We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine ingredients and execution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge Tomate

Rouge Tomate
10 East 60th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)
6462378977
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Between 5th and Madison Avenue
Transit: N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue / 59th Street. Exit Station at 60th Street.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fine ingredients and execution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My second time for lunch. I had duck confit - crispy, delicate skin and very moist meat. Service was very professional. It was easy to get in and out on a business lunch, yet I would go again when I could linger a bit more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    67
    21
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect & harmonious pairing of the Seasonal tasting menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were in New York on Business & it was one of the coldest days of the year at -10c.
However the warmth of the Rouge Tomate & their excellent Sommelier , Pascaline Lepeltier, made us soon forget the bitter elements.
The restaurant's management & Chefs SPE certified philosophy of focus on sustainability, health & exceptional taste is truly amazing.
We had the seasonal tasting menu of 6 dishes, perfectly paired with their wines. Pascaline, one of the best Sommeliers of the world & presently studying or her Master Sommelier qualification, takes time to analyse your preferences & makes top notch recommendations at fair prices.
All plates were prepared with the finest organic products but 2 stand out:
-the local oyster with pomegranate , crispy ginger & fresh cilantro.
-Chestnut & celery root soup, with Hudson Valley Foie Gras, celery heart & outstanding winter black truffles.

The only constructive comment I might add is that you will need to know 5 or 6 languages to understand when the support staff describes to you your dishes as for all of them New York is a new home.
This restaurant deserves its Michelin Star & if you are a cigar smoker like I am, you have the Macanudo cigar club only 3 blocks away with live music & a fine selection of Dominican Cigars.

A truly enjoyable evening & we look forward to coming back during the summer.

Gustavo A de Hostos
Sommelier & master cigar blender

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food but an unpleasant vintner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This extension of the Belgian restaurant has been in place for a year and received a good but tongue in cheek review in the New York Times recently. It is known for "natural" cooking in diet conscious portions and produces some excellent and tasty food. Coming to the restaurant with an academic business group we had a set menu but which gave a well balanced choice. Furthermore the selected Oregon Pinot Noir wine was excellent in the first 2 tastings but then was followed by a bottle that clearly was off. Instead of apologies, this resulted in the comment that the bottle was empty and though another was brought to substitute for my glass there was no attempt to remedy the problem for others. This sort of casual attitude to clients does not bode well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Amazing and incredibly unique!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

At the bottom right hand corner of Central Park in NYC. Beautiful two story restaurant - lots of white and tons of red leather. Long arc shaped bar. Beautiful, friendly, formal, and intelligent staff. Unique dishes like venison, fish, caviar, lobster (served in egg shell), etc. All supposed to be healthy, sustainable, and amazing. Check the website and read about the seal of approval program. Extensive wine list. You'll spend a lot of money - but you'll do that anywhere in NY. Check out my pictures!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food and coctails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent And healthy food in a nice location. I can definately recomend this place. Try its excelent coctails and its amazing wine choice

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge Tomate also viewed

 

Been to Rouge Tomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge Tomate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.