We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #209 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I shudder to think what the rooms would have cost if we hadn't used points to book them, but this is a very comfortable and well run place in a great location. The second floor lounge is a great place to relax in between adventures and grab a quick drink. The bar is limited and so are the food choices, so venture out into the streets if you are up to it, or hunker down here for a respite. The rooms themselves are very fresh, comfortable, and safe.

Green Features: like any Marriott site, this one asks you to conserve water by reusing towels. no other special practices I was aware of.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    457
    138
    28
    23
See reviews for
317
291
55
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Was looking to stay in a hotel in Times Square area, for my trip to New York. And after a decent amount of research, found Fairfield to be the best bet for the value and location. This place is literally 2 minutes walk from Times Square, and has all that you would expect from a decent hotel. Rooms are small, but functional and fitted. The Sky bar is an added bonus. A special mention to Ms. Correa of the front office, who was a great help, even after the stay with her prompt replies on the mail about my queries.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

If you are booking this hotel because of the rooftop bar then don’t… don’t make the same mistake as we made. I was flying in from Toronto and my boyfriend from England. He had never been to America before so we decided on a mini getaway to New York. We shopped around for hotel rooms near Time square for ages to try to find the best fit for us. We eventually decided on this hotel because we wanted to go out during the day and go to the hotel roof bar at night. Arrived early in the morning because of our flight times and everything was good – we left our luggage with the hotel and enjoyed our day. We arrived back at the hotel at 4pm and checked in and everything was good. Our room was small but had everything we needed for staying in the city for the three nights. We had a really nice view being on the 24th floor. Everything was great until we got ready to go up to the rooftop bar. We went down to take another elevator up and were informed that the three nights we were in town that every night was BOUGHT OUT and we could not go up. Wait a minute here – you advertise a roof top bar and now we find out that our whole trip we cant go up and this was the main reason we booked this hotel. The excuse was that it is a different company and there was nothing the hotel could do. How about not advertising the hotel with a bar on top of the hotel saving people from spending $368 a night. The bell man that was in the hotel was class of than that we wouldn't stay here again. Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

As far as Fairfield Inns go, I'll say this one was A+. The morning bellman was super friendly and helpful! He was proactive about helping out folks in the lobby and didn't wait for people to come to him. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. Room was a good size by New York standards and was clean. Best of all you couldn't hear the street noise. The elevator situation as other reviews pointed out is annoying but not unbearable. It's NYC so not a problem that is unique to this hotel. I will definitely stay here again. Got a great rate and feel like I underpaid compared to other NYC hotels I have stayed out.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

There are multiple reviews for this hotel which are all fairly accurate regarding it's convenient location and clean, comfortable (smallish) rooms. Enough has been said about that. What we never read about was the hassle created by the bar/night club on the top floor. This hotel only has 3 elevators that aren't super-huge. In the evening one of the elevators is used exclusively for the bar patrons who queue up in a side lobby to ride up to the bar. When we returned to the hotel in the evenings we found it annoying to have to walk through the lobby filled with bar patrons, in varying degrees of sobriety, spilling over from the bar entrance and crowding the sidewalk outside the entrance to the hotel. We didn't appreciate having to wait longer for elevators at that point in our long day. Luckily we weren't bothered by bar noise once in our room on the 29th floor. On our last morning we had to check out extremely early (3:15 a.m. Sunday morning). We had to wait for at least 15 minutes for an elevator due to the bar patrons who were just leaving for the night. When we called to the front desk to plea for help we were told there was nothing they could do. The delay in arriving in the lobby caused us to miss the car we had reserved-it was nowhere to be seen. We were then treated to the scene of one of the bar patrons vomiting in the lobby. The bouncer walked over to the front desk and told the agent on duty that he (the bouncer) wasn't going to be cleaning up after the woman who had gotten sick. The guy at the front desk was completely overwhelmed between the issues with the elevators (and our frustration) and the issues with the behavior of the bar patrons and staff. There was no manager on duty. (We asked.) This was the most disappointing experience we've ever had with a Marriottt property. There was no compensation offered to us for the inconvenience. We will be following up.
One other warning. The hotel is located on the same block/same side of the street as a New York State Dept. Of Corrections Parole office. One morning dozens of folks lined the sidewalk waiting for the offices to open so that they could check in with their p.o.'s. That was mildly unsettling.

Room Tip: "City View" rooms allow for a sideways glimpse of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good value for marriott service and location - rooms comfortable and clean - coffee etc in room and available in lobby - free wifi and breakfast included - there are more luxurious marriott hotels but as a base for 2 nights this was good value and suited us

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The location is great, infront of the hotel is Pennstation - quick access to the metro and bus transport. In walking distance you find everything but late evenings better not to go back to the hotel alone there were few homeless sleeping on the street.
The customer service in the hotel was great, very friendly and helpful, you can check in late there is 24 h reception. The room was clean and every day we had clean sheets and towels. When booking the room we requested top floor room with city view and we had really amazing view from the 31 st floor. The breakfast is modest, limited choice but fresh and tasty but every day the same. The option is between eggs, sausages, oatmeal, fruits, yoghurt, juice, starbucks coffee ( which was great in takeway cups)The hotel is big so around 8am gets bussy in the area for breakfast. Seats are limited so if no table is available you need to wait, what i liked is they have trays so you can pick your food and eat it at your room instead of waiting. Also if you do not have time and you are on the run to explore the city they have prepared in the lobby lunch bags with snackbar fruit and oatmeal which was very tougthful. The hotel has also fitness which i had no time to visit.
Overall the hotel is great for city vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square

Address: 330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 244 guest rooms include Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours and in room and Complimentary High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, Theatre District and transportation that will take you anywhere throughout New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.