer, iron, fridge, coffee machine with lots of drink options including hot chocolate and hot apple cider. There is complimentary water and hangover drink in your fridge on arrival. There is even an umbrella, which came in handy during our stay! Our room was long and narrow, but large enough. The tv was hung on a wall where you couldn't watch it unless you stood up. Not a problem as we weren't in NYC to watch tv, but it does make the tv pointless really. The bed and pillows were really comfy!

We didn't make it to breakfast on any morning of our stay :-( it finishes at 9 which was too early for s when you've been exploring the city that never sleeps all day, then had a broken sleep due to noise, and don't want to leave your comfy bed!

The room was really clean, nice bathroom and toiletries, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. This is a really good place to stay in NYC, but perhaps bring earplugs and ask for a room away from the front door/street.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    115
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
166
281
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

As Aussies travelling to New York it can be a little overwhelming - The French Quarter has everything you need to ensure a fabulous trip. Location perfect - two blocks from Times Square, restaurant row at your doorstep and staff that go the extra mile to help with eating, sightseeing, events and generally just really nice people. It has a guesthouse feel with warm and cozy decoration and amazing beds!! We will return for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel, from our initial reception to our farewell, with umbrellas!, for a rainy day in NY. The location of the hotel, the welcome you receive and the hospitality of the staff are excellent! The design and decor of the rooms are perfect, and it gives you the feel of living in a (big) NYC apartment. The breakfast out on veranda was a great way to start the day. This will be my 'go-to' NYC hotel in the future. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience here. The staff was very friendly and personal from the moment we arrived. They were helpful with advice on getting around, subway navigation, etc. The room was truly meticulously clean. Great beds with fluffy pillows and clean white duvets. Bathroom was great and again, super clean. We were on the 3rd floor facing the street and stayed Wednesday through Monday, and noise was never a problem. If you opened the window, you could hear lots of lively activity from the street and local restaurants, but with windows closed, it was plenty quiet. Location was great - close to everything, and easy access to subway. Lots of restaurants on this street but I think even more interesting selections around the corner up and down 9th Avenue. Great breakfast included - cereals, yogurts, fruits, hardboiled eggs, pastries, toast - made it nice to not have to go out for breakfast every day. When we checked out, we were able to keep our luggage securely in a storage area until we left for the airport. The staff also arranged for a driver to pick us up, only $5 more than a cab. Overall a great experience here - felt like a small welcoming place in the middle of the city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were very lucky to be upgraded at these Guest Apartments to a two bedroom suite at the rear on the fifth floor. We found it to be spacious and quiet. The position amongst a row of varied restaurants, theaters and a block and a half to Times Square was a real bonus. Our traveling companions were in a front King room on the third floor. Because of the bar on site (which has a great atmosphere), the late night revelers, plus others on the street leaving restaurants, they found it to be a bit noisy. Hotel Manager John, was very friendly and helpful as were his staff.

Room Tip: A room at the rear is a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The experience at The French Quarters is almost entirely positive. The room was clean, nicely appointed, and had a much larger than to be expected bathroom. The location on restaurant row offers the ease of being right in the middle of the action without it being a total madhouse right in front of the hotel door. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The subway is only about two and a half blocks away for easy access to the west side. Many attractions are within a fifteen to twenty minute walk or subway ride. Most Broadway theaters are only a five minute walk. One item to note is that our standard room was next to the front door so guests returning late at night could be heard. If noise bothers you then it is a good idea to contact the hotel when selecting a room to avoid a couple of locations. Overall we had an excellent stay and highly recommend the hotel. If you book well ahead of time you can also get a pretty reasonable rate for a room of this quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Staff at reception when we arrived couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Our room was at the back of the hotel so was really peaceful considering in Manhattan. Beds and pillows so comfortable, beautifully decorated, good size bathroom with large shower. All spotless. Free newspaper every day with a news letter advising what was going on around the city that day. Continental breakfast included, unusual in NY. So convenient being situated in "restaurant row" and just round the corner from theatres and Times Square. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies - overlooks a road, but not a major one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.