We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch after seeing MOMA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern - Bar Room

The Modern - Bar Room
New York City, NY (Midtown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Geelong
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch after seeing MOMA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Ate in the bar as it was Saturday lunch & the restaurant was closed. Reputed to have an Alsatian bias, but this was not apparent in the food we chose.
Both had the mushroom soup with fried chorizo ravioli, excellent, full flavoured, but balanced & not heavy ( no cream thankfully!).
The cod with green papaya salad & wild mushrooms was excellent, & the pasta with rabbit & saffron also very good with great flavours, nicely presented & not too heavy for a lunch.
There is an excellent, & interesting, selection of wines by the glass.
Service also very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    54
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food great atmosphere and prices to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The food was really fabulous - this is high end high quality cooking in midtown NYC. So priced accordingly - lots of small dishes and you can share which is fun - great party atmosphere - not the kind of place for an intimate dinner. Service was good but wine menu huge and very pricey. The sommelier could not answer some of my questions and I wasn't happy with the wine choice he recommended. We should have stuck wine by the glass - they are familiar so you know what you're getting.
But it didn't spoil our evening - it's a real fun place with excellent food. The upside down tuna tart was heavenly.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of food, service and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My party of 6 came here for a weekend birthday brunch. We were seated as we arrived (none of that "we won't seat you until everyone is here" nonsense!). The service throughout was excellent and unobtrusive - water was refilled as needed without asking, as were bread baskets. Questions were answered with enthusiasm, not attitude - we felt welcome and relaxed.

The menu was small plates - 3 courses, with about 10 choices per course. Our favorites were a hen of the woods mushroom tarte, duck a l'orange, horseradish encrusted salmon, atlantic cod en croute - but the stars of the show were the desserts: My spectacular pumpkin/carrot gelee/custard was amazing and just the right amount of sweet. The cookie selection included "gourmet" pocky sticks, and there was a rich cheesecake plus a selection of artisanal cheeses. The restaurant has a full bar, an extensive wine list which we did not examine, and a nice selection of beer. Interestingly, there were few coffee choices, but many wonderful teas, as well as "designer" sodas. The presentation is, as expected, artistic. It is certainly $$$$, but you will feel that it was well spent.

Tip: If you are the "if I'm spending this kind of money, I'd better get a huge portion" type of diner, this is not the place for you. The portions are on the small side, but each of my party had two plates (not counting desserts), we all shared, and at the end of the meal we felt well satisfied.

Tip: If you are planning to visit with small children, please reconsider as a kindness to those around you who have come to relax. The acoustics reverberate from screaming children, jarring literally everyone there. On our visit, there were some children who were clearly getting stir crazy and started shrieking...on their way out, fortunately. This is and should be a fine dining experience - small children may get fussy from sitting in one place or tired and cranky. The restaurant will seat parties with small children, but this really isn't the place for them. JMHO.

We had a fantastic experience here and would definitely return. We recommend unhesitatingly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great for pre-theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location is great for pre-theatre dining as it is chic and elegant. The food is small portions, innovative and delicious, perfect so you don't fall asleep at the play. If your play is on a Friday night take advantage of the free entrance at the MOMA and have a quick look before you eat. The staff is professional and will get you out at the appropriate time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High quality food and service in a very comfortable, cosy dining environment! Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked here on the strength of other peoples positive reviews and we weren't disappointed. We had only been off the plane from London for an hour or two before we turned up and it was just perfect when we did. A gorgeous space to be in and the noise level was just about right, enough chatter and background music to create ambience but we were still able to very comfortably feel cosy at our own table. The wait staff were very friendly and attentive, and the food was very, very good. We ordered 4 dishes to share as mains and they were all top notch, my favourite was the duck in a pistachio crumb, yummy. The wine's were also excellent. For dessert we had the apple strudel with prune ice cream. We wandered home feeling very happy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern - Bar Room also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Modern - Bar Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern - Bar Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.