We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great initial stay w cool TriBeCa Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smyth - a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Smyth - a Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% Off
Ranked #90 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Great initial stay w cool TriBeCa Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just stayed at this recently renovated boutique hotel in TriBeCa, the Hotel looks beautiful. Front Desk Manager (Dan) welcomed us and took great care of us our whole stay - courteous, informative and cheery! Room was very comfortable and nice. New restaurant is delicious and chic. Lobby bar is a cool vibe. Only good things to say!

Room Tip: Anywhere in NYC go for high floors to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Daddydeegan,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding Dan! I am thrilled to know that he made your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future so that you can continue to enjoy our hotel.

Warm regards,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed just one night for a Tribeca meeting and it worked out well. The 8th floor room was very large by Manhattan standards and it was quiet despite facing the street. There were a few carpet stains and scuffs, but it was generally clean and the bed comfortable. My only gripe was the marshmallow-soft pillows - having a blend of soft and hard pillows would have helped.
Extra points for great front desk service, and I appreciated the email from the concierge before my trip asking if I needed help arranging anything. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear gojappe,

Thank you for your review and we are so happy to know that our wonderful staff made your stay memorable!
Thank you for your comments regarding the room as we do take these comments seriously and have had our Operations team to look into this.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Warm regards,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is ideal for down town and getting across to Jersey with the Path only a 5 min walk down.

The staff where very friendly and helpful during my second stay at the hotel, each time I have come I have found them to be great.

The hotel itself is having a makeover in the lobby area, but apart from this the rooms are clean, stylish, cosy and to the point with space unlikey many hotels downtown !!!!

I liked the terrace a lot personally

To the duty manager

Keep up the good work and hopefully see you on my next trip to NYC at start of Dec

TIP - Rooms on 9th floor have the terrace

Room Tip: Floor 9, street facing for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear rsma1234,

We are so happy that you enjoyed Smyth with our wonderful staff! We hope to see you again soon so that you may enjoy Little Park!

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying on our wedding anniversary and we were very happy in our choice. The service is wonderful and everyone was very kind to us. The room is beautiful and huge for NY, the bathroom is amazing. The hotel has a lovely lounge! We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear KarineCavalanti,

We are so happy to know that your special occasion was enjoyed with us at Smyth and our wonderful team made it memorable!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please let us know if we can assist in any way.

Many thanks,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our company books many rooms with The Smyth and we are always beyond pleased. Wether booking rooms for clients or employees, the staff at The Smyth is always friendly and helpful. Rooms are gorgeous-- especially after the renovations-- and the location is perfect. Decor is stunning, and the view is beyond. The food for room service is AMAZING and the restaurant in the hotel is a must. I can honestly say I have never had a bad experience at The Smyth and will continue to go to them for all of my hotel needs.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear baysidegirl55,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel!

We are so thrilled to know that you enjoyed Smyth and the new look!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are in the hospitality industry and booked our room thru a consolidator when the room was on sale. A week before we were to arrive, the hotel sent a confirmation showing a lower rate than we paid. We tried everything to get something from the hotel. The hotel did nothing; wouldn't honor the lower rate, give us an upgrade, room on a higher floor, or even a drink token for their bar. Not very hospitable. If you want a great hospitality experience, try the Como Group.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear b r,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am sorry that there was an error with your booking and your booking partner. As a hotel professional you are familiar with how travel vendors work and we need to work with them.

If you would like to further discuss this reservation please contact me directly at pdias@thompsonhotels.com

Kind regards,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our first time in NY and we wanted to stay in a truly cool hotel: check! The room was beautiful, clean, enormous, the bed was super comfortable and I really enjoyed the glass wall of the shower. The staff was super nice and friendly. The neighborhood might not be the center of night life, but that's ok since you get to sleep with no street noises and there is plenty of subway stations just ouside the door.
There was always a bowl of fresh orange flavored water in the hall, which is a touch of great style and kindness.
I just cannot say much about the look of the hotel since the hall was undergoing maintenance, but I hope to be back and see the beautiful fireplace!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro D, General Manager at Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Carlotta,

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and can not wait to welcome you back now that we have completed our renovations!

We look forward to seeing soon and please feel free to contact me at pdias@thompsonhotels.com

Best,
Pedro Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smyth - a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyth - a Thompson Hotel

Address: 85 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smyth - a Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel, is an intimate 100 room hideaway with spacious residential rooms and suites. Smyth is just steps away from Freedom Tower, Financial District and many boutiques, restaurants, parks and cultural attractions that compose the thriving neighborhood of Tribeca. Guests enjoy Little Park, acclaimed Chef Andrew Carmellini's seasonal restaurant, and classically inspired cocktails served in Evening Bar. The hotel offers luxury amenities such as complimentary town car service and twice daily housekeeping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Smyth - a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smyth Hotel a Thompson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyth - a Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.