We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #210 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Crail, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First plus point about this hotel is the ease of getting there by rail then subway from JFK airport. $10 rail tickets must be the least expensive and possibly quickest transfer taking you to the bus station then a short walk to the hotel. Check in and out quick, friendly and trouble free. Helpful desk staff managed to rescue a cell phone left in the room after we had checked out and there is a secure room to leave luggage if, like us, you have a late afternoon flight home.
Time Square, The Empire State Building and Broadway theatres are all within easy walking distance and there is a wide choice of restaurants nearby.
Breakfast was adequate with a selection of cereals, bread and muffins to chose from. I can't comment on the "scrambled eggs" which resembled a yellow pancake, didn't look very appealing. We were generally quite early for breakfast and didn't experience any queues.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    457
    138
    28
    23
See reviews for
317
291
55
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed SEVEN nights here and would go back. We asked for a high floor with a view of the Empire State Building. I read that this usually puts you high enough that you don't get street noise, which we didn't. Room was very quiet, faced south, and had a glimpse of the Empire St Bldg. Many reviews say Breakfast is slow - this is only true if you show up around 8:30am or later. We never had to wait between 7am and 8:30am. There are no waffles here. Hot and cold cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, coffee, tea, fruit, hot eggs, eggos to toast etc.

There are THREE elevators all of which can get bogged down and slow. Most of the time we didn't have to wait long. However after 9pm on Friday and Saturdays , one elevator is dedicated to the bar on the top floor which really slows things down a bit. We never went to the bar.

There is a "business center" consisting of two computers and printers located by the busy breakfast area. Better than nothing.

So the room: We had a king bed which was comfortable. The room wasn't much bigger than the bed but offered plenty of room for our luggage, a large closet (put your empty suitcases on top of the closet), desk, TV table, flat panel TV and a smallish bathroom. Yes, there was no counter in the bathroom but we just put our stuff on the desk the TV was on just outside the room. The room was clean. The sheets were changed often and it smelled just fine.

We NEVER heard anyone in the hall or next door. Ever. And no street noise on the 23rd floor.

This hotel is close to everything. One long block to Times Square. A few short blocks to 42 street, theatres and restaurants. Metro is the end of the street. $10 cab ride from/to Penn Station.

Wifi - gets slow at times but we often used the Starwood / Sheraton wifi next door if the Fairfield wifi cut out and that worked great.

We would stay here again.

But it wasn't cheap. Even with friends and family rate we paid $230 a night.

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms per floor, ask for a corner away from the elevators. Higher floor avoids street noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time staying at a Fairfield Inn & Suites. Usually stay at the Courtyard Marriott. However, no rooms were available in NYC for my vacation dates so chose the excellent Senior rate at this Fairfield Inn.

Check-in was smooth. Got 2 rooms total because we had 5 in my family group. Our room was clean & comfortable. The only gripes I have were that we quickly filled up the standard sized trash can in the bedroom area each day. Maybe offering more trash receptacles would help. The bathroom while functional was small but nicely finished.

Having to go all the way down to the basement (we were on the 17th & 26th floors) to get ice was not so great but I understand the tight hallways of this hotel did not allow for ice machines on floors apparently.

I tried using the free internet on one of the 3 computers in the lobby. Not having any chairs for each computer & having to stand up while conducting my banking business on the computer with a steady stream of breakfast guests coming in to eat was not my idea of privacy while using the computer. I know space is at a premium, but this was not a good set-up. Everyone could look on the computer screen to see my business since I was right in the midst of the breakfast rush!

Our toilet in our bathroom seemed to not flush that forcefully and sure enough it clogged up & overflowed one day. The building engineer had to mop up the floor & use the plunger...not a great experience. Perhaps invest in more powerfully flushing toilets...this one barely flushed when the handle was pressed...sometimes we had to flush more than once!

Handles on the dressers & nightstands were confusing & poorly designed. You had to lift & grab the little metal tabs to open the drawers...not a good design & not user-friendly!

