We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good price, good breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 - 63 Chrystie Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #234 of 456 Hotels in New York City
Glasgow
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“good hotel, good price, good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The location : its in Chinatown at the boarder of little Italy, grand st subway is 2 blocks away, bowery (for the j train to the airport is 4). Its handy for cheap eats, convenience stores and beer and wine stores.
The room: no mini bar/fridge but has ice machine at the breakfast bar
The room we had, 808, had an ok view of the roofs and Manhattan bridge, I have had a lot worse views in hotels in NY!! The room was light fairly big, bathroom was modern with hairdryer.
The breakfast was pretty good too. As well as the usual self serve continental fair they offered hot sausage / bacon / eggs . In addition fresh made waffles.

The staff were very good, helped us out when we needed it. Thanks guys

I would come back here again, would get a higher room next time

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us for your time in NYC. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are grateful for your feedback, so we can focus on what we are doing well and improve as well. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    178
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
58
154
33
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed for 12 nights for new years eve 2013-2014, price was good compared to most hotels on the Manhattan area. Its located in Chinatown/Lowe Manhattan, so not as fancy as the fith avenue or times square, but well we used the hotel to sleep and rest only, all the nice places are around a 10-20 minute train ride.
Besides the cold of that time of the year(I am from a tropical country), so needed to wear many layers of clothing, the place is excellent.
Check in is at 4pm, we arrived at 1pm, they did early check in, highly appreciated.
Breakfasts was ok, try the waffles, the machine broke, and they replaced it within a day or less; pro tip: go early to get the breakfast, it can get crowdy around 8 am.

Pros:
Location: Subway station is 2 blocks away, 3-5 minute walk, train wait was about 5-15 minutes, so very good for out trip porpuses.
Room: Room was clean, small but decent, had a safe, AC/heat, hot water, closet, nice large Windows,room cleaning was daily they even would wait until we were out to go clean, very nice personel.
View: we got a Corner room, so we were facing at the Manhattan bridge and also the Financial District.
Cons:
Our Corner Room(804) had a TV not very well positioned, you could see it from the top of the bed(the closet was in the middle sort of speak), but well, we only watch tv for a bit at night before going to bed so, it was not really a Con.
Taxi service to airport: they will book a taxi for you, they told us the taxi to JKF was a flat rate of $40, but taxi driver charged us more at airport arrival.
There is only 1 elevator, you might find this a little annoying at some times, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your extended holiday in NYC. Thank you for taking the time to share your review so we can celebrate what we are doing well and also improve where we can. I am a little confused by the cost of the taxi to JFK. The yellow NYC regulated taxi's to JFK are a flat rate of $52. We have a contract with a car service for a flat rate of $59 to JFK. You may have been in a gypsy cab, which should be avoided as they do change their fares and are not the safest form of transportation. You will have to visit again when the weather is warmer - there is so much to offer here all year round.

All the best.
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights on my most recent visit to the city. I booked well in advance and was able to acquire a multi level suite. Check in and check out both went smoothly and the hotel clerk arranged a ride to Newark Int'l which was appreciated. Also appreciated was the ability to leave our suitcases there after we checked out as we had several hours to kill before it was time to head to the airport. I loved the view of the Manhattan bridge and Chinatown from the large upstairs window. The multi level room was awesome for my husband and I's needs; he is more of a morning person and I tend to stay up later. It was nice to have the a space to hang out in while the other slept, being that this is NYC and rooms tend to be tiny; it was also the only spot in the room where my husband could stash his suitcase easily.

As the title of this review states, the location of the CIMB is, in my opinion, its best feature. Two blocks north of the hotel, at the corner of Grand and Crystie, is the closest subway station. Here you can catch the B&D trains, both of which easily get one into midtown, near many of the city's popular sites. Also, 5-6 blocks east on Canal gets you to the F train which gets you quickly to Brooklyn Bridge Park. The Chinatown/Little Italy neighborhood is an interesting, safe location with lots of different food options and many things to see as well.

One thing that would make this room even better would be if they found a way to squeeze in a microwave and refrigerator, but as stated before, there's not a lot of extra room.

