We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling clean & great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smyth - a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Smyth - a Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% Off
Ranked #48 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sparkling clean & great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'll make this short and sweet! -

You cannot go wrong staying at Smyth, worth every penny as the service and product are impeccable. I've recommended others and everyone tells me how awesome their stay was. I stayed here because a colleague mentioned it to me! Terrific lobby and restaurant with food to die for! It's hard to find a place you can feel 100% comfortable with their cleanliness, with hotel housekeeping experience... I couldn't find anything that needed attention. Great up keep on the rooms and personable staff! Kudos to Smyth management!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Geedster8,

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us at Smyth and continue to show your loyalty!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please feel free to reach out.

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Smyth, although brief, was a pefect reminder of what makes New York such an incredible place. We stayed in the understated yet very stylish Thompson Suite, overlooking both Broadway and Chambers Street, with a view of One World Trade Center from the bedroom and living room. After a whole day catching up on everything Manhattan has to offer, watching the bustling streets below that evening, it was a relief to relax in our suite and order room service - great food. In fact the level of service was so high - everyone enthusiastic, polite and attentive - that that alone is enough to make us want to visit again asap. Thanks to the recent refurbishment of the downstairs spaces, which maintain a genuinely New York vibe, cool yet welcoming, the Smyth is right up there with the city's most iconic hotels.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear fpn777,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed our new lobby!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I went to visit the grandkids in NYC this weekend and we decided to try out a new place in Tribeca. Excellent choice - tired of the typical chain hotels the Smyth was a welcomed experience. Friendly staff, clean, quiet and a convenient location. An A+ to all. We were taken back on the oversize and cleanliness of our accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Les G,

We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself at our hotel with your wife!! Our staff is key to our success and we are so happy that they made a wonderful impression on you!

We hope to be your home for all the visits to your grand-kids!

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just stayed at this recently renovated boutique hotel in TriBeCa, the Hotel looks beautiful. Front Desk Manager (Dan) welcomed us and took great care of us our whole stay - courteous, informative and cheery! Room was very comfortable and nice. New restaurant is delicious and chic. Lobby bar is a cool vibe. Only good things to say!

Room Tip: Anywhere in NYC go for high floors to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Daddydeegan,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding Dan! I am thrilled to know that he made your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future so that you can continue to enjoy our hotel.

Warm regards,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed just one night for a Tribeca meeting and it worked out well. The 8th floor room was very large by Manhattan standards and it was quiet despite facing the street. There were a few carpet stains and scuffs, but it was generally clean and the bed comfortable. My only gripe was the marshmallow-soft pillows - having a blend of soft and hard pillows would have helped.
Extra points for great front desk service, and I appreciated the email from the concierge before my trip asking if I needed help arranging anything. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear gojappe,

Thank you for your review and we are so happy to know that our wonderful staff made your stay memorable!
Thank you for your comments regarding the room as we do take these comments seriously and have had our Operations team to look into this.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Warm regards,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is ideal for down town and getting across to Jersey with the Path only a 5 min walk down.

The staff where very friendly and helpful during my second stay at the hotel, each time I have come I have found them to be great.

The hotel itself is having a makeover in the lobby area, but apart from this the rooms are clean, stylish, cosy and to the point with space unlikey many hotels downtown !!!!

I liked the terrace a lot personally

To the duty manager

Keep up the good work and hopefully see you on my next trip to NYC at start of Dec

TIP - Rooms on 9th floor have the terrace

Room Tip: Floor 9, street facing for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear rsma1234,

We are so happy that you enjoyed Smyth with our wonderful staff! We hope to see you again soon so that you may enjoy Little Park!

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying on our wedding anniversary and we were very happy in our choice. The service is wonderful and everyone was very kind to us. The room is beautiful and huge for NY, the bathroom is amazing. The hotel has a lovely lounge! We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear KarineCavalanti,

We are so happy to know that your special occasion was enjoyed with us at Smyth and our wonderful team made it memorable!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please let us know if we can assist in any way.

Many thanks,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smyth - a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyth - a Thompson Hotel

Address: 85 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Smyth - a Thompson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel, is an intimate 100 room hideaway with spacious residential rooms and suites. Smyth is just steps away from Freedom Tower, Financial District and many boutiques, restaurants, parks and cultural attractions that compose the thriving neighborhood of Tribeca. Guests enjoy Little Park, acclaimed Chef Andrew Carmellini's seasonal restaurant, and classically inspired cocktails served in Evening Bar. The hotel offers luxury amenities such as complimentary town car service and twice daily housekeeping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Smyth - a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyth Hotel a Thompson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.