We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #199 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel has indeed clean rooms and complimentary breakfast (Yet the breakfast room is far too small, people had to wait for a table every morning and it has a Mc Donald´s-like atmosphere.) But that´s about it concerning the good points. The hotel staff is extremely unfriendly and not helpful at all. We had a problem with our voucher on arrival, which turned out to be the hotel´s fault, but there was no excuse, on the contrary they charged our credit card for the first night. We had to talk to the front desk people several times before this problem was solved.
But the worst is the bar on the rooftop. Every night there are people who are not hotel guests queuing up in the hotel lobby waiting to get up to the bar. Apart from the fact hat they block one of the elevators, this gives the hotel a very cheap character and it is miles away from the other Marriot hotels I know. The hotel is good for young people who desire a hostel-like atmosphere (loud music in the lobby), for everybody else I would advise to go to one one of the two adjacent hotels (Four Points Sheraton or Staybridge Suites). They seemed to be decent hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I am sorry to hear your arrival experience did not go as planned and therefore negatively affected your stay. If there are still charges in question, I urge you to contact the hotel’s accounting department to remedy the issue. We work very hard to ensure accurate billing, but if there was an error made, we will take the necessary steps to correct the situation. With regard to the music in the lobby, we have re-evaluated the music levels and are happy to report that they are now more guest-friendly. Thanks for the advice.

The Skyroom is a separate company from the hotel and does rent a portion of the lobby in the evenings to use as their exclusive entrance. The elevator is run express to the rooftop to ensure that patrons of the bar do not have access to the guest floors. Nonetheless, whenever an extended wait time exists for hotel patrons, the security of the Skyroom is to release the elevator for guest use. Being a part of the Marriott brand, we do seek to accommodate a large range of guests, and we appreciate you taking the time to comment on how we can continue to better serve our guests,

Please come back and visit us so that we can show you that what happened was the exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    501
    156
    29
    27
See reviews for
362
317
62
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A little unsure about the location of this hotel after reading some reviews - we need not have worried at all. We went out at all times even quite late at night and felt totally safe. The hotel is close to good transport links with a subway station only about 100 yards away. The hotel itself was great the rooms were quite large for New York and spotlessly clean. The complimentary breakfast was really good and the Starbucks Coffee in Reception was particulary great when returning to the hotel after a busy day. As it was almost Christmas when we stayed at the hotel it was beautifully decorated as was New York with the Rockerfella Tree etc. December is definately a great time to visit New York. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and we would definately stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Looking forward to a planned visit here for 7 nights on 22nd September. We've booked two rooms with Virgin Holidays and hope that the hotel lives up to the positive reviews posted on TA. Two out of the three of us travelling work in the UK holiday industry and know how cruel TA reviewers can be. I'm sure there will be another positive post following our visit. We really can't wait, especially as two of us are NYC virgins!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
And we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel near the end of Setember. You can rest assured that your stay with us will be a memorable one and it will make you want to come back and visit us and the New York City. We have a concierge service in the hotel that can help you with theater, restaurants, tours, etc. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel provides a far greater level of service and quality than a typical Fairfield. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. greets you warmly. excellent complimentary breakfast. lobby bathroom is clean and upscale. Starbucks coffee in the lobby complimentary.
I have stayed around 5 times and have been pleased all the time. Once i did find black mildew or mold on the shower floor edges. Other than that every other time it has been a clean experience. Just this week i checked in and was given the penthouse. wow I was blown away. It is more luxurious than some full service Marriott hotels. attention to detail. in the suite was excellent.amenity place holder to even the toilet brush holder was stainless steel and was of luxury quality. I know i am giving you minor details but as a professional hospitality professional/meeting planner i value and appreciate details. I would highly recommend this .hotel. saw many families at the hotel as well. Front desk and bell staff is one of the most friendly in New york. It was apparent the management cares about staff as well . observed free lunch served to staff and a training session. Training and education perhaps is the secret weapon of this FF Marriott for it's success.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We were delighted to learn that our staff was warm and friendly. They truly take great pleasure in all that they do for our guests and the results show through your beautiful comments. Will share your comments with them as they love to hear back from our guests. I wish I had known you were there during our staff luncheon as I would have invited you in to share a meal with us. Maybe next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We just got back from a 5 night stay in the big Apple. We picked the Fairfield Inn & Suites, Time Square. The hotel was spotless, the breakfast better than most other Fairfields. They offered a happy hour between 5 - 8 p.m. with great prices!!! The rooms were spacious, and we had a great view from our room. Time Square was literally a 5 minute walk. The best however was the staff they couldn't do enough for you. They were always cheerful and ready to help. The concierge service was great too. If you intend on visiting the big apple, I would highly recommend this hotel in terms of cleanliness, location,and friendly/helpful staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from the 24th floor and upwards for great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Our hotel has the privilege to be located close to all the wonderful things that New York City has to offer. We are right next to the Port Authority Bus Station which also houses 80 beautiful stores; short walking distance to some fantastic restaurants and, of course, shopping! Where else can you go in the world and find stores open at 2 a.m. in the middle of Times Square. Glad to learn that our staff was friendly and took care of you during your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We picked this hotel for the location which is only 4 blocks from the Javits - which we were attending a show at. The hotel is clean, rooms were clean...and size of the rooms were very decent compared to some in NYC. My only complaint was the AC unit...it was extremely loud - had to shut it off at night in order to sleep. Breakfast was included in the price...which offered a wide variety. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Our sincerest apologies with regards to the noisay air-conditioning units. Our housekeeping staff are instructed to always be attentive to the noise, so this one must have slipped away. Glad to learn that you will visit with us again when in NYC and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

First off I would like to say hats off to the Guest Service Agent that checked me in Edith Mcgee and her supervisor on duty Rosie Cepeda....I recently stayed at the FF on TS...The experience was truly a positive one from the warm smile upon check in to the helpfulness of all my questions as for things to do to around the area.

(Being from a competitor hotel there are certain things you look for and expect and compare when experiencing another product)

So i got to say she was spot on with service and professionalism...
As for her supervisor Mrs Cepeda she was equally as friendly and accommodating to request to a few of the request I made ..
What really won me over was where she escorted me to the elevator and rang the floor for me ..That was truly 5 star service ...I felt as if i was royalty or perhaps one of the owners of the building LOL... all in all I have recommended this property many times and will return again

You've gain my respect ...keep up the good work

Sincerely

DR

Room Tip: There is a bar on the roof so if you're a light sleeper i would try a lower floor( as for me I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. Your comments will be shared with all of our staff and especially with Rosie and Edith. We make every effort to treat our guests like "royalty". You deserve it! This is your home away from home.
When in town, come back and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square

Address: 330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 244 guest rooms include Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours and in room and Complimentary High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, Theatre District and transportation that will take you anywhere throughout New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.