The only reason I am not rating this hotel 5 stars is the noise due to renovations. During the 3 weekdays during our stay, it started up at approximately 9am. I understand that renovations need to be done on hotels at some point, but it didn't make it any less annoying. Fortunately, we weren't in our room much.

I will likely stay here again on my next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in NYC and taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all our location has to offer and it was a good hub to see other areas of the city. The views from the loft rooms are amazing. My sincere apologies that the construction noise detracted from your stay. Fortunately the construction phase has been completed and the new rooms will be available in the new few weeks are we finish the last few details in the rooms. Please stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night during our visit to New York. The hotel is located in Lower Manhattan area. The room was well maintained and clean. We found the hotel staff friendly by nature. It's a good deal to stay in NY with awesome service. The customer service was good!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It is so wonderful to hear that our hotel worked out so nicely for your short stay in NYC. Thank you for sharing your experience, so we can celebrate what we do well and also improve where we can. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Let's face it - most of us want a good deal and for New York this place is a steal...
Service: excellent, including the garage staff next door (make sure you have cash, $35 a day, unless you get the free parking package, which must be booked on the internet, and I was not able to find it).
Value: excellent, really, unless you require a five-star standard in a budget hotel. Breakfast is included - juices, cereal, eggs, make-your-own waffles, fruits... coffee/tea are available all day.
Sleep Quality: great, although the bed was unusually high, so if you have a tendency to roll, you've been warned...
Location: midtown is in my opinion better, but if you've been to NYC before and want to explore another part of the city, this safe Chinatown spot is great!! Subway is about 4 blocks away and if you like walking, many places are within reach, including Little Italy, SOHO, Ground Zero area, Brooklyn Bridge... wear comfortable shoes! If you don't, however, there are countless places in the area where you can get a foot massage :-)
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the area -- will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room 904 was a corner room with two walls of windows and a view of the bridge. We also watched Tai C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I really appreciated your comments in your review. This is a great area for returning travelers to see the neighborhoods of NYC and be close to all that downtown has to offer. There are certainly great options for foot massages in Chinatown, too. I will certainly share your positive comments about the hotel with my staff. We allot a certain number of parking package rooms online - it is truly a fantastic deal, if you are driving in to the city. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I chose this hotel for our second visit to NYC only because it had pretty good ratings, breakfast, free wifi and was located in lower Manhattan. We arrived well before the check in time and we were given a room straightaway on the 8th floor. I wanted higher but they told me about the renovations on higher floors. I asked for a room with a some kind of city view and we got this clean, spacious room with a lovely view of the city on the right and the bridge on the left - absolutely brilliant. The room was big with nice bathroom and very relaxing shower. The only thing they could improve was the breakfast. It was so so but was free and it set you up for a day. The room was very warm considering temperatures outside -10 C. For the first two nights we actually had AC on :) but it was nice coming back tired and frozen to this warm, cosy room. One more thing - the bed is really high and I found it funny but very comfortable. Overall, for 2 star hotel not bad :)

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a room on higher floors with a city view. Staff is very polite and kinda c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind review. I will certainly share it with my staff. We will brainstorm ways to improve our breakfast while still meeting the Comfort Inn brand standards. We are very excited about the 17 rooms that are being added to the top two floors of the hotel. The views from those rooms at stunning! The carpet is being installed currently and then we will be installing the furniture, TVs, etc and should have them ready to rent in the next month. You will enjoy it the next time you stay with us.

All the best,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1212
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Address: 61 - 63 Chrystie Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Manhattan Bridge hotel is ideally located in the Lower Eastside of New York City, providing easy access to all the best this area offers. Local points of interest like the Manhattan Bridge, Chinatown, Little Italy, the New York City Financial District, Wall Street and Ground Zero are all within walking distance from this New York City, NY hotel. Additional attractions include: -Jacob K. Javits Convention Center -Broadway Theater District -Rockefeller Center -United Nations -Times Square New York is easy to explore thanks to this hotel's close proximity to subway and train stations. Countless entertainment venues, world-class shopping opportunities and unique eateries can be found in the vicinity. Free Parking available Only with our Park and Stay Package Only (oversize Vehicle additional charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.