We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Artusi

L'Artusi
228 West 10th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
2122555757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Artusi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #153 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Between Bleecker and Hudson
Transit: 1 train to Christopher Street, and A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to West 4th Street.
Description: Opened in December of 2008, L'Artusi is the second step from the team that brought dell'anima to the West Village. Chef/Partner Gabriel Thompson and Beverage Director/Partner Joe Campanale share their expertise in Italian Epicurean Hospitality on a larger stage. Featuring rustic cuisine, a crudo bar, specialty cheese program, private dining room, and a walk-in wine cellar, L’Artusi offers guests a variety of dining options and a warm, friendly vibe. Our 110 seat restaurant, designed by Brooke Maples, features two floors of comfortable banquette seating, extended traditional bar, cheese bar and a chef's counter over-looking the open kitchen. Private dining opportunities are also available in our 2500 bottle walk-in wine cellar.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The waiter claimed we needed 2 plates each - lies! One serving of pasta each was definitely enough for two normal-sized women. The food was great, but it's definitely overpriced. Good though, and a lovely restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    54
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Seriously, my new favorite restaurant in NYC but from the look at it, it doesn't need anymore good reviews!

We came here on New Years Eve with friends and had a 6 pm reservation set up with a wine tasting and four course dinner. This was one of the best restaurant experiences that I've had. They let us mix and match our courses so we literally tried the entire menu. All the wine pairings were delicious and the service was outstanding. We thought we would be rushed out since it was NYE and we assumed they wanted to seat another party after us but there was no rushing and we finished our meal at about 10/10:30. Everything was outstanding (and we tried everything) but the highlights were the pasta - especially the mushroom ragu and peekytoe crab pasta (special). The octopus and arctic char were very good and the meat eaters highly recommended the chicken and short rib.

Once I have an experience like that I'm hesitant to go back because I don't think the 2nd time at any restaurant is ever as good. My husband booked us dinner here last weekend as a date night and I asked him to cancel it. I said to leave well enough alone. He said that we were going for some good food and not to expect it to be as good and we'll be fine. Boy were we wrong. While we were missing our great company from NYE, the food still blew us away. It was just as good, if not better. We had the Hamachi, the beet salad, the mushroom ragu pasta (it was a favorite), a special swordfish linquini, broccoli rabe and carmelized parsnips. We also had the goat cheese (this was our first married date night so my husband went all out). Everything was outstanding. I will be going back to L'artusi again and again (pending getting a hard to get reservation....)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had heard that this restaurant had among the best Italian offerings in the city but could never get a reservation. Finally scored one this past Monday evening and it lived up to its reputation. From the moment we stepped in the door, the service was spectacular. The two level restaurant is attractive with just the right amount of lighting and ambient noise. We could actually have a conversation. We had two appetizers but the brussel sprouts were by far my favorite. There is an open kitchen and that was fun to watch. It was difficult to choose which entree we wanted but finally settled on the Garganelli which was a mushroom ragu with ricotta. We also had the spaghetti with garlic, parmesan and chilies. Both were cooked to perfect, were decently sized dishes and delicious. Our waiter suggested the Olive cake for dessert, which frankly sounded gross to us. However, it was light and delicious as well. can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best meal in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

So happy that we just happened to try L'Arrusi early one evening. It's a great space, just the right lighting, open kitchen and very long bar area. We sat at the bar and enjoyed an amazing meal. Bucatini was stellar and the Tagliatelle Bolognese were out of this world. Pasta cooked perfectly and both sauces so good you wanted to mop up every last bid with bread. Finished dinner with an Averna and can not wait to get back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hands down best Italian in the village!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Went to L'Artusi for our anniversary and were blown away with the food and service! When we entered we were greeted with happy anniversary wishes and a complimentary glass of champagne and then the magic began! Appetizers were wonderful and the main courses were expertly prepared. Our dessert was fabulous and the service impeccable. We would go back in a heartbeat!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Artusi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to L'Artusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Artusi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.