We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Oasis in Tribecca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smyth - a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Smyth - a Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10007 (TriBeCa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Dine & Snooze
Ranked #43 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Williamstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Urban Oasis in Tribecca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved, loved loved this hotel! Impeccable, courteous, on the spot class A service from the time one arrives till checkout. We stayed at the Smyth and loved everything about it! The entire Smyth staff was over the top amazing! They couldn't do enough for you without even asking. And when we did need assistance with car service or any other questions... within a wave of a magic wand it was done! Beautiful, clean and upscale. Hats off to an amazing Smyth team! The rooms were clean and comfortable... the perfect combination of simplicity and elegance. Tom, Amanda and her crew were over the top on task and so kind. Little Park was outstanding... a must do for any meal, dessert or cocktails. We just wish we had everyones name that made our stay so perfect. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Any room wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Dee D,

Wow thank you for your wonderful review of Smyth! We are so happy to know that our wonderful team lead by Amanda made your stay so special!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please feel free to contact me directly at gmpedrodias@thompsonhotels.com to assist with your next booking.

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
23
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure of spending a romantic evening at Smyth for Valentine's Day. I was greeted at the door by Sandy a pleasantly smiling door man. He welcomed me, initiated in conversation and escorted me to the front desk where I was checked in by the very polite, pleasant and knowledgeable Monique. They made such good impressions that I could not forget their names or faces. As I entered the room, I was taken by the rose left on my bed. Usually this is a gesture from your significant other but I soon learned that the hotel actually went ahead and did this, how thoughtful. Nice quiet room, very spacious compared to most NYC hotels. I did leave a note that I was also celebrating a 15 year anniversary with my husband on my reservation and just before night's end I was given a complementary bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries by Christina the AGM of the restaurant Little Park. All in all the hotel was nice and everything was new but the staff really made my Valentine's Day like no other with the little things!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Lydia N,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us and that our team including Sandy, Monique and Christina had such a positive impact!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Room pass cards were often tricky to work on elevator access and room. Shower in room very slow to drain. Toilette paper holder needed tightening to hold roll. Hall noise very obvious from within the room. Glass room divider between bathroom and bedroom annoying when partner turned light on during the night. Rooms were clean but carpet was stained.
Had a very disappointing breakfast in the new Little Park Restaurant on the Smyth premises. There were eight of us in our group and no one left praising the food. Probably the worst muffin ever eaten. Waffles were served without syrup or butter. The fruit plate was miniscule and had a sugary syrup over all. Service was inattentive by disinterested waiters. Definitely not the place for breakfast especially at prices like $10.00 for an orange juice.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Nancy1003,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am very sorry to learn of your experiences at Little Park as they have won rave reviews since joining the New York dining scene.

With our rooms I am also sorry that you did not like our shadow box style of bathrooms and we do offer different styles to ensure our guest are comfortable and we continue to replace our carpet as needed.

We do hope to welcome you back to Smyth and please feel free to contact me directly to assist with your next booking at gmpedrodias@thompsonhotels.com

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We needed a quick winter getaway and spent the long weekend at the Smyth. The Smyth overall is a fantastic hotel, my partner and I have stayed at the Thompson in Chicago and Toronto and have had wonderful experiences.

The Tribeca location is very convenient to downtown manhattan however a bit far south for exploring mid and upper portions of the city depending on what your looking for.

We were greeted by friendly helpful staff and checked in quickly although we arrived early. Room was clean and spacious with a great bathroom. Be warned thought that the sliding bathroom door doesn't provide complete privacy.

There were a few drawbacks to our stay however. Each day when we returned to the room neither of our key cards would work. On day two there was a welcome letter addressed to another guest sitting on our nightstand, that same day the hotel ran out of clean towels and they had to go to their sister property to get more for us.

Overall this is a great hotel but compared to other Thompson property experiences we might choose another when returning to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Malcolm P,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry about the issues with your towels as this should not have been the case and we did address it with our housekeeping team.

I know you have been in communication with our Director of Operations and please feel free to contact him for any assistance with any Thompson Hotel.

Warm regards,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this hotel!
What else can I say? The great experience started at the door with the warm welcome from the door men, the amazing front desk staff and last but not least (and in my opinion the most important one---Housekeeping). And this is where I want to give a shout out to our great housekeeping lady (we stayed for a few days). We, meaning kids included, and you know how that can be...We saw her one day as we came "home" earlier and she was in the process of cleaning our room. Loved that she accelerated the cleaning-and the room was always impeccable!
"Unfortunately" we stayed one night at the Mondrian, and let me tell you: The Smyth has elegance and class, whereas, in my opinion, the Mondrian tries "too hard"...And even though the Mondrian is located much closer to all kinds of luxury shopping, I would choose the Smyth next time again (btw, Whole Foods is just a block away---another plus point).
If you are used to European sophistication but humbleness at the same time, stay at the Smyth!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear cutiepieM,

Wow thank you for the wonderful review and we are so thrilled to know that we made you feel at home and thank you for the shot out to our wonderful housekeeping team!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and please feel free to contact me directly at gmpedrodias@thompsonhotels.com so that I can assist with your next booking.

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife went into the city for a quick overnight to get a break from Winter boredom. We stayed at the Smyth and it was the perfect getaway. The staff was terrific and our room/suite perfectly suited to relax. We had drinks in the "living room" with our kids who live nearby and everyone was impressed with the "at home" feel helped by the fire on a cold night. The pancakes at Little Park were the best.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Steve A,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so happy to know that you felt at home in our new lobby as that is what we strive to create!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and please feel free to contact me directly at gmpedrodias@thompsonhotels.com so that I can assist with your next booking.

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for some place special to stay for Valentine's Day/President's Day Weekend and based on feedback I had heard I thought the Smyth would be the perfect spot - and it was. Not only was the entire staff courteous and helpful from the second we stepped out of out car, but the completely unexpected upgrade to the penthouse suite on such a busy weekend was beyond generous. And as if that weren't enough, of course a bottle of champagne showed up to stun us once again as we were also celebrating my wife's birthday. The room was perfect, our stay was fantastic and even breakfast at Little Park was top notch. I wanted to specifically mention the concierge Franck who contacted me before our trip in an attempt to assist with our planning of activities and such - his help and thoughtfulness was very much appreciated. Our stay was incredibly special and you can be sure we will be back the next chance we have to get away.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Chris G,

Wow! We are so happy to know the team at Smyth made your stay and that Franck went above and beyond.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many future birthdays and please feel free to contact me directly at gmpedrodias@thompsonhotels.com so that I may assist with your next booking.

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smyth - a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyth - a Thompson Hotel

Address: 85 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New York City
#10 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Smyth - a Thompson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel, is an intimate 100 room hideaway with spacious residential rooms and suites. Smyth is just steps away from Freedom Tower, Financial District and many boutiques, restaurants, parks and cultural attractions that compose the thriving neighborhood of Tribeca. Guests enjoy Little Park, acclaimed Chef Andrew Carmellini's seasonal restaurant, and classically inspired cocktails served in Evening Bar. The hotel offers luxury amenities such as complimentary town car service and twice daily housekeeping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Smyth - a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyth Hotel a Thompson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.