We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms - Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The French Quarters Guest Apartments to your Saves list
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Amarillo, TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms - Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We loved this quaint hotel that felt just like we were in NOLA. I loved having a mini fridge and a Keurig right in our own little mini-kitchen! Breakfast was nothing special (except for the GREAT coffee) - but to have it included was a bonus for NYC. The bathroom was AMAZING! My only complaint was the temperature in the room made it hard to sleep. We stayed in March and it was so hot we had to open the window just to cool off a little. The staff said our AC was on - but it was sweltering in our room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    97
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
156
246
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Where to begin? Here's a list of why I love this hotel.
1. Hospitality. The French Quarter makes you feel like a long lost family member. Some of the best service around. When we arrived early in the morning, the sweet front desk woman, Stephanie, kindly stored our bags because our room was not ready. She told us she would call when the room became accessible. About 30 minutes or so later, we went down to see if the room was ready. We were greeted by the hilarious and hospitable manager, Colin. He was great.
2. Rooms. We received news that we were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite with a gorgeous balcony. Even if we were only staying for one night, it was the perfect place. Very clean, spacious, great bathrooms, three televisions, and mini kitchen.
3. THE LOCATION. My gosh, this place is in the perfect location. Steps away from Times Square, And situated right on resturaunt row. It's in a busy part of town, but the street is very quiet. It's perfect.

This hotel is absolutely grand. It deserves it's place in the top ten hotels in New York for sure. We are so happy we stayed there, and will be most definitely excited to return.

Room Tip: The suites are well worth it. The views and balconies are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

what a great find i will come back here time and time again. Fantastic value,I had the family with me and you cant beat the location, very close to Times Square and the Theater district which was perfect for a short weekend trip to NYC. really liked the personal service. I loved the bar too. i will definitely be back, and would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Colin and his staff were amazing while I stayed at the French Quarter during Fleet Week. I look forward to going back when the opportunity presents itself! A great bar and restaurant as well. Perfect Location and character in New York City, an absolute must when it comes to visiting NYC!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My friend and I just returned from a perfect week end in New York .

I had wanted to stay at The French Quarters on previous trips, but they were booked. This particular week end I was fortunate enough to get a room. I had called them several times, with questions prior to the visit, because I had recently had an illness and had some problems with walking. They made every effort to make the experience as easy as possible and patiently answered all my questions. I must admit I would probably be considered a bit compulsive about details. I own a business that requires meticulous attention to detail and I expect that same attention to detail when I travel.

From check in to check out, the entire staff was exceptional in every way... warm and gracious.

Our room was a little small but that is to be expected in New York City. Every detail was done in good taste. It was beautifully decorated with toille fabric ( as in the pictures) with an elegant feel. The bathroom was pristine and had a lovely glass walk in shower with a built in bench. The shower had recessed lights that gave the room perfect illumination at night. Certainly also had bright lighting, when needed for make up and hair, etc.

The rooms are a little pricy, but worth every cent.

The continental breakfast staff was very helpful, to the extent of offering to help in anyway we needed. Michael, Cian (sp?) and others were gracious enough to offer me coffee a little before officially opened as I had an early morning appointment and they were aware of my walking problem. The breafast was more than enough and had plentiful and healthy choices to please anyone. Coffee, juices, muffins, croissants, cereals, eggs, yogurts, fruit.

The staff made me feel pampered and cared for. I have stayed at many upscale five star and smaller luxury boutique hotels over the years. Most offer exceptional service and luxurious rooms, but my stay at French Quarters surpassed any of the hotels, large or small, that I have visited, anywhere in the world. It was like staying as a guest in a dear friend's home...a dear friend with a dream staff and a dream apartment for her guest.

I would like to thank each and every staff person for their sincere hospitality. Thank you Colin, the General Manager, John , Stephanie and Tori. I appeciate all you did to make it an exceptional week end. If I forgot any names, I aplogize because this is a thank you to each and everyone of you. Thank you.

You will love your stay if you are fortunate enough to get a reservation. From what I have seen they will try their best to accomodate you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Decided to take a chance on a Bloomspot offer for three nights at thie 'boutique' Times Square hotel, though the offer turned out not to be that much better than booking directly. The property itself is definitely different from most Times Square or mid town hotels, with a small one person reception desk at the end of a narrow lobby and tow adjacent buildings with the rooms. The building my room was in required one steep flight of exterior stairs and another narrow curvy flight of internal stairs. Quaint like a an old New Orleans apt but not at all accessible. The room was a decent size for NYC with an exposed brick wall and fireplace facade. The lighting was a problem with the only choice between very bright recessed overhead lights or a very dim desk lamp. No desk area for working but the bathroom was a good size shower.

Room Tip: Internal rooms overlook other roofs and chutes but a re probably quieter. Not sure if any of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Got together with several family members for a milestone birthday celebration in the city. Used the French Quarters as our base of operation, could not have been more pleased. The hotel is strategically located which allowed us to walk to many tourist attractions. The accommodations had all amenities needed. The bed is SOOO comfortable. Staff, headed by manager, Colin, were extremely helpful. Continental breakfast was more than generally thought of. We will definitely stay here again on future NYC trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#15 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Quarters Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.