We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Manhattan.Clean and very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 - 63 Chrystie Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #267 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Great value for Manhattan.Clean and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

The hotel was great value considering all NYC hotels are over priced. We had a room on the front of the hotel looking out on to Chrystie Street and Manhattan Bridge. Despite this and only being on the 5th floor, it really was not that noisy for an NYC street and you could sleep comfortably. The area is pretty quiet late in the evening too. The hotel is in Chinatown, which is certainly not the prettiest part of New York, but that certainly should not put you off staying here. There are plenty of supermarkets, places to eat and little Italy is literally one block behind the hotel. The subway is a 2 minute walk and within 10 minutes of walking you can be on Brooklyn Bridge, getting terrific views of Manhattan.

Included in the great price was a simple buffet breakfast, which consisted of bread/muffins/bagels/doughnuts, juice, coffee and a waffle maker (the batter to make the waffle was only available one day however during my 5 night stay, despite the waffle maker being on).

The room was very comfortable, with queen sized bed, spotlessly cleaned every day and also had a coffee maker (which you could make tea in also). The only negative I have about the room is that there was no heater/towel heater in the bathroom and as temps during our stay were as low as -22C, it did feel cold in the bathroom. You had to put the room heater on full heat/fan in order to warm the bathroom up.

Overall, good value, clean and comfortable and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    202
    36
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
174
34
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet for a very reasonable price in Manhattan. There is no fitness center. The next-door parking garage has reasonable rates ($30 per day). Chinatown is not a fancy area of town, but feels safe. I advise driving in on Houston Street and turning south onto Chrystie Street. The breakfast room is pretty spartan, as is the breakfast, except for the belgian waffles which our teenage girls loved. We had no view on the 6th floor. There was q little mix-up with our reservations, but all was straightened out with no problem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

After working through the hotels with the best review ratings, this was the first that had a room available within our price range. We booked 5 nights via Expedia. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, if small. It had tea and coffee making, hairdryer, and an iron. There is a laundry service. We were on the 7th floor (same as 5th in UK) and had a view of the top of Manhattan bridge and the tops of some downtown buildings. The complimentary breakfast bar consisted of cereals, toast, waffles, donuts and drinks. It saved us a quite a bit during our stay. There's also free wifi, and a couple of laptops to use in reception.
Around the hotel there is a diner, a fastfood place and of course plenty of chinese restuarants. We walked to Brooklyn Bridge one morning, which was nice.
Its easy to get to midtown, just a short walk to Grange St. subway,then a 15 min ride to 34st (Macys and Empire State) 42nd St (for Times sq.) or the Rockafella Ctr. (the Tree)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Hotel itself was great, staff very helpful and breakfast was fine, apart from the tiny area, one comment on the hotel was there is no bar or restaurant or room service, but then we were hardly in the hotel.

The hotel was a bit out of the way and had to tube or taxi to go anywhere, would have been nice if there was somewhere nice within walking distance, I wouldn't stay here again simply due to the location being out of the way, of what we wanted can't complain about the hotel or staff though,

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The location is not attractive (Chinatown), but the hotel is very close to subway (which carry you for the main attractions of the city) and there are some good shops in a walking distance. The rooms are small (this is NY...), but the hotel look like new. Clean, safe and with a very helpful staff at the front desk. Breakfast pretty basic. No parking, but if you consider to pay the parking prices in NY, there's a parking side by side with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We were a bit unsure of the location at first, but thought it'd be fun to stay somewhere different in Manhattan. In the end, we were realyl happy with our choice.
The hotel is brand new, and the rooms are very comfortable. And a room like this in Times Square would have been way above our budget!
They also offer free breakfast in the morning, including eggs and waffles, which was a bonus.
The hotel is a 2-mn walk to the nearest subway station, and 5-mn walk to another line, so it makes it incredibly convenient to go anywhere in Manhattan.
The fact that it is located in Chinatown is quite fun too, and it allowed us to have a lovely chinese meal late upon our arrival!
I'd defintely consider going back there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

It was a three minute walk to the subway and then the rest of NYC. 2 stops from our daughter at NYU at a fraction of the price of hotels in the village.
Room was small, but we didn't go to the city to hang out in a hotel room. The bed & pillows were comfortable (what we cared about most) the staff was super friendly and happy to be of service. Continental breakfast was basic un-exciting fare of any Comfort Inn.
My only complaint is the cheap, thin towels, but I still got clean & dry.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Address: 61 - 63 Chrystie Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Manhattan Bridge hotel is ideally located in the Lower Eastside of New York City, providing easy access to all the best this area offers. Local points of interest like the Manhattan Bridge, Chinatown, Little Italy, the New York City Financial District, Wall Street and Ground Zero are all within walking distance from this New York City, NY hotel. Additional attractions include: -Jacob K. Javits Convention Center -Broadway Theater District -Rockefeller Center -United Nations -Times Square New York is easy to explore thanks to this hotel's close proximity to subway and train stations. Countless entertainment venues, world-class shopping opportunities and unique eateries can be found in the vicinity. Free Parking available Only with our Park and Stay Package Only (oversize Vehicle additional charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.