We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Save Saved
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 447 hotels in New York City
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Rooms were clean and very tastefully appointed. (I felt like I was staying in someone's home. Really nice... ) My wife is a clean freak and it passed her test easliy. Staff friendly and helpful. The location is exactly what I needed. I would definitely stay here next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    82
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
147
218
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The appartments are well placed close to transport and times square, broadway or down town. the building is in good condition. Good room,everything worked,tv,fridge,lift,air con,coffee machine,great bath room and clean. The bed was ultra good!! pleasent decor. Good value for manhattan, only one point when i first arrived the first thing was i want your credit card, a welcome and a few kind words to a customer is proper service not "lets have your money"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our 4th trip to NYC and I loved this place. Beautiful rooms, great location, very professional and knowledgeable staff. Collin the manager is very friendly and helpful when choosing restaurants and shows as well. Would stay here again! Customer service at its best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We've stayed there twice, and you can't be the staff, the rooms, and the location! Colin and his staff are wonderful, the rooms as clean and the location can't be beat. Great restaurants, theaters, shopping, and a 10 minute walk to most midtown attractions. Can't wait to go back again and visit our friends at the French Quarters next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a gem of a little hotel. My friends and I have stayed here twice now, and we love it. We have had a King room, 3 double-double rooms, and a two bedroom suite (room 401, with a big King bedroom, a smaller double bedroom, a living room with pull out couch, and long thin terrace along the length). They were all great. The rooms are as they appear in the photos: lovely decoration, clean and luxurious bathrooms, nice kitchenettes, lots of drawer and closet space. Kitchenettes have those single serving coffee/tea makers; the one in the suite had a microwave.

We love that there is an elevator that goes straight down to the restaurant, and the terrific and lively bar there. It's a nice place to rendezvous if you are with a group. Breakfast of pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea, and juice is served in part of the same restaurant. The first time we came we never met Colin, but staff were very nice. The second time, Colin was there and I really think his presence adds to the excellence of this place.

We were scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, right in the middle of hurricane Sandy. They rescheduled us at no fee, helped with communication while phones were down, and were just so helpful in general--- right in the midst of what must have been going on in their own lives.

The location is great for a tourist. Less that 2 blocks from Times Square, but you would never know it. This block is all leafy green, brownstones, and restaurants. Eat at Becco; it was fantastic. Also, breakfast at "44 and a half" on 8th ave for breakfast.

Room Tip: Some people don't like being on street side due to noise, but we have not had problems on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently had a 3-night stay at this property, while attending a conference at a hotel near Times Square. I arrived after a 15-hour flight, a 90 minute line-up at US Customs at JFK and a 90-minute car ride into Manhattan...and I could not have been greater by anyone more pleasant than Stephanie - who immediately announced "upgrade!" (to Room 207 next door) and then helped me schlep my luggage up to the room.

What a lovely room it was - so cozy (but not small) with pretty French Provincial furnishings and a wonderful bed to rest my weary bones. This would be an ideal room for a couples "get away" with a large (enough for 2) shower filled with L'Occitane products...my favorite!

The next morning, breakfast was top notch and the desk man (Irish chap) helped me to arrange a car to return me to JFK.

New York hotels are over priced, but I consider The French Quarters terrific value for the money. It is in a nice area (restaurant row, not far from the theatre district) and an easy walk to many mid-town Manhattan destinations.

I will be recommending this spot over and over again - and I can proudly tell people when they ask, "How did you discover it?" - on TripAdvisor, of course!

Room Tip: Although on the front side of the building, which was a bit noisy at times, Room 207 is really beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence ri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked this charming hotel through Booking.com. When we arrived, it was early, so Colin, the wonderful consierge, offered to take our bags, and call us when our room was ready. He was friendly, funny, and informative. We enjoyed an afternoon in the city then went back to the hotel to change for dinner. We asked Colin to make a recommendation and he did, and we were pleased. Our room was located over the lounge and their advertisement warned us that it could be noisy into the wee hours, so I asked for another room. Alas, there were none in our price range, so we accepted our room (#101). It IS a small room (we didn't mind) - enough square footage for a queen bed, small desk and mini-kichenette. We were pleased to have a Keurig for our morning coffee. The bathroom was a good size with a sizable shower -great soap and shampoo! After dinner, we retired to our room and prepared to tolerate the music from the lounge...we heard NOTHING! Not even a bass beat. So both myself and my partner enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep. Next morning, we slept in, skipped the hotel breakfast and then checked out at 11AM, checking our bags again with the desk. Had a great day in NYC and after 8pm, retrieved our bags to head to to Grand Central. This was a wonderful experience in the city. This hotel is on Restaurant Row on 46th street between 8th and 9th Aves. Easy-peasy location, you can get to Times Square in under 5 minutes, and should explore the wonders of 9th Ave. If you are new to NYC and stay here, try to not get caught up in Times Square. The neighborhoods are so much more fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back for quiet and square footage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#22 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.