We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 454 Hotels in New York City
victoria, australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We could walk to all the theatres and the choice of food options within walking distance is endless. The subway is close by as well. Staff were friendly and ready with suggestions and hints, and any little problem was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The breakfast was basic. The room was big and beautiful, a nice bonus in New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    100
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
157
251
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was wonderfully surprised by the size, appearance and luxury of this hotel. This was not my first choice when I decided to go to Broadway for Christmas. It was a lovely hotel, blocks away from Broadway theaters and Times Square. Highly recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: Go for double beds as the room is larger for slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent location and very nice decor, spacious room and friendly staff. Unfortunately, inside the hotel, they have a pub that plays loud music until very late and you can not sleep right. Additionally, the windows are not sound proof, so you will not rest properly sleeping in this hotel. The breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at French Quarters, booked into both a two bedroom suite and a double room. We were 7 people, three adults and four children ages 5-10. The value of the hotel is outstanding. We received 5-star accommodations and service for a much lower cost than other similar hotels.
First, the hotel facilities are very good. The lobby is small but everyone was very accommodating for our 10 suitcases at check-in/out. The overall hotel cleanliness is spotless and the decorations tasteful and relaxing. Our rooms were 403 (two bedroom suite) and 303 (double bed). The rooms had comfortable beds, nice chairs and high end toiletries. All of the rooms are shower only. Our room 403 two bedroom suite has a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and sink, but no kitchen wares- no glasses, utensils, crockery, nothing. Just plan for that. Both rooms had Krups coffee machines with coffee pod and made excellent coffee. The suite was plenty of room for 4 of us. Both bedrooms in the suite have doors so the living room can be a separate space- great for when the kids go to bed but the adults stay up to chat. Housekeeping was good and accommodating to our schedule. Note, rooms over the bar/restaurant (joined with the hotel) would experience noise so be sure you ask. I heard the front desk warning someone looking to book a room that the rooms over the bar are loud, so the hotel is honest about the issue.
Second, the service of the hotel is what makes this hotel our favorite in the world. Seriously, the world. I asked for laundry service (super cheap; by the lbs not piece), suit pants to be hemmed, dinner reservations at a moments notice (for 7 people!), advice on attractions- just about everything. Everyone at the desk were very helpful, prompt and friendly. John and Colin went above and beyond the call of duty to make us welcome, even saving us from being ripped off by pedi-cabs. Of the many five star hotels we have stayed in, French Quarter service is the best by far.
Third the location is perfect for easy walks to Times Square, shopping on 5th Ave, and Central Park. Taxi's were easy to hail in front of or near the hotel. The hotel is located on "restaurant row" and there are many types of cuisines and price range eating options. For breakfast, we highly recommend Galaxy Cafe down the street. French Quarter breakfast is continental and we like hot, robust food to start the day. Galaxy service was quick and spirited, and the food good and cheap.Because of the restaurants, there are a lot of people on the street at night. We stayed over a Friday and Saturday, our rooms faced the street and we had no issues with noise.
Overall, I would highly recommend French Quarters. We have traveled far and wide, and this was our favorite stay ever. The service of the hotel is what sets it apart and our thanks to the staff of the French Quarters for such a happy stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place deserves it's Top 10 rating on TA. I'm not exactly a fan of the Times Square area but this hotel is in a very nice spot just far enough away from the crowds. And the advantage of the location is that you can organize tours and sightseeing very easily from this part of town. Besides Times Square you are very close to Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall. The rooms are a good size by new york standards, the bathrooms are above average and so is service at the front desk. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and served in the very nicely decorated Bourbon Street restaurant that is attached to the hotel. The lobby is tiny but it doesn't matter. My only complaint would be that the elevator is slow. If you get a chance, try Junior's restaurant on 45th betw. 7th and 8th. I will be returning to this property.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to get the best deal on a room.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The French Quarter has to be one of the best places to stay in New York. Location is great, so close to everything. It's like staying in your own apartment. The staff is great and very friendly. The room is spotless and really beautiful. The breakfast is a nice touch too. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The French Quarters has so much going for it. The location is excellent and the staff are - as described by other reviewers - really helpful. In a place like New York, you certainly cannot take good hotel customer service for granted. However, the manager and his staff at French Quarters could not be more welcoming. When I expressed concern about the size of my room the manager and receptionist moved us, for a relatively small additional charge, to a super room. Other positives include free wifi and a reasonably priced room service menu. The standard of room fittings, especially in the bathrooms, is excellent and the beds are very comfortable.

There is though a danger that the French Quarters' success could end up being its downfall. The prices charged are high, particularly for the size of room offered. I could have stayed in a far higher standard of hotel for what I paid for my stay in the French Quarters.

Finally, the breakfasts are - at best - average. The basics were just not addressed. For example, some of the cups and cutlery were, on two days running, dirty. The fruit, still in the supermarket wrappings, was well past its best. All very puzzling when there are some excellent bakers nearby. For example Amy's Bread just around the corner on Ninth Avenue is fantastic. The French Quarters needs to decide whether it is a boutique or budget hotel. It charges prices of the former but its breakfasts would be served at the latter.

In summary an extremely good hotel that I can thoroughly recommend. However, do your research first and do not overpay.

Room Tip: Whilst the rooms are billed as apartments some are not much bigger than the average hotel room. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.