We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've had better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca

Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca
409 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2353 (Manhattan)
212-925-0350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #996 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Beach & Hubert
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I've had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We got in pretty fast - no wait called ahead and sat immediately ten minutes later. When you spend $ 200 plus for two people to eat - you expect that its going to be pretty good. Appetizer Crab Cake - top half great / bottom half scorched. Steak - I had the bone in ribeye - good but I've had just as good at Outback honestly. My wife had the Filet - top half ok, bottom of steak rather burnt. Took about 15 minutes to get our check after asking the waiter twice. Tightly packed seating. no privacy - expect to hear the conversations next to you. Maybe it wasn't a great night to judge them as it was 7pm on New Years Eve and they were pretty busy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    48
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“"not good"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Food: ok... meat was really good but i have to admit that it wasn't the best steak i've ever had.

Location: ok, but nothing special

Service: unacceptable!!!!!! we think we know why, gratitude already included in the check, 18% !!! so Staff does not really have to make special efforts. Groups of them were standing around and having loud discussions, others were having dinner with the "maître d'hotel" this guy preferred watching NBA and seemed being pissed when we were leaving and asking for our coats...
really unacceptable...

we would not recommand this place..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't-miss meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very simple menu consisting of primarily red meat and standard steakhouse sides and appetizers, but all done to perfection. One of the better steaks I've had in NYC. Despite the busy season (dined there in early December and the restaurant was packed with couples, small parties and large parties), the service was very attentive; waiter hardly missed a beat. Yeah, you'll pay for it (dinner for 7 was around $950, including tip), but it's worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Outstanding work dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Fantastic evening Went to wolf gangs for a company dinner..waiter suggested family style for the 16 of us including caprese salad, seafood platter with crab shrimp and lobster, that amazing bacon and porterhouse steak..amazing by the way...and a tray of over the top deserts! Service was outstanding..attentive without being suffocating. Overall a great evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“NOT PARK AVE BUT PRETTY DARN GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

While this location doesn't achieve the perfection of Wolfgang's of Park Avenue you're still offered a pretty darn good steak here.

Enjoyed a holiday dinner for twelve - we started with the seafood platters which included lobster tails / shrimp / crab meat. While not as excessive as the ones served uptown it was the proper beginning to a very enjoyable meal. What followed were large slabs of bacon - just what you would expect from a fine NYC steakhouse.

Numerous porterhouse steaks for two were ordered and devoured. As with uptown these steaks were cooked to perfection. Medium is the way to go with these steaks - no steak sauce needed. The sides of mushrooms / onions / creamed spinach perfectly complemented the steaks. Shared desserts of pecan pie / cheesecake and other assortments was a fine ending to a wonderful meal.

Preparation was off a bit. Tables were combined but off centered (some tables higher than others) resulting in spilling of wine. Service - while not as professional as its Park Ave counterpart was otherwise fine and attentive for a holiday dinner for twelve.

The bar area when busy can get tight. The dining area is spacious enough but the atmosphere here is nowhere near the electricity of its Park Ave. location.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca also viewed

 

Been to Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.