We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncle Jacks - A real Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown

Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown
44 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
2122451550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #415 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: Within three blocks of the B, D, E, F, M, N, Q, R subways and walking distance to 1 and 2 subways.
Description: Welcome to Uncle Jack's, "The Best Steakhouse in New York City," where superior quality and obsessive dedication to craft are the norm. Said by many to have the best steak in New York, Uncle Jack's is proud to have served some of the world's most educated and discriminating food connoisseurs.Since its inception in 1996, Uncle Jack's has become legendary for unsurpassed consistency and quality. Serving the best steak in New York means featuring the finest USDA Prime Beef, cut to our exact specifications and aged between 28-35 days. World famous Kobe steaks, and a full menu of the finest foods available, are just a few more reasons why Uncle Jack's has become a steakhouse landmark without equal.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uncle Jacks - A real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent service , quality food , superb wine a real enjoyable experience. Our waiter was an elderly dude who was a real character, he went out of his way to get me the champagne that I requested as it was my 50th birthday celebration. He even brought us a complimentary dessert with a candle in ! a nice touch. I would definitely recommend this steakhouse and its situated in a convenient location not far from Times Square ( where our hotel was located)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    175
    82
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Needs improvement!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

After watching Restaurant Stakeout we were excited to eat at Uncle Jack's steakhouse. We went at a non busy time and it took forever to get our drinks. We were a party of 4 and had about 3 people waiting our table and they didn't know what the other was doing and we felt we got forgotten in several occasions. The length of time we were there was too long, wore out our patience. The food was excellent but seeing the claim of service failed I am giving a 3. Would not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UncleJacksSteakhouse, Public Relations Manager at Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We take all feedback very seriously and would like to address your issues with the appropriate staff. Could you send us an e-mail at socialmedia@unclejacks.com so we can look into this further?

Best,
Chanelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing steakhouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were extremely pleased by everything: service, atmosphere, and of course food! (which was more than exceptional!!! try the dish - do not remember the name unfortunately - which combines 2 types of meat, New York steak and filet mignon; also ask for mashed potato and spinach with cream as side dishes)...
Worth visiting!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great start poor finish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We ate at Uncle Jacks last evening. We first had a cocktail at the Bar. Excellent. The bartender could not have been better. We were later seated and a great table overlooking the grand stairway. Our captain, Shaun, greeted us and gave us appropriate time to finish our drinks and look over the menu.
Service was impeccable...The first 2 courses, Baked clams, crabcake and salads were wonderful. Tasty and delicious.
THEN CAME THE STEAK!!! We ordered the steaks medium rare. The came out medium well. Although Shaun did offer a replacement , the quality did not demand it. The steak was far less than prime. Over seasoned and salty it was hardly edible. The sides were acceptable but the steak tasted like the gristle at the old Tads. Uch..
What a disappointment.
Desert was tasty, but the steak left much to be desired.

So very disappointed...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UncleJacksSteakhouse, Public Relations Manager at Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We take all feedback very seriously and would like to address your issues with the appropriate staff. Could you send us an e-mail at socialmedia@unclejacks.com so we can look into this further?

Best,
Chanelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“believe the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This place lives up to expectations. Service was very very attentive. Food was amazing!! best meatballs Ive ever had and the steak was moist tender Ive ever eaten. Willy would be proud.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.