We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radio City Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Radio City Apartments to your Saves list
Radio City Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   142 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. We were on the top floor and the price, room and view were guite good. The location can't be beat if you want to stay in the Times Square / Rockefeller Center area. We'll definitely be back. The only quibble we had was with too many early morning "friendly" reminders of the 11AM check-out time. No big deal, though. I guess we should'nt have stayed out so late!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    676
    145
    47
    29
See reviews for
525
411
52
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2005

As a party of 5 we booked a studio and 1 bed apartment. Our studio was on the 2nd floor and had only been finished the day before therefore everything was new! It was compact but you really couldn't ask for anything more. The 1 bed apartment - WOW! Excellent facilities - 1 big double bedroom, very large living area with a sofa bed, dining area and kitchen. We had a take out one evening as we were too shattered to eat out and having the kitchen faciltiies and proper dining table made a big difference.

I would highly recommend these apartments to anyone looking to be close to Times Square (still managed to sleep well though, not too much noise). You are only a 10 minute walk from Central Park, tour buses leave from just around the corner and Mitzy's Deli serve the best cheesecake I have ever tasted!!!

We booked via a Travel Agent this time but would definitely go direct next time. All the guys on Reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2005

The lifts are fine, Folks. One has been upgraded and the other is fixed just waiting for the obligatory New York safety certificate.
My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous one week stay in New York and the Radio City Apartments largely contributed to our enjoyment.
They are possibly in the best location in New York. If you like shows, I estimate that there are about 40 theatres in less than 10-15 mins walk of this location. the staff were extremely courteous and helpful on all counts, the apartments themselves were spacious and comfortable and they were cleaned every day to the last detail.
We had friends come down and join us from Boston and they were also delighted. We are both making arrangements to meet up again in the near future and Radio City Apartments will be our first choice.
48th street has a great deli for breakfast, I think it is called the Farm Cafe..check it out.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

Our stay at Radio City Apartments was great. The 1 bedroom apartment was clean and by far the best deal for the money. Yes the elevators are slow and very small so press the up button and get on before it goes to the top floor as the elevator will always go to the highest floor where the button was pressed first then stop at every floor on the way down, full or not. Our first few days we really waited for 3 round trips before getting on as we just can't do that many stairs but the time factor was a small price to pay. The staff was great and very helpful. They called a private taxi for us to return to the airport which was a better deal because you don't have to pay for sitting in the A.M. traffic. You are just steps away from everything great that New York has to offer those special tourist attractions Broadway shows, NBC-CBS-FOX-ABC-MTV and Times Square.. Shopping, food, and groceries are around the block or just a few blocks away. For a great pizza go to Ray's just down the block. It's pizza the way you think a NYC pizza should be and they deliver to RC for free.
Close to Times Square you can buy 1/2 price tickets to all the great on and off Broadway shows on the day of the show (Fridays and Saturdays have fewer shows available) but plan to wait in a long line but then why not see 2 shows for the price of 1. Restaurant Row caters to show go'ers and has a fixed price menu with great selections for before the Broadway show dinners with every thing included for that great special meal app, entree, desert, drink tax and tip(except the booze). for $18-$30+. We had 3 dinners there and all of them were great. We plan to book at Radio City again on our next trip to the Big Apple and have recommended it to all our friends (<:)

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2005

We had a most fantastic stay our suite was spacious and clean. I think it had been recently decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had read about the slow lifts on this web site. They are now being upgraded. The hotel had listened to the complaints and are doing something about it. We didn't find it noisy considering where we were. When we checked out we asked if we could leave our luggage until later.They chained our luggage up and gave us a luggage claim ticket. Never had that before. Our teenage children were most impressed. Much better than anywhere I have stayed before in a city.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

Stayed here with 3 girlfriends 25th to 29th March. We booked two studio apartments to avoid squabbles over shower time in the morning. Having read previous reviews I was very anxious. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and spacious studio was. Staff very helpful and friendly, lift was slow reaching 9th floor but we had anticipated that and most days strolled down the stairs. Location is superb it really makes this hotel. Only minutes to most attractions. New York is heaven on earth and we so enjoyed all the shopping. For you girls who liked to be pampered go to Sephora on 34th Street and book yourself a free makeover. You get treated like a queen and they do not pressurise you to buy anything. Enjoy Radio City and enjoy New York can't wait to return and will stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2005

We had a group of five that stayed in a two-bedroom suite from March 11-15. We found it to be roomy (for NYC), clean and a bargain for $235 a night. The location is within minutes of Times Square, Broadway, extremely close to the subway, and safe.

Two of us stayed for a few more days at the hotel. Since we had to check out by 11 a.m., they were very accomodating to the two that stayed allowing them to check in as we checked out. They were given one of the penthouse suites which was spacious.

The only improvement it needs is fixing the slow elevators, which didn't really affect us much because we ended up taking the stairs to and from the 3rd floor.

All in all we were very pleased with the stay and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radio City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radio City Apartments

Address: 142 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radio City Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radio City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radio City Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radio City Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.