We had a great city view from our room and loved seeing all the high rises! Would definitely opt for a room on a high floor again.

Enjoyed some of the offerings from the continental breakfast each day. My 9 1/2 year old grandson ate the Frosted Flakes each day in a little bowl with the little carton of milk I brought him. He enjoyed doing this ritual each day! I enjoyed the yogurt, granola & fruit cups. The complimentary bottles of water in the room each day were wonderful!

This property definitely could use additional elevators and/or larger elevators. Several times we had to wait in line to get into one of the 3 small elevators to get to our rooms. There seemed to be no service elevators as staff were in the small elevators with maintenance equipment and housekeeping carts on a few occasions thereby not allowing paying guests entry as there was no room so we all had to wait for another elevator. Large crowds formed in the lobby several times...and the resulting lengthy waits and long lines for the elevators was not a good thing. I noticed this problem on all 3 days of my stay.

Room Tip: high floor with city views is amazing!
See more room tips
Green Features: only replace towels when placed on the floor or other area & not hung up on bar in bathroom
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stay at Marriott's across North America and this is, by far, the most exceptional Fairfield Inn. Location is fantastic near Times Square and the staff are the most friendly of any of the hotels we stay at.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Your fantastic review of the hotel was most appreciated. The staff truly do go above and beyond when it comes to our guests and it truly comes from the heart. Please come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed multiple times in numerous areas of NYC and found this location adequate but not in my top 5 choices of an area to stay. Part of the problem is the entire street across from hotel is the Bus Terminal, so there is nothing happening, just concrete wall, no shops, no restaurants.

The other issue is i think this hotel is a little to far west for most people that might want to walk to things other than times square. I believe some of the hotel choices closer to 5th Ave arre a better midtown location.

As far as hotel itself - no issue. Staff was VERY nice, pleasant. Rooms were standard size, clean and fine. I did not experience any long elevator waits, but they do take one out of service for the most part at night for the rooftop bar - which i never got to unfortunately.

One review commented that the health club was unusually large and i disagree. pretty standard fair.

I guess if you need to be west of midtown this is a good choice..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments. I was glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us. I would like to point out, however, the biggest kept secret. Inside the Port Authority Terminal are about 80 beautiful stores and there is a side entrance right in front of our hotel that gives access to the terminal. Some of the stores include Starbucks, Radio Shack, Duane Reade Pharmacy (open 24 hours a day) and many others. There are also delis and restaurants in the terminal. We are only a block away from the subway station and within a very short walking distance to the restaurants and shops.
Hope to be able to greet you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel gets maximum points for location. Its a little pricey but what do you expect when you are close to all the action. And near the bus station and subway.

Friendly staff helped me a few times on the best way to get around ( cab, subway , bus etc) or where to go.

Rooms were small but clean and well equipped.

Breakfast was included and was very crowded at times. But good selection of things.

Plan ahead re the elevators as they take a long time to arrive.

Room Tip: High floor is good. but the elevator wait can be long
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Our location is truly the best. We are close to all the best restaurants, great shopping and only about a block aways from the subway.
Thank you for your commnents and hope to be able to greet you back once again at our hotel in the very near future.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent one night at this hotel but it was a good experience. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was typical New York small so don't expect a large room, but it was well appointed and clean. Valet parking is the only option so if you drive expect to pay $45 a day to park your car. The hotel is a very short walk to Times Square, theater district, and many other places of interest. The only disappointment was that we paid extra for a "city view" room and the view was very unremarkable. Just some buildings and we were up high enough that we could see the tops of a couple of water towers. If you get right up to the window and crane your next you can see a few floors and the top of the Empire State Building. Definitely not worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments. The only reason that we post valet parking is because traditional self parking would cost about $5 less, but you would have to walk about two blocks to get back to our hotel. We had three parking garages on our block and they have all closed to give place to newer hotels.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square

Address: 330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 244 guest rooms include Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours and in room and Complimentary High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, Theatre District and transportation that will take you anywhere throughout New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.