We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate if you're on a budget and don't mind the location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 - 63 Chrystie Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #269 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Adequate if you're on a budget and don't mind the location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for a week at the end of March 2015, the room was very small but the bathroom was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was pretty good. Staff was friendly and accommodating. One huge negative was that they had problems with the elevator during our stay, had to take the stairs to the 11th floor! Location was interesting, it was nice to walk around china town but it got old after about 2 days, if you don't mind walking past the fish stands and getting asked if you want bags or watches every day, then you're good.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We appreciate you staying with us in March. I will certainly share with the staff you comments. Our sincere apologies for the elevator inconvenience. Fortunately it rarely goes down, but it is terrible to have it happen to you. The neighborhood is not for everyone. I find it a great feel for the unique neighborhoods of NYC and the restaurants and shopping are some of the best NYC has to offer. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
Area General Manager
212.925.1212
Gwen.Lytle@interstatehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    204
    38
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
176
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located in Chinatown, but on the quieter edge of it near the Lower East Side (LES). Convenient to the subway (2 blocks) and the LES, not too far (walking distance) to SoHo. Hotel is basic and room is small, although bathrooms are large and very modern. We found the carpet stained and dirty but the room was otherwise clean and comfortable. Free, very varied hot breakfast with fresh bananas, oranges and apples as well as pastries, bagels, cereal, yogurt etc. Good value and almost all rooms are away from the street and the traffic so very quiet.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you selecting our hotel for you NYC stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback so we can improve were we can and celebrate what we are doing well. Sadly the carpet is worn and even with a minimum quarterly cleaning, some stains will not come out. We are currently working on getting new carpet. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Travis Eng
General Manager
212.925.1212
Travis.Eng@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel in Chinatown and near Soho is very conveniently located, near subways, with free internet, breakfast, and small but attractive rooms. This worked very well for our needs - and on a nice day we were able to walk to the Highline, Village, etc.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and in our neighborhood. There are great benefits to being able to walk to the unique neighborhoods of downtown Manhattan. Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regard,
Travis Eng
General Manager
212.925.1212
Travis.Eng@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was reasonably cheap by NYC standards and I wasn't expecting four star service or facilities. The main reasons for booking were the location - wanted to be lower east side, would have preferred to be a little closer to east village, but it wasn't far to walk, the proximity to two subways, wifi and a free breakfast. We were originally assigned a room on the sixth floor. The wifi would only work intermittently and then only slowly. I asked about this and was told it should be fine. When we returned, it wasn't. I was told it should be ok on other floors. Despite not wanting the inconvenience of a move I agreed. However, after checking the connection on other floors, we were told that there was a hotel wide problem, and upgraded to another room (not much of an upgrade, other than the view). Five days later there was no improvement and I found it quicker to use the data on my son's iphone via personal hotspot. I spoke to other guests on other floors and all said the wifi was slow. So, the BREAKFAST? Well, on day one guests had to take it up to their rooms as there wasn't enough space for everyone. It didn't seem to be a problem other days. However, I didn't take breakfast again. There was a very poor choice. Almost nothing healthy and what fruit there was, seemed to run out quickly. Eggs were either plastic scrambled or cold hard boiled and although the bacon was OK by US standards, it wasn't available every day and the other sausage type meats were pretty vile. No fresh additive free juice. Brown/wholemeal bread not available every day. The rooms were dated but fine. The front desk staff were perfectly amenable, but appeared unconcerned about any issues raised. With the exception of the west indian man who checked us out, he said that if he'd have been aware of the wifi problem, he would have called the service provider to see if something could have been done. Something his colleagues neglected to suggest. If you like to plan your travels whilst on location and/or you need internet to work, don't stay here. If not, then it's fine, but don't expect a good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We appreciate your feedback so we can improve our hotel for our guests. I sincerely apologize that our hotel did not meet your needs. I am not certain if you were using an Apple product, but their security is a bit different and can have difficulties with the internet. The help desk can assist with this. My apologies that the staff did not inform you of this prior to moving your room. We are in the process of adding bandwidth. With the multiple devices in each room and streaming, we understand the importance of good internet. We really get very few complaints about internet speed. Our breakfast is the required hot American breakfast buffet for the Comfort Inn brand. We offer some items daily such as cereal, hard boiled eggs and white & wheat bread and some items rotate for a variety of hot eggs, meats and sweet breads. We are certainly open to suggestions as well. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you when you are in NYC.

Warm Regards,
Travis Eng
General Manager
212.925.1212
Travis.Eng@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We decided to stay here the first week of March 2015 based on good TA reviews, the hotel's proximity to a subway station (block and a half away), and a very attractive room rate for a Manhattan hotel. We arrived a few hours before the 4PM check-in and were pleasantly surprised that a room was ready for us. The room was decently sized for Manhattan, and the bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated. The room and the bathroom were clean, and the bedding was very comfortable, although the bed seemed pretty high off the floor. Furniture, carpeting, curtains, and lamp shades showed some evidence of wear and tear, but everything was functional. A hot breakfast, wi-fi, and an in-room safe large enough for a laptop were included at no additional charge. 24 hour coffee and tea were available in the breakfast area.

Front desk staff dressed professionally (coat and tie), and were always courteous. Shawn was especially helpful when we made our initial reservation, and then again when we had to extend our stay on short notice due to a medical condition. Additionally, the housekeeper who serviced our room (508) went far above and beyond her normal duties when we had a medical issue, and was very pleasant and didn't complain about the extra work.

The TA scale for Service and Value only goes up to 5 stars; we would rate both at least a 6 for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Love being a 6 on a scale up to 5 on Service - you made my day! I will certainly celebrate your kind words with Shawn and the team. I am so glad our hotel was such a nice fit for your NYC trip. Our bathrooms are actually original to the hotel opening and have stayed in great condition over the past few years. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Travis Eng
General Manager
212.925.1212
TravisEng@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and will return thanks to the clean and comfortable rooms, free breakfast, kind and accomodating staff, good location between Soho and Lower East Side, closeness to useful subway lines, the exotic atmosphere of living in Chinatown (so completely different from home!), and good value for money!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Manhattan Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
So happy to hear that you appreciate the hotel and location as much as I do. It is a great area to explore for so many reasons - especially the delicious and varied food options. Thank you for continuing to stay with us at the Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Travis Eng
General Manager
212.925.1212
Travis.Eng@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

It's located in China Town, a very interesting neightbourhood. It has the D and B Subway just 1 1/2 block away. The service was great, everyone was very nice. It's very clean. It has big rooms with big bathrooms for a hotel room. The price was very good and includes free wi-fi in rooms and looby and a simple but with good options breakfast. You can receive packages and live the luggage for the day once you check out for free, something many NY hotels are charging.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front at the upper floors has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
I could not have said it better. Our little hotel has so many great things to offer to NYC visitors from great location close to wonderful restaurants and shopping, with ease of public transportation to anywhere in NYC. Thank you so much for staying with us and also taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Travis Eng
General Manager
212.925.1212
Travis.Eng@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Address: 61 - 63 Chrystie Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Manhattan Bridge hotel is ideally located in the Lower Eastside of New York City, providing easy access to all the best this area offers. Local points of interest like the Manhattan Bridge, Chinatown, Little Italy, the New York City Financial District, Wall Street and Ground Zero are all within walking distance from this New York City, NY hotel. Additional attractions include: -Jacob K. Javits Convention Center -Broadway Theater District -Rockefeller Center -United Nations -Times Square New York is easy to explore thanks to this hotel's close proximity to subway and train stations. Countless entertainment venues, world-class shopping opportunities and unique eateries can be found in the vicinity. Free Parking available Only with our Park and Stay Package Only (oversize Vehicle additional charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.