We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extremely good hotel but .....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“An extremely good hotel but .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The French Quarters has so much going for it. The location is excellent and the staff are - as described by other reviewers - really helpful. In a place like New York, you certainly cannot take good hotel customer service for granted. However, the manager and his staff at French Quarters could not be more welcoming. When I expressed concern about the size of my room the manager and receptionist moved us, for a relatively small additional charge, to a super room. Other positives include free wifi and a reasonably priced room service menu. The standard of room fittings, especially in the bathrooms, is excellent and the beds are very comfortable.

There is though a danger that the French Quarters' success could end up being its downfall. The prices charged are high, particularly for the size of room offered. I could have stayed in a far higher standard of hotel for what I paid for my stay in the French Quarters.

Finally, the breakfasts are - at best - average. The basics were just not addressed. For example, some of the cups and cutlery were, on two days running, dirty. The fruit, still in the supermarket wrappings, was well past its best. All very puzzling when there are some excellent bakers nearby. For example Amy's Bread just around the corner on Ninth Avenue is fantastic. The French Quarters needs to decide whether it is a boutique or budget hotel. It charges prices of the former but its breakfasts would be served at the latter.

In summary an extremely good hotel that I can thoroughly recommend. However, do your research first and do not overpay.

Room Tip: Whilst the rooms are billed as apartments some are not much bigger than the average hotel room. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    100
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
157
251
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

French quarters is gorgeous. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, which was beautiful. Great location with plenty of restaurants and bars, walking distance to Times Square and Broadway. Very adequate breakfast, which you could take to your room if you wanted. Definitely recommend French Quarters. The other great thing - you didn't have to have your hand in your pocket handing out tips for service you don't receive, which I see as one of the greatest disappointments for New York City. Hospitality staff in exclusive hotels are extremely rude and don't deserve my hard earned dollar for a tip. After staying here I would never stay in a hotel in NYC again. We have been to New York a number of times and the attitude of the service industry people never ceases to amaze us. French Quarters gets 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Rooms were clean and very tastefully appointed. (I felt like I was staying in someone's home. Really nice... ) My wife is a clean freak and it passed her test easliy. Staff friendly and helpful. The location is exactly what I needed. I would definitely stay here next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The appartments are well placed close to transport and times square, broadway or down town. the building is in good condition. Good room,everything worked,tv,fridge,lift,air con,coffee machine,great bath room and clean. The bed was ultra good!! pleasent decor. Good value for manhattan, only one point when i first arrived the first thing was i want your credit card, a welcome and a few kind words to a customer is proper service not "lets have your money"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our 4th trip to NYC and I loved this place. Beautiful rooms, great location, very professional and knowledgeable staff. Collin the manager is very friendly and helpful when choosing restaurants and shows as well. Would stay here again! Customer service at its best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We've stayed there twice, and you can't be the staff, the rooms, and the location! Colin and his staff are wonderful, the rooms as clean and the location can't be beat. Great restaurants, theaters, shopping, and a 10 minute walk to most midtown attractions. Can't wait to go back again and visit our friends at the French Quarters next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a gem of a little hotel. My friends and I have stayed here twice now, and we love it. We have had a King room, 3 double-double rooms, and a two bedroom suite (room 401, with a big King bedroom, a smaller double bedroom, a living room with pull out couch, and long thin terrace along the length). They were all great. The rooms are as they appear in the photos: lovely decoration, clean and luxurious bathrooms, nice kitchenettes, lots of drawer and closet space. Kitchenettes have those single serving coffee/tea makers; the one in the suite had a microwave.

We love that there is an elevator that goes straight down to the restaurant, and the terrific and lively bar there. It's a nice place to rendezvous if you are with a group. Breakfast of pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea, and juice is served in part of the same restaurant. The first time we came we never met Colin, but staff were very nice. The second time, Colin was there and I really think his presence adds to the excellence of this place.

We were scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, right in the middle of hurricane Sandy. They rescheduled us at no fee, helped with communication while phones were down, and were just so helpful in general--- right in the midst of what must have been going on in their own lives.

The location is great for a tourist. Less that 2 blocks from Times Square, but you would never know it. This block is all leafy green, brownstones, and restaurants. Eat at Becco; it was fantastic. Also, breakfast at "44 and a half" on 8th ave for breakfast.

Room Tip: Some people don't like being on street side due to noise, but we have not had problems on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#23 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.