We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food in Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darbar Grill

Darbar Grill
157 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)
2127514600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Darbar Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,422 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 3rd and Lexington Avenues
Transit: E & V trains to 53rd Street and 4, 5 & 6 trains to 59th Street.
Description: On East 55th Street, Darbar Grill in New York showcases authentic Indian cuisine, served in a sleek dining room. Regional Indian specialities at Darbar Grill include fresh tandoori bread, exotic curries and delicious rice specialities. There is a cocktail happy hour, along with plenty of brasserie-style Indian favourites and vegetarian options.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good Indian food in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

After a week in New York we really wanted a good Indian meal and we were not disappointed. We had Goan fish curry, Cochin Prawn curry and Bhindi masala. All 3 meals were great and service was excellent. The highlight were the delicious puffy and crispy naan breads.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Québec
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“One of the place to eat indian food in New York city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We have had indian food many times in Manhattan and this place is on our top list. We were very well welcomed upon our arrival and placed at the bar while waiting for our meal "to go" to be ready.

Service was fast and courteous. Two advises however.
1) although we are used to indian food, the medium-spicy selection for "spicyness" for the meal end out to be a little overwhelming for our taste.
2) We were two and ordered 2 soups, entree of samosas and onion bahjia, 2 main dishes of chicken and one of vegetables....to end up with enough to feed at least 4! Portions are very generous, sized of american ogres!!!

Overall very satisfied and most probably return there in the future, adjusting our orders according to notes 1 & 2 above!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lunchtime buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had an afternoon booking for UN tour and Darbar Grill was close by. The lunchtime buffet was good value and very tasty. The waitress was very attentive and extra naan was brought hot to the table when we had helped ourselves to the extensive buffet selection.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Food was really awesome like perfect Indian food and so as the ambiance. We tried veg and non-veg, both were great.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT food, fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The samosa are great appetizers, and for an entree I had their lamb stew, which was spectacular.

Friendly staff, highly-recommended eating experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbar Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Darbar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darbar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.