We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radio City Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radio City Apartments to your Saves list
Radio City Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   142 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The old adage of price, quality or location: pick 2 of 3, holds in spades for this place. The hotel is reasonably priced for New York, and very close to Times Square. So as other viewers have indicated, look at this place as a base to sleep, but not as a destination in itself. The rooms are clean, if very dated, and you feel quite safe, with helpful front desk staff. We booked in primarily for the self catering option, but there were so many good gluten free choices now in New York, we didn't use them; however, if it's important to you, I would return to the Affinia chain (which were all full this visit). In short, it is what it is, and while I would probably stay elsewhere next time, it's a perfectly viable choice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    640
    129
    46
    29
See reviews for
483
392
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Just left this morning. We had room 501. Good spot. Nice and quiet. The beds have vastly improved since four or five years ago. We looked out on a parking lot but we could see the sky. My daughter and her husband had 503. Theirs faced the street. Said they heard noise but never kept them up. I don't remember hardly any noise from our room. We bought had the efficiency rooms. Ours looked better because of the way it was laid out. Only one window that you could see out but the bathroom one was one of those clouded windows so it brought light into the room.

The reason I didn't give it a five star is because they said you have the use of the washer and dryer. Well one person told us we could use it between nine pm and nine am and the other between seven am and seven pm. We tried for two days and there was only one working washer for the guests and it was always in use. We gave up.

They did let us stay two hours later than our checkout.

Water temp in the showers were fine and so was the window air conditioner.

The guys at the desk were always very helpful.

We would come back.

Room Tip: Like others have said stay away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel/mini apartment has everything required for a great stay in New York. It is right on times square and in the middle of everything. The room has a kitchen with all the pots and other items required to cook any meal. There is a supermarket ( The Food Emporium) just a few minutes walk and it has everything one may need. I would not hesitate to go back , or recommend to a friend or family. All hotels in New York are expensive but this one can give a better value for your dollar.

Regards,

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking times square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here with our 4 kids in May in a 2 bedroom apartment. We had a fantastic time. The hotel was immaculate. Staff friendly. Location great! Transport, food and touristy stuff all close by. We had a miserable day of rain and were thrilled to find the hotel had umbrellas for us to use for the day.

A great restaurant downstairs and Happy Hour at the bar which was great too!

It was fantastic to find a hotel that comfortably accommodated the 6 of us, and after a few other hotel stays, it was great to have a kitchen and dining area as well! And in New York at that!

Would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed at the Radio City Apartments for a long theatre weekend. The hotel is a block from Times Square and a half block from Broadway. The rooms consists of a separate living room (ours had a sofa that folded out into a queen-size bed, and a comfy chair, as well as table with four chairs) Both living area and bedroom have large screen TVs. Kitchen had full stove, microwave and small refrigerator. Property is well-maintained and spotless. Rooms are huge by New York standards. There is no restaurant on the property, but there are several restaurants and a deli on the same block. A subway station, 49th Street, is at the end of the block, and the 50th Street station is only two blocks away (closest subway stop if you want to come direct from Penn Station). Cabs were plentiful on 49th, no need to go up the half block to Broadway as the front desk suggested. Bathroom was small, but very well appointed. One thing I appreciated about the tub w/shower was there was a "shelf" on the window sill and another under the shower head for shampoo and soap. The towels were large, thick and plentiful. We called housekeeping for more, and they responded within minutes, even at night. There are two small elevators; the lobby area in front of the elevators is small and can get very congested at peak times. Only issue was if one of the adjacent rooms cooked, you smelled whatever they were having for dinner--one night there was a very strong fish smell in our room. We did have a problem with the refrigerator in our room--the door did not seal tightly, and we would come back in the evening to find the door had been open all day. We had written confirmation of a room with two queen beds, and were told at check-in there were no rooms like that available. However, the front desk clerk arranged for us to have a rollaway and have the pull-out sofa outfitted, which was done as soon as we arrived at the room. Despite that hiccup, we were very pleased with our experience and will definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room either on a higher floor--there are 12 plus penthouse--or a room in the "middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Radio City Aparments for 3 nights at the beginning of June 2014 and could not have asked for a better place to stay at a really good price. The room consisted of a separate bedroom with two double beds, a full bathroom and a kitchen/living room with a pull out couch and a table with four chairs. The kitchen had all the amenities, a small stove, a fridge with a small freezer and a microwave. We had plenty of extra towels and bed linens and housekeeping did a wonderful job every day. The location is outstanding, just a few steps from a subway and a couple of blocks from Time Square and the Rockefeller Tower. There are restaurants and attractions all around but you couldn't hear the noise from inside the room. The staff were helpful and allowed us to store our luggage before check in and after check out to maximize our time in NY. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone taking a NY city break, it is ideal!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our first trip to New York City and we chose a great spot to stay. There were subway stations at the end of the block, it was a 3 minute walk to Times Square, close to our Broadway theatre, easy stroll to Rockerfellar, 5th Ave shops, plenty of restaurants close by.

We were a party of 5 (3 adults, 2 children) and stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. One room with 2 double beds and 1 room with a queen bed. There was a small lounge room with a sofa, small dining table and small kitchenette (incl oven/stove, fridge & microwave). This was convenient as we were able to buy some breakfast items from the shop up the road and eat breakfast in each morning as all cutlery and crockery were supplied. There was also a tv in every room.

The bathroom was quite small but I gather this is the norm in NYC. It wasn't a problem though.

The hotel restaurant & bar next door was very nice. It had a happy hour every afternoon which we made the most of. Granny and the kids had a take-away pizza from the restaurant for dinner one night which they enjoyed. We ate here one night (it is an Italian restaurant) and the food was very nice. They even sell a fantastic bottle of Australian red wine that we have at home which made our night!

Our stay here was very enjoyable and if we are ever fortunate enough to return to New York we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radio City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radio City Apartments

Address: 142 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radio City Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radio City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radio City Apartments Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radio City Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.