We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good drinks - great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York

Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
80 Columbus Circle, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)
2128058800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #917 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: B'way & 9th Ave
Lilongwe, Malawi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good drinks - great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went for couple of drinks, they are good and the service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mandarin Oriental NYC - Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The location of the bar and the setting (does not feel like a bar - more like a living room), can't be beat. The drinks (martinis) are fairly priced for NYC ($19), but are a bit lacking. They should have top shelf vodka (Zyr), but they have Belvedere etc, and the drinks in my opinion are a bit small and lacking zest. Although I hate the 4 Seasons Bar - they still make the best Martini. The service felt a little lame and the waiters definitely need training on protocol and understanding the cocktail menu, and they did live up to the standards of the hotel. I will return for the setting and still have cocktails - until I find my favorite place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hello stugomer! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent visit to Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your feedback. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

the drinks are good, the view is good, the lobby lounge itself not so much, could be arranged better. According to my friend who have been to other Mandarin Oriental hotel, the New York one is just so so. the lobby is literally like just a lobby.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent every time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great view of Columbus Circle and south Cental Park. It's the best spot for breakfast, especially if you are staying here, but people come here from all over. Very good food and great service. They are very accommodating with any dietary request. Naturally the prices are NYC prices, but we never feel overcharged.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We treated ourelves to lunch at the Mandarin on Easter sunday. Yes it was expensive at around £150 for 2 mains, 1 cheese board and a few drinks but the food was a high standarad and coupled with amazing views over Central Park, it really was worth every penny.

We had the sliders and an asian chicken salad and a few glasses of wine and a cocktails to finish. I have a guilty pleasure for all the Mandarin Orientals and am looking forward to staying at the Singapore hotel in July.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York also viewed

 

Been to Